Resolution not changeable anymore

Moderator: Decisive Campaigns Ardennes Offensive Mods

Post Reply
Octavian
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 9:33 am

Resolution not changeable anymore

Post by Octavian »

My native resolution is 1920X1080. When I changed the in-game resolution just for fun to a much lower resolution (something like 1200X800 or the like) and (of course) found out, that this is a bad idea, I wasn´t able to re-change it to my 1920X1080 resolution anymore (!!!), since the settings menu didn´t display this sliders anymore in that low resolution and the game would always start with that low resolution!
So, I had a hard time finding the right folder where to change the setting manually again (via Explorer)and was getting more and more hectic, since I feared I had to re-install the game and loose all my glorious victory safes.
Not a big deal, but might be nasty for someone who - like me - isn´t that much intelligent software-wise.

User avatar
Meteor2
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 6:58 pm
Location: Germany

RE: Resolution not changeable anymore

Post by Meteor2 »

Same problem here.[&:]
Why this???
Which file do you have modified to change it back?

I find the unit counters and the text not very clear. Which resolution had worked best for you?
Octavian
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 9:33 am

RE: Resolution not changeable anymore

Post by Octavian »

I am really sorry, but I searched for the directory to answer your question and couldn´t get hold of it anymore.
But I remember it was a text document and I could read the resolution there and just by chance changed it to 1920x1080 and that did the trick.
Other than that I found a 1600X900 resolution quite useful, but in the end I ended up with using a bigger monitor and stayed with 1920x1080
User avatar
Vic
Posts: 8342
Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 2:17 pm
Contact:

RE: Resolution not changeable anymore

Post by Vic »

try editing/deleting the editobj.txt file. Or just re-installing the game.

I am trying to adressing this issue for the next open beta. But having trouble to replicate.

3 questions...

1. Which exact resolution do you choose that actually made the prefs tab screw up the resolutions listbox?

2. Do you have a screenshot of the the impossible tab (if attach to post problem you can also mail this to vic@vrdesigns.net)?

3. Is this still possible with the latest open beta?

best wishes,
Vic
Visit www.vrdesigns.net for the latest news, polls, screenshots and blogs on Shadow Empire, Decisive Campaigns and Advanced Tactics
Octavian
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 9:33 am

RE: Resolution not changeable anymore

Post by Octavian »

Dear Vic,

1. the resolution with the problem occuring was: 1280X960 on my laptop with native resolution of 1920X1080 and DPI scaled to 125 %
2. Sorry - no screenshot available, since I solved the problem and wouldn´t like to repeat, but it was like you said: the tabs were gone, so no chance to reconfigure the display.
3. I don´t have installed the beta yet, sorry again.

Hope that helps a bit nonetheless
best wishes
Michael
User avatar
Vic
Posts: 8342
Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 2:17 pm
Contact:

RE: Resolution not changeable anymore

Post by Vic »

Thanks for info... 125% DPI scale was the game DPI scale or your Windows OS DPI ?

best,
Vic
Visit www.vrdesigns.net for the latest news, polls, screenshots and blogs on Shadow Empire, Decisive Campaigns and Advanced Tactics
Octavian
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 9:33 am

RE: Resolution not changeable anymore

Post by Octavian »

In fact: both we´re on 125 - the windows system and the game DPI scaling.
User avatar
Vic
Posts: 8342
Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 2:17 pm
Contact:

RE: Resolution not changeable anymore

Post by Vic »

I have really not been able to reproduce this issue. If anybody can please give me exact instructions how to replicate (as in exactly which resolution to change to) I might be able to reproduce and then fix this issue.

Let me know.

Best wishes,
Vic
Visit www.vrdesigns.net for the latest news, polls, screenshots and blogs on Shadow Empire, Decisive Campaigns and Advanced Tactics
Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”