Can individual ships be detached?

This forum is for official support and troubleshooting FAQs.
Brian_

Can individual ships be detached?

Post by Brian_ »

Hey Gents,

I'm new to this game but I was wondering if its possible to detach individual ships from a Task Group? It seems that if one ship is damaged to the extent that its slowing down everyone else, the TG is doomed to move around at a crawl until the slower ship finally gets sunk.[:@]
GenChaos33

RE: Can individual ships be detached?

Post by GenChaos33 »

Note that this is a scenario creation issue, not a problem with the game. Either the scenario creator did not want you to be able to detach the ship/class, or he forgot to include it in the scenario.

Yes, I agree that you should be able to do it. Thats why I try to include it in my CAW MP campaign scenarios. But I must admit that with all things to do in creating a scenario, its very easy to forget things.
Brian_

Post by Brian_ »

If its possible through the game mechanics, can you explain how its done?
GenChaos33

Post by GenChaos33 »

If I understand you correctly and the CAW game, you want to go the game/scenario editor. Load the scenario you want to modify. Note: Do a save as and rename. Keep from messing up original. Go to ship list and/or carrier list. Mark all the vessels that you want to be able to have the ability to detach by checking the crippled box. Then you need to go to the warroom and edit the warcards. Go to the TG warcards and add/modify the TG Breakdown Response action. From my experience, a Breakdown Response action needs to be done for EACH vessel and EACH TG warcard. (this might be why its not available in official scenarios, this can be a lot of work). Hope I got it right. 
Brian_

Post by Brian_ »

Thanks, General.

Sounds rather involved....I gather that its not a normal function in any of the default scenarios?