Some various Q

This new stand alone release based on the legendary War in the Pacific from 2 by 3 Games adds significant improvements and changes to enhance game play, improve realism, and increase historical accuracy. With dozens of new features, new art, and engine improvements, War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition brings you the most realistic and immersive WWII Pacific Theater wargame ever!

Moderators: wdolson, MOD_War-in-the-Pacific-Admirals-Edition

Gratch1111
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:21 pm

Some various Q

Post by Gratch1111 »

So I have watched a lot of videos and put in like 40 hours on turn 1 to move my allied forces. When all is now dec 8th I have some interface questions
1/ If I press on a TF or whatever the fram comes up on it in the center, anyway to have this moved to the side since I would like to see the map before I decide what to do
2/ I can have a list of TF and I can go to it, but since the fram is hiding where it is I have to leave the window, see q 1
3/ I would like to go to the next TF, any way to do that, except to the other one in the hex
4/ Im using a map mode but it does not say what kind of terrain is in the hex, I can only guess, any mod that does this?

All in all I find the interface not very friendly, are there any mods that adress this?

Thanks
User avatar
Platoonist
Posts: 1503
Joined: Sun May 11, 2003 4:53 am
Location: Kila Hana

Re: Some various Q

Post by Platoonist »

1. By moving the mouse to the edge of your screen you can move the map under the display frame to reveal other areas, but you can't move the display frame itself. It's always centered, so you always have to peek around it.

3. By pressing < or > you can cycle through all your task forces on the map numerically.

4. By pressing hotkey "1", you will get a one or two letter code on the map denoting what the underlying terrain is. OD=deep ocean, JG=jungle, MT-mountain, etc. The original map that shipped with the game had art that you could match to the terrain by using a map legend, but a lot of the mods don't.
Gratch1111 wrote: Sun Aug 14, 2022 3:09 am
All in all I find the interface not very friendly, are there any mods that adress this?
A common lament. Not any that I know of.
Image
Panjack
Posts: 456
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Southern California

Re: Some various Q

Post by Panjack »

Gratch1111 wrote: Sun Aug 14, 2022 3:09 am 3/ I would like to go to the next TF, any way to do that, except to the other one in the hex
To move to the next TF (no matter where it is) press the ">" key. This will open up the TF screen. To simply move to the next TF, press the "." key

You can go backwards by pressing "<" or ",".
Panjack
Posts: 456
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Southern California

Re: Some various Q

Post by Panjack »

To get a list of some of the hotkeys (such as >) in-game, consider doing the following. First, make a backup copy of the Credits1024.bmp file appearing in the Art folder. This is the image that appears when you press the M key. Second, download the image below, and then transform the jpg file into a bmp file using some photo-editing program. (The current forum software doesn't seem to permit the uploading of bmp files..or at least I haven't figure out how to do it...but the game seems to need a bmp file.) Then, move this file into the Art folder. When you next open up the game, and press the M key, this list of hotkeys (and more info) will appear.
Credits1024.jpg
Credits1024.jpg (326.42 KiB) Viewed 752 times
Gratch1111
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:21 pm

Re: Some various Q

Post by Gratch1111 »

Thank you all for good help and may I say fast,
Panjack
Posts: 456
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Southern California

Re: Some various Q

Post by Panjack »

You're welcome. Continue to ask your questions (...after having done your due diligence searching the forum & reading the manual! ;) )
User avatar
BBfanboy
Posts: 18638
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 5:36 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Contact:

Re: Some various Q

Post by BBfanboy »

Re: Q2: If you are in the list of "All TFs", the columns on the right specify a location. Clicking on that will take you to the hex, but you then have to exit the All TFs window or scroll slowly out from under that screen to see the hex.
No matter how bad a situation is, you can always make it worse. - Chris Hadfield : An Astronaut's Guide To Life On Earth
Gratch1111
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:21 pm

Re: Some various Q

Post by Gratch1111 »

So a few more more
1/ I used someone elses spreadsheet for first turn allies, is one for Japan as well. In it there are several TF with escorts in red. Now, if I understand correctly that is very badsince when the fuel runs out it moves really slow, so am I wrong or is there something wrong with the spreadsheet?
2/ Is there a distance table between the most common bases? like LA to Sydney etc?
3/ It doesnt feel like the refuel option works very well, no matter if you refuel or not nothing changes even if some ships can go back if you say minimal fuel, it still says red, so is this broken?
4/ Do have any escorts LA to Aus, Cape to Colombo or Cape to Perth? I mean no DD can go that far.

