Video resolution

The Seven Years’ War was fought across the globe and called by some the first “World War” as virtually every major power participated. In the center of events was Prussia, almost constantly at war and lead by the now legendary Frederick the Great.

Relive the exciting and trying days of Frederick the Great in Horse and Musket: Volume I, the improved and expanded combination of the previous Prussian War Machine and Prussia’s Glory titles. Horse and Musket: Volume I is a reboot of the successful Horse and Musket series, including not only two solid historical titles in one package, but also many new game features, a powerful new editor, and a complete graphics overhaul to an already acclaimed gaming system.

Moderators: Tim Coakley, Sertorius

Post Reply
User avatar
RFC
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 5:02 am

Video resolution

Post by RFC »

Sorry but I could not find the answer to this question on these forums.

How do you change the resolution? Do you add a line in the HorseNMusket.ini file? If so what do you add with the resolution parameters?

Any help much appreciated.
"I'm sorry, baby. Start your countdown without me and I'll be back before you can say 'Blast off!'"
User avatar
zakblood
Posts: 22698
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 11:19 am

RE: Video resolution

Post by zakblood »

1680x1050 res. 1920 x 1080 both tested fine in windows 10

tm.asp?m=4073643

tm.asp?m=4072420

game runs then in windowed mode post 6 with info shown
Windows 11 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 22621) (22621.ni_release.220506-1250)
User avatar
RFC
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 5:02 am

RE: Video resolution

Post by RFC »

Thanks zakblood but I have read those posts and still don't understand how to change the resolution...windowed or full screen. Sorry!

After installing I deleted the desktop shortcuts as I don't like having a cluttered desktop Should I have not done this?

Thanks for your help.
"I'm sorry, baby. Start your countdown without me and I'll be back before you can say 'Blast off!'"
User avatar
zakblood
Posts: 22698
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 11:19 am

RE: Video resolution

Post by zakblood »

tm.asp?m=4073643

post 3 explains it, shortcut matters little, as your editing a file, as game only supports
Horse and Musket is designed to run in 1024x768 resolution

but does work with higher, just doesn't scale to well so can't look a bit blocky so if like me and a few others you wish to use larger, edit the file as shown in the link above, then it will be in your desktop res, but in a window, so will look more crisp
Windows 11 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 22621) (22621.ni_release.220506-1250)
User avatar
RFC
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 5:02 am

RE: Video resolution

Post by RFC »

I have followed these instructions with no luck.

Windowed mode does not scale to my desktop size it stays at 1024x768

Thanks for trying to help. Much appreciated.
"I'm sorry, baby. Start your countdown without me and I'll be back before you can say 'Blast off!'"
User avatar
zakblood
Posts: 22698
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 11:19 am

RE: Video resolution

Post by zakblood »

no it doesn't scale to it, it will give a windowed box the same size to 1024x768 if you follow the guides, if you want it to go bigger, but make it all fuzzy looking, just don't add the windowed bit in the file adding
Windows 11 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 22621) (22621.ni_release.220506-1250)
User avatar
RFC
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 5:02 am

RE: Video resolution

Post by RFC »

Thank you very much for taking the time to try and help me with my questions, but at the risk of sounding REALLY stupid I will ask one last time - I don't see in the posted links you have provided where it explains how to change the resolution??? I want to try the game in my desktop resolution of 1920x1200 (full screen or windowed mode) to see if it looks any better than the unplayable state the game is at the moment for me. For the life of me I can't figure out how to do this! Sometimes with older software you can add a video resolution line in the ".ini" file, but this game doesn't allow that right? So how do I change the resolution? I'm running windows 10.
"I'm sorry, baby. Start your countdown without me and I'll be back before you can say 'Blast off!'"
User avatar
zakblood
Posts: 22698
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 11:19 am

RE: Video resolution

Post by zakblood »

there isn't a place where you can put in a given screen size that i know of, it's either your desktop resolution you are using now, in your case 1920x1200 from a lower resolution monitor with a -10% vertical difference 4:3 instead of a larger 16:9 of 1920x1080 (mine) or windowed mode, which alter both resolution's your's and mine to the game state (which it was made and designed for) 1024x768 resolution (as far as i know all that can be changed in the ini file is the type of font used, or windowed mode on or off, and nothing else)

it supports all other formats of resolution but doesn't scale well to all of them, so this is why the windowed mode is used to make it playable, adding in manually anything else into the game ini may or may not work, as of yet, neither the developer or anyone else that i can find has done it, or printed here as such it's working, not that i can find anyway, if it had been, it would be a sticky by now i'm sorry to say.

some resolutions scale better than others, as i have shown, a native one scales better than a none native one if your doesn't look as good, this is older tech trying to be working with newer tech, so what ever looks ok in 4:3 may or may not scale as well to 16:9 or the otherway
Windows 11 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 22621) (22621.ni_release.220506-1250)
User avatar
RFC
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 5:02 am

RE: Video resolution

Post by RFC »

Thank you sir for taking the time to try and help me and for moderating this forum.
"I'm sorry, baby. Start your countdown without me and I'll be back before you can say 'Blast off!'"
Post Reply

Return to “Horse and Musket: Volume I, Frederick the Great”