The Upcoming Changes to the Mech.exe

SPWaW is a tactical squad-level World War II game on single platoon or up to an entire battalion through Europe and the Pacific (1939 to 1945).

Moderator: MOD_SPWaW

User avatar
KG Erwin
Posts: 8366
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Cross Lanes WV USA

The Upcoming Changes to the Mech.exe

Post by KG Erwin »

Michael Wood posted this some time ago, but here's a reminder:

SPWaW 8.41 Patch Notes

1) Made it a bit harder to spot enemy units, especially at range one or zero.
2) Allowed the German artificial intelligence purchase routine a little more armor.
3) Sniper units may no longer close assault vehicles.
4) Sometimes the player setup side was incorrect, when assaulting beaches. Bug. Fixed.
5) The in game save menu button now automatically saves the Mega-Campaign. This might be useful, if the player has been experiencing CTD and wishes to save without having to exit the scenario

More is to come, so 8.5 promises to be excellent.

I've heard nothing new lately, guys. I will pass along news as I can get it.

Image
User avatar
Alby
Posts: 4660
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Greenwood, Indiana
Contact:

RE: The Upcoming Changes to the Mech.exe

Post by Alby »

I wish at least 8.41 would be released TO THE PUBLIC
so the tank assualting thing would at least be gone..[:D][:D][:D][:D]

User avatar
Alby
Posts: 4660
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Greenwood, Indiana
Contact:

RE: The Upcoming Changes to the Mech.exe

Post by Alby »

I think it is great that Mike has listened to the gamers and done somethings they requested...(even those less than cordial gamers...[;)])
He put back in the Passenger casualties...added a save option to the mega campaigns..
and now is working on something to help out with the ratings of troops...Fixed the spotting/assualting routine that got tweaked too high....Plus all the other not so obvious little things he has added.
Plus what he has discussed adding!! [X(]
Outstanding..
I just want to say thanks...[&o]
[:)]

User avatar
KG Erwin
Posts: 8366
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Cross Lanes WV USA

RE: The Upcoming Changes to the Mech.exe

Post by KG Erwin »

Ditto to what Alby said. You guys pay attention-- a few of us are helping Michael in testing the changes. They are good, and we should be offering kudos towards his efforts.
Image
User avatar
VikingNo2
Posts: 2871
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 10:00 am
Location: NC
Contact:

RE: The Upcoming Changes to the Mech.exe

Post by VikingNo2 »

Thanks for the continued work, are the new exp levels going to stay the same ?
User avatar
Nikademus
Posts: 22516
Joined: Sat May 27, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Alien spacecraft

RE: The Upcoming Changes to the Mech.exe

Post by Nikademus »

hopefully. [:D]
User avatar
VikingNo2
Posts: 2871
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 10:00 am
Location: NC
Contact:

RE: The Upcoming Changes to the Mech.exe

Post by VikingNo2 »

Actually I was hoping not, "minor" countries are now almost unplayable
User avatar
Nikademus
Posts: 22516
Joined: Sat May 27, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Alien spacecraft

RE: The Upcoming Changes to the Mech.exe

Post by Nikademus »

I know....long debate on it. Still, i dread any potential return of the politically correct, vanilla flavored country training values.
User avatar
VikingNo2
Posts: 2871
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 10:00 am
Location: NC
Contact:

RE: The Upcoming Changes to the Mech.exe

Post by VikingNo2 »

Vanilla ? Hmmm not sure what you mean. I just would like to be able to use them. Thats all. The problem with setting it yourself is it sets all to a hard value I very much like it to be a base value the swings up and down randomly.

Anyway just asking

User avatar
Jim1954
Posts: 1295
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 8:31 pm
Location: Dallas

RE: The Upcoming Changes to the Mech.exe

Post by Jim1954 »

JJ, you got VC knocking on the front door.

[X(]
Image
Jim1954
KMC/T
User avatar
VikingNo2
Posts: 2871
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 10:00 am
Location: NC
Contact:

RE: The Upcoming Changes to the Mech.exe

Post by VikingNo2 »

Roger that back to the grind stone.....damm VC
soldier
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 4:58 am

RE: The Upcoming Changes to the Mech.exe

Post by soldier »

I hope smoke gets some more attention in the upcoming versions, its been a dominating feature over the years and is not modelled accurately

With enough ammo a tank or SP mortar using direct fire can blanket 20 hexes with smoke (after its already fired its HE) in a single turn, that no SIG shells could ever penetrate ! The iron wall will then remain in play in all but the muddiest of conditions
Try it yourself. It may not effect your battle against the AI but it can mess up a PBEM. I think if you can shoot through trees (on high visibility settings) then some kind of innacurate area fire should also travel through smoke. Bring danger back to the battlefield
Baneman
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 3:54 pm

RE: The Upcoming Changes to the Mech.exe

Post by Baneman »

I have to say that the massive overuse of smoke as harder-than-hard-cover is what has driven me ( after 10 years or however long it's been since SP1 ) from SP to Combat Mission.

I find it very difficult to use or get results from historical tactics when the opponent advances behind a wall of smoke ( which style of play also seems to penalise countries that have smaller smoke loadouts eg. Russian inf seem to get 1 smoke grenade and that's it, whereas German troops can pop 3 or 4. ).

I have nothing against artillery-fired smoke screens, but when every infantryman and/or his dog's AFV move and hide in smoke, then move and hide in smoke again, rinse repeat...

If area fire at least was possible through smoke ( HMG's etc. ), it would lose its "gamey" nature.