Thanks
User avatar
Platoonist
Posts: 1503
Joined: Sun May 11, 2003 4:53 am
Location: Kila Hana

Re: Some various Q

Post by Platoonist »

1. If the escorts in a task force are showing red endurance, but the larger ships in the task force are green, then the destroyers can usually refuel (automatically) from the larger ships like carriers and battleships. They won't run out of fuel as long as the capitals ships they are escorting don't.

2. There are distance tables printed for the various off map boxes in the manual. Some map mods include them in the credits hotkey. I'm not aware of any on map distance tables.

3. Not quite sure if I am understanding your question. I always use the full refuel option for the most part myself.

4. If you include a tanker or an oiler along with the convoy, the DD will escort that far. In addition, they can top off their tanks even from a plain old cargo ship if that is all that is available in the convoy. It costs a few operation points, but the game engine handles it automatically. Ships with limited endurance like DDs and PCs can go long distances provided that a ship with large (green) endurance is part of the task force they are with. This is detailed in section 6.2.13.1 of the manual if you want to see specifics.

In addition, you can always set the DD's task force to stop at island way points along the way to refuel or meet an oiler or tanker. Pago-Pago, Suva or Oahu among others make swell pit stops for crossing the Pacific from California to Australia.
Last edited by Platoonist on Tue Aug 16, 2022 2:28 am, edited 5 times in total.
Image
User avatar
RangerJoe
Posts: 13874
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 2:39 pm
Location: My Mother, although my Father had some small part.

Re: Some various Q

Post by RangerJoe »

For Q#3, the fuel will stay red until the ship has enough fuel of its own to make it to the port to refuel. Refueling stations along the way or refueling from ships are not considered for this. At least, that is to the best of my understanding.
Seek peace but keep your gun handy.

I'm not a complete idiot, some parts are missing!

“Illegitemus non carborundum est (“Don’t let the bastards grind you down”).”
&#8213; Julia Child

Chris21wen
Posts: 6415
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2002 10:00 am
Location: Cottesmore, Rutland

Re: Some various Q

Post by Chris21wen »

#3 Refuelling turns red if the ship cannot reach it;s destination before the tanks are empty. Loading minimal means just that, enough to get you to it's destination arriving with zero fuel hence it will nearly always be red.

When plotting a course the game does not take into account any refuelling bases or possible underway refuelling. Once it refuels at a base or ship it will turn green again provided it now has enough to reach it's destination.

If I remember correctly fuel loaded into a tanker as cargo is not used for refuelling. Only the fuel in the ships own tanks is used for underway refuelling.
Chris21wen
Posts: 6415
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2002 10:00 am
Location: Cottesmore, Rutland

Re: Some various Q

Post by Chris21wen »

I should also add that TFs can deviated from their plotted course usually due to threats. They can aslo change speeds due to damage or threats. Basically any change to a TF plotted cousre will alter it's fuel, usually for the worse. The wise person (not me) always allows for this.
User avatar
BBfanboy
Posts: 18638
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 5:36 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Contact:

Re: Some various Q

Post by BBfanboy »

I think using the term "Destination" is deceptive here. The game calculates how much fuel is needed to get to destination and then return to HOME PORT. If it cannot make it home the fuel level is in red. The game simply does not know whether you will refuel anywhere before that so when you get the warning in the Ops report that "TF XXX does not have enough fuel to complete its mission", all you need do is assure yourself that you have plans to refuel the ship somewhere (and enough fuel at that location).

EDIT: Forgot to add - you can also fix the red fuel numbers by changing the home port to someplace within fuel range.
No matter how bad a situation is, you can always make it worse. - Chris Hadfield : An Astronaut's Guide To Life On Earth
Chris21wen
Posts: 6415
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2002 10:00 am
Location: Cottesmore, Rutland

Re: Some various Q

Post by Chris21wen »

BBfanboy wrote: Tue Aug 16, 2022 12:42 pm I think using the term "Destination" is deceptive here. The game calculates how much fuel is needed to get to destination and then return to HOME PORT. If it cannot make it home the fuel level is in red. The game simply does not know whether you will refuel anywhere before that so when you get the warning in the Ops report that "TF XXX does not have enough fuel to complete its mission", all you need do is assure yourself that you have plans to refuel the ship somewhere (and enough fuel at that location).

EDIT: Forgot to add - you can also fix the red fuel numbers by changing the home port to someplace within fuel range.
Ooops! Big forget.
Gratch1111
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:21 pm

Re: Some various Q

Post by Gratch1111 »

Thanks, didnt know that they could refuel from each other, also understand the red fuel due to the game doesnt equate refuel on the way.

To bad about the on map table, but since they can refuel from other ships there is less need.

Thanks!!
User avatar
Sardaukar
Posts: 10346
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2001 10:00 am
Location: Finland/Israel

Re: Some various Q

Post by Sardaukar »

Gratch1111 wrote: Tue Aug 16, 2022 11:15 pm Thanks, didnt know that they could refuel from each other, also understand the red fuel due to the game doesnt equate refuel on the way.

