Yo Joe!

Post your mods for Hired Guns here.
BentonGrey

Yo Joe!

Post by BentonGrey »

Howdy guys, I am new to your little community here, although I have to say that I am very happy to see that it exists. I played the demo for Hired Guns a while back and for a long time was avidly watching the net for any scrap of information I could come across. I'm sure many of you shared the same disappointment I felt at the terrible reviews it received, but to that end, I see that y'all have been hard at work learning how to mod this game. I am really excited to learn that, because even playing the demo I could tell that HG had tons of potential. I've been a big fan of these kinds of games since I picked up Jagged Alliance 2 on a whim, and for the last several years I've been looking for a game that might serve as a good base for a mod I've had in mind. I'm a huge fan of the GI JOE comics, and these turn-based strategy games seemed the perfect setting to bring those stories into 3D life. To that end (and a general curiosity about the improvements y'all have made to the game) I have been reading through this forum. I have already found the answers to many questions I had, but I have a few more that I hope y'all might help me with. I did not see these particular questions answered in the modding FAQ, but please let me know if I overlooked something.

I assume that there is no nice, neat map editor, would that assumption be correct? Is there any way to edit maps? Are there any rumblings from the devs about editing software?

Is there any way that y'all have found so far to edit the actual mission structure? World map? If so, do missions have to be scripted, or can you take the cheap route and just place enemies on the map and let things take their course?