Plotting Fire Missions

New Recruits check in here! Vets debate the fine points! Tactics discussion, FAQ and "how-to" help.
If you are new to the SP:WaW community post an introduction please!

Moderator: MOD_SPWaW

DzrtFox

Plotting Fire Missions

Post by DzrtFox »

Hi guys,
I've been having this problem since I started playing SPWaW and am wondering if it's a bug or if I'm doing something wrong...

Whenever I go to the Bombardment screen to plot my artillery fire missions, I click on the first hex I want to bombard, then click the little explosion icon for the unit I want to fire there. This places an icon on the map showing I've plotted the mission there. Next I click on another hex and click the icon for the next unit. The majority of the time, the original icon on the map then disappears. I wind up playing this frustrating game of "merry-go-round" trying to click a hex and get the proper unit to fire on it. The map icons continuously disappear as I add bombardment hexes. I've tried clicking on the unit name in the bombardment screen then clicking a target hex and then the bombardment icon, but the same thing happens.

Is there a proper sequence to avoid this frustration, or is it a problem with the game?

Alby

RE: Plotting Fire Missions

Post by Alby »

If you are using an artillery piece, like a mortar, to plot or call in the missions, this will happen....use an FO or HQ unit.

DzrtFox

Post by DzrtFox »

Thanks for the response, Alby. How do I use the FO to call in the fire missions? Do I just bring up the bombardment screen while the FO is selected? I've noticed that sometimes I cannot bring up the menu like this. I'll have the FO selected and he'll have a good LOS to the target, but hitting B does nothing. Why is this? How do I assign who is calling in the mission?

Thanks again for your help...

Terminus

Post by Terminus »