Old Dog v Young Pup Sillyflower(G) v Fiva(R) GC41 (no Fiva)

Post descriptions of your brilliant victories and unfortunate defeats here.

Moderators: Joel Billings, Sabre21

sillyflower

Old Dog v Young Pup Sillyflower(G) v Fiva(R) GC41 (no Fiva)

Post by sillyflower »

I have given Fiva permission to read this 1st post (only).

My 1st attempt at AAR. As I have to wait until this afternoon for my son to teach me how to post pictures, I thought I would start with some background. I can spell etc but can only type with 1 1/2 fingers so can't be bothered to correct all typos so please bear with me.

I've been wargaming for 45 years, Fiva for only 5, hence the title. I have the edge on exerience but at my age I play like Grampa Simpson: a tendency to fall asleep mid turn.

Clearly the most important decision will be a new Avatar. There seem to be 5 main types

1 The predictable phallic symbol. Fiva himself, Redmarkus ( the pillar of erotic AARs) etc
2 Picture of role model/hero -Carnage, tarhunnas, Flavius
3 The witty - PDH, the one with heavily armed ponies whose name I can't recall
4 Cute (or not) pets - Pompac
5 Real picture of themselves -Larry Fulkerson ( the king of AAR graphics), Helpless

Update - new avatar now found

To date I have won about 10 -12 GCs, my other current game v Baelfin's russians is evenly balanced and I got cremated by Michael T's Germans. That wasn't much fun but I learnt a lot. Few are the days now where I learn more than I forget.

Back to the game, Full FOW non-random weather.house rules are

1 latest beta. We started just before .39 came out so I won't get my Hungarian hetzers it seems[:(]. Still, It's always good to have a cast-iron excuse to resign without loss of face so I will keep this up my sleeve.
2 no riga gambit
3 only 1 air attack per airbase or city ofter T1
4 no soviet amphib landings before dec '41 and not west of Sevastopol unless R holds this city and same re Odessa.