Need help finding easy to learn WWII strategy game

Gamers can also use this forum to chat about any game related subject, news, rumours etc.

Moderator: maddog986

GameTime

Need help finding easy to learn WWII strategy game

Post by GameTime »

Hi there,

I would not say I’m new to WWII strategy genre, but my experience is rather limited.

I read good reviews about Unity of Command so decided to give that ago. Without a doubt one of the most amazing strategy games I have ever played. I have gone on to finish all the expansions. This game appealed to me because of how simplistic the learning curve was whilst still offering a great challenging experience.

Following on from this I wanted to give another strategy game ago so after some further reading I read a lot of people talking about Heart of Iron series. I purchased number 3 however instantly was confused and decided to move on.

Does anyone have any recommendations of a game that is similar to Unity of Command, easy learning curve but in depth strategy?

Thanks
InuharikoMu

RE: Need help finding easy to learn WWII strategy game

Post by InuharikoMu »

1.) Ground Pounders @ Steam <- Not WWII but easy & Deep
2.) Strategic Command WWI @ Battlefront.com
3.) Panzer Battles: Battles of Kursk - Southern Flank @ John Tiller Software
4.) Squad Battles: Red Victory @ John Tiller Software
5.} Germany At War: Operation Barbarossa 1941 @ Matrix
6.) John Tiller's Campaign Series @ Matrix
“If a man does his best, what else is there?”
&#8213; George S. Patton Jr.
captain10

Post by captain10 »

I would recommend you Commander Europe at War. It's a game on a strategy level of War World II in the European Theatre. It's easy to play, in some ways similar to Unity of Command.

Regards
GaryChildress

Post by GaryChildress »

2nd Commander Europe at War. Pretty simple and yet fun. The "Grand Strategy" add-ons make it even better.
Cataphract88

Post by Cataphract88 »