To bad about the on map table, but since they can refuel from other ships there is less need.

Thanks!!
Just to add an exception, submarines cannot refuel from other ships in transit.
"To meaningless French Idealism, Liberty, Fraternity and Equality...we answer with German Realism, Infantry, Cavalry and Artillery" -Prince von Bülov, 1870-

Image
Gratch1111
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:21 pm

Re: Some various Q

Post by Gratch1111 »

So I have a new question

Its about Naval/ASW search. So its turn 1 and play as allies and setting up Sambas air units. They have 2 patrol units of 3 each. One is set at 00-30 and the other 330-00, however only the 00-30 is shown and when I look at unit 2 its arc shows at 00-30 as well. I have seen this at other places as well.

I have them at 50%, Then I increase to 70 and change unit 2 to 330-300.

Unit 1 now looks to have an arc of 0-35/40 but I could be wrong, and unit 2 that has an arc of 330-300 instead shows an arc of maybe 370-10. So its kind of messed up. They overlap when they really shouldnt

So is this a bug or is it me?
User avatar
RangerJoe
Posts: 13874
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 2:39 pm
Location: My Mother, although my Father had some small part.

Re: Some various Q

Post by RangerJoe »

You really don't need to set the arcs that much.

You are only having 1, maybe 2 planes fly a search patrol. In my opinion, the best rule of thumb is to truncate the number so you don't have fractions. So 50% of 3 is 1.5 which would round down to 1. They will automatically conduct a search within 4 hexes but that does not mean that they will definitely spot anything within that range. Then there is morning search and afternoon search as well.

When necessary, don't forget night searches as well.
Seek peace but keep your gun handy.

I'm not a complete idiot, some parts are missing!

“Illegitemus non carborundum est (“Don’t let the bastards grind you down”).”
&#8213; Julia Child

User avatar
Platoonist
Posts: 1503
Joined: Sun May 11, 2003 4:53 am
Location: Kila Hana

Re: Some various Q

Post by Platoonist »

Gratch1111 wrote: Fri Aug 19, 2022 3:27 am So is this a bug or is it me?
To see both patrol zones at the same time press the "Z" key. That often makes whatever is occurring more obvious to see than one zone at a time.

To get the two arcs to meet in the middle at 00 you would probably have to set both groups to fly at 100%. Which you really don't want to do as it would quickly exhaust the aircrews over time. Groups this small can only cover very narrow arcs even when all planes are in the air. I'm guessing Kull deliberately set up these two Dutch squadrons to fly this way in his spread sheet, because he considered the ocean areas on either side of 00 to be more important to cover than the patch in the middle.

Sambas zone arcs..jpg
Sambas zone arcs..jpg (271.79 KiB) Viewed 176 times
User avatar
RangerJoe
Posts: 13874
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 2:39 pm
Location: My Mother, although my Father had some small part.

Re: Some various Q

Post by RangerJoe »

Platoonist wrote: Fri Aug 19, 2022 4:59 am
Gratch1111 wrote: Fri Aug 19, 2022 3:27 am So is this a bug or is it me?
To see both patrol zones at the same time press the "Z" key. That often makes whatever is occurring more obvious to see than one zone at a time.

To get the two arcs to meet in the middle at 00 you would probably have to set both groups to fly at 100%. Which you really don't want to do as it would quickly exhaust the aircrews over time. Groups this small can only cover very narrow arcs even when all planes are in the air. I'm guessing Kull deliberately set up these two Dutch squadrons to fly this way in his spread sheet, because he considered the ocean areas on either side of 00 to be more important to cover than the patch in the middle.


Sambas zone arcs..jpg
I agree. The search zone on the left would allow you to detect an invasion heading towards Kuantan or Mersing. The search zone on the right would allow you to detect forces heading directly towards the base from Indochina. Either one will also have a chance of detecting any TF within 4 hexes of the base as well.

One thing however, if the enemy has LRCAP over a base or at a CAP at set distance from his air base, those might shoot down your search aircraft. So you might need to adjust your range accordingly, especially near Kota Bharu. The same would apply for any enemy aircraft carrier task forces, which is also why a night search is useful. But you probably don't have enough aircraft to worry about that now, but if you have surface combat task forces with multiple float plane units, some could be set to search at night. But be aware that if the pilots don't have enough flight experience (I do believe 50 or higher) that they won't fly at night.
Seek peace but keep your gun handy.

I'm not a complete idiot, some parts are missing!

“Illegitemus non carborundum est (“Don’t let the bastards grind you down”).”
&#8213; Julia Child

Post Reply

Return to “War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition”