No sound on new PC

Post bug reports and ask for help with other issues here.

Moderators: wdolson, MOD_War-in-the-Pacific-Admirals-Edition

Post Reply
User avatar
12doze12
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 3:21 pm
Location: Portugal

No sound on new PC

Post by 12doze12 »

I got myself a new Desktop and for some reason I have no sound in game, other games and programs all have sound.

Things I tried:

- Update Drivers
- Install DirectX 9
- Various command line switch combinations

Windows build is 21h2 19044.1415, anyone have this version or higher working fine? Otherwise I may consider rolling back...

Any ideas of other things to try? [&:]

EDIT:

Fixed! My Windows version is a N version, it didn't come with Media Feature Pack so I had to add it to the Optional Features.

Make sure you have it if this is a problem in the future:

Image
Oberst_Klink
Posts: 4809
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:37 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

RE: No sound on new PC

Post by Oberst_Klink »

ORIGINAL: 12doze12

I got myself a new Desktop and for some reason I have no sound in game, other games and programs all have sound.

Things I tried:

- Update Drivers
- Install DirectX 9
- Various command line switch combinations

Windows build is 21h2 19044.1415, anyone have this version or higher working fine? Otherwise I may consider rolling back...

Any ideas of other things to try? [&:]
Check the source for your audio.

Feliz Natal!

Klink, Oberst

Image
Attachments
noname.jpg
noname.jpg (45.19 KiB) Viewed 58 times
[left]My Blog & on Twitter.
Visit CS Legion on Twitter & Facebook for updates.
User avatar
BBfanboy
Posts: 18304
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 5:36 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Contact:

RE: No sound on new PC

Post by BBfanboy »

Check the preferences button (2nd from the left at top of the screen) to see that your game sound settings are on.
No matter how bad a situation is, you can always make it worse. - Chris Hadfield : An Astronaut's Guide To Life On Earth
User avatar
12doze12
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 3:21 pm
Location: Portugal

RE: No sound on new PC

Post by 12doze12 »

I have checked the audio source, switched around and disabled all others.

Also verified sound settings in-game.

Merry Christmas [:)]
User avatar
Kull
Posts: 2645
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:43 am
Location: El Paso, TX

RE: No sound on new PC

Post by Kull »

-multiaudio is the only switch that affects audio. Try it with and without. My build is *almost* the same as yours (21h1 19043.1415), and sound is fine (I do not use that switch)
User avatar
12doze12
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 3:21 pm
Location: Portugal

RE: No sound on new PC

Post by 12doze12 »

Tried -multiaudio too and no luck

I'll see if its easy/possible to revert to that Windows version. Might be good idea for you to not update it [:D]
User avatar
Nomad
Posts: 6255
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2001 8:00 am
Location: West Yellowstone, Montana

RE: No sound on new PC

Post by Nomad »

Can you provide a screen shot of your preferences like this?



Image
Attachments
preferences.jpg
preferences.jpg (480.5 KiB) Viewed 58 times
User avatar
12doze12
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 3:21 pm
Location: Portugal

RE: No sound on new PC

Post by 12doze12 »

It's all cranked up to be sure [:D]

I'm fairly certain it's not WITP fault, the install is a direct copy from my previous pc. I have also done a clean install and have the same problem.

Image
User avatar
Nomad
Posts: 6255
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2001 8:00 am
Location: West Yellowstone, Montana

RE: No sound on new PC

Post by Nomad »

I agree that things look right, but you said that other games and programs have working sound. That would seem to mean it is not a Windows problem.
User avatar
12doze12
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 3:21 pm
Location: Portugal

RE: No sound on new PC

Post by 12doze12 »

Just my hunch that it's an issue with backwards compatibility.

Until someone shows up with my Windows version and says it works for them [:D]
User avatar
Nomad
Posts: 6255
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2001 8:00 am
Location: West Yellowstone, Montana

RE: No sound on new PC

Post by Nomad »

I just updated to that version 21h2 19044.1415 and sound works fine in WitP:AE.

BTW, I am out of ideas at this time.
User avatar
12doze12
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 3:21 pm
Location: Portugal

RE: No sound on new PC

Post by 12doze12 »

Okay, thanks for checking [:D]
User avatar
BBfanboy
Posts: 18304
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 5:36 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Contact:

RE: No sound on new PC

Post by BBfanboy »

When you say you did a clean install, did that include both the base game and the latest official patch or Beta? Grasping at straws here ...
No matter how bad a situation is, you can always make it worse. - Chris Hadfield : An Astronaut's Guide To Life On Earth
User avatar
12doze12
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 3:21 pm
Location: Portugal

RE: No sound on new PC

Post by 12doze12 »

I tried sound in every install: Base, Official Patch and Beta Patch
User avatar
12doze12
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 3:21 pm
Location: Portugal

RE: No sound on new PC

Post by 12doze12 »

Fixed! My Windows version is a N version, it didn't come with Media Feature Pack so I had to add it to the Optional Features.

Make sure you have it if this is a problem in the future:

Image

It's curious that I had a similar problem running IL-2 1946 on my old laptop because of a similar problem, not having Internet Explorer installed.
Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”