OK, I'm referring to PBEM - AI limitations are AI limitations everywhere. ( oh, and I'm not claiming by any stretch to be a good player [;)] )
=|:¬)
Colonel von Blitz
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2000 10:00 am
Location: Espoo, Finland

RE: The Upcoming Changes to the Mech.exe

Post by Colonel von Blitz »

Hmm...like Baneman said: would it be possible to tweak the code a little bit, and allow area fire through say two or three hexes of smoke? [;)]

Another possibility is to take away smoke grenades from infantry.

-Colonel-
--Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people appear bright until you hear them speak--
BIASEDHISTORIAN
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2001 8:00 am
Location: RI USA

RE: The Upcoming Changes to the Mech.exe

Post by BIASEDHISTORIAN »

I think the smoke use Baneman is reffering to is the use of Mortars, as in firing more than their alloted rate of fire. In PBEM this can be easily fixed by players agreeing to limit their use to rate of fire only/or a set amount. Though in a game enviornment where time is subjective it is plausible that one player would advance under more smoke than another.

Depending on the agreed smoke limit tactics would alter but the end result would be the same...a vet would always avoid LOS on their own units. LOS is a huge part of this game and if you leave a unit where your opponent can achieve LOS against it with very little movement on his own...the majority of time that unit will die.

The other thing to remember in PBEM is that each match should be played from both sides of the fence, only then can both players get a fair shot at each other. That said smoke is a controllable factor in the game and is in no need of a makeover.

Yak
soldier
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 4:58 am

RE: The Upcoming Changes to the Mech.exe

Post by soldier »

Sorry guys but ..... BULLETS TRAVEL THROUGH SMOKE
It's really that simple. I'm not saying that you can aim through it but you certainly can shoot through it in real life if you wish. Until SPWAW recognises this simple law of physics (Like SPWW2/MBT does) it remains a flawed simulation to me. The fact that smoke can be fired unlimited times and that every troop has bucket loads only multiplies this bizarre aspect out of all proportion. I think after 8+ versions it would be addressed but I'm not sure its being looked at. Still a great game just not very realistic.
BIASEDHISTORIAN
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2001 8:00 am
Location: RI USA

RE: The Upcoming Changes to the Mech.exe

Post by BIASEDHISTORIAN »

(in reply to soldier)

Shooting through smoke at something that you are not even sure is there would only accomplish one thing in real war...which is give away your own position! I often drop smoke to make the other guy think I am attacking from a false direction. Since the other player is "suspended in time" during your phase of the turn then the only other thing you can gain by shooting through smoke is stopping/slowing an advance...a mute point when the other guy is not in motion.

Again, simply limiting the amount of smoke charges a player can use per turn would keep things agreeable...but that will not magically enable you to shoot at a good player in good cover...unless this is a desert scene :)


Yak
User avatar
VikingNo2
Posts: 2871
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 10:00 am
Location: NC
Contact:

RE: The Upcoming Changes to the Mech.exe

Post by VikingNo2 »

I don't think you can shoot through smoke in MBT, unless you can see through it. In SPWAW you can shoot through smoke if you can see through it as well, just crank up the vis and you will see. The bug is that you can shoot all you smoke shots even if you have no shots left IMO. Reducing the smoke to one per squad might help as well. I don't know what there load out should be.
User avatar
Alby
Posts: 4660
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Greenwood, Indiana
Contact:

RE: The Upcoming Changes to the Mech.exe

Post by Alby »

have you guys ever had an infrantry unit fired at...you blow smoke, and the enemy still fires thru the smoke at you!!
usually it takes another smoke blow to blind them.
this happens to me all the time!![:@]

so I know it is possible to fire thru the smoke.

soldier
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 4:58 am

RE: The Upcoming Changes to the Mech.exe

Post by soldier »

I don't think you can shoot through smoke in MBT, unless you can see through it. In SPWAW you can shoot through smoke if you can see through it as well, just crank up the vis and you will see. The bug is that you can shoot all you smoke shots even if you have no shots left IMO. Reducing the smoke to one per squad might help as well. I don't know what there load out should be.

The mechanics of the two games is quite different in regards to smoke. You can't shoot beyond your visibility range in either game if thats what you mean by being able to see through it. In MBT you can always area fire through smoke no matter how thick it is or wether it has blocked LOS or not. You will not be able to target a unit behind the smoke or spot it with the firing unit if LOS is blocked but you can land some heavy ordinance in their location by using area fire and supress them (the supression model is not exagerrated either in MBT). On the same coin firing smoke shells costs firing points so you cant fire 20 smoke rounds in one turn. Its very different (and inncorrect) in WAW. You can only fire through smoke if it is not thick enough to block LOS in WAW ? this generally occurs when a troop drops a smoke grenade and sometimes an enemy will still opfire at you. Drop another one (even soviet conscripts have plenty) and suddenly they can't penetrate the shield. You can never fire through smoke dropped by arty or tanks, its always thick and blocks LOS. So you have this ridiculous scenario where smoke that is sufficiently thick enough to block LOS also stops bullets, so a smoke screen also acts as impenetrable armour and is used as such by everyone who plays WAW (myself included). As such infantry don't have to run or take cover when a Brumbaer or Sig drives around the corner and gets the jump on them, a smoke grenade is sufficient to halt the advance [8|]. How many times have you dropped smoke when someone fired at you instead of withdrawing or trying to find some real cover ? I do it all the time and it's too easy.
Post Reply

Return to “Steel Panthers World At War & Mega Campaigns”