Left idle for 5 mins the game always locks up

Post bug reports and ask for tech support here.

Moderator: MOD_GGWaW_2

Post Reply
User avatar
Lebatron
Posts: 1581
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 4:27 pm
Location: Upper Michigan

Left idle for 5 mins the game always locks up

Post by Lebatron »

Hey everyone. Since 1.05 and up, has anyone noticed that the game freezes if you walk away for a little bit? Doesn't matter if full screen or windowed. I'm not sure if this is a windows 10 issue with the game, or the new patch. Would love to see if this all clears up if ran on an old XP PC. Anyway, this issue I'm having as I try to playtest a new update to Deluxe happens without fail if I let the game sit idle for perhaps 5 or more minutes. I have tried running the game in compatibility mode selecting Win XP and this has not cleared up the issue, but it does seem to be a bit more stable, so I've been running it this way for over a year.

There are some addition new bugs I've noticed running this on Windows 10 that I'll post separately.

Image
Attachments
compat.jpg
compat.jpg (52.59 KiB) Viewed 17 times
Jesse LeBreton, AKA Lebatron
Development team- GG's WAW A World Divided
User avatar
ncc1701e
Posts: 7913
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 7:50 pm
Location: Utopia Planitia Fleet Yards

RE: Left idle for 5 mins the game always locks up

Post by ncc1701e »

I have Windows 10 and my patch level is 1.052 in the main screen of the game.

I left the game idle for 5 mins.
I left the game idle for 10 mins.

I have no problem to continue my game.

Either this is your PC, either this is what you are calling the Deluxe edition of the game.
Chancellor Gorkon to Captain James T. Kirk:
You don't trust me, do you? I don't blame you. If there is to be a brave new world, our generation is going to have the hardest time living in it.
User avatar
rjh1971
Posts: 4947
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

RE: Left idle for 5 mins the game always locks up

Post by rjh1971 »

In full screen the game freezing if you alt+tab and do other things is an old bug.
Image
GG's AWD, GG's WBTS, GG's WitE Beta Tester
Beta Tester: Panzer Corps, Time of Fury, CtGW, DC CB, DC3 Barbarossa, SC WWII WiE, SC WWII WaW, SC WWI
User avatar
Lebatron
Posts: 1581
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 4:27 pm
Location: Upper Michigan

RE: Left idle for 5 mins the game always locks up

Post by Lebatron »

ORIGINAL: rjh1971

In full screen the game freezing if you alt+tab and do other things is an old bug.
Nah not that old bug. I’m playing in windowed mode and she just stops responding if I don’t move the mouse for a while. Well if it’s just happening to me then I won’t sweat it.
Jesse LeBreton, AKA Lebatron
Development team- GG's WAW A World Divided
User avatar
TemKarl
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 2:10 am
Contact:

RE: Left idle for 5 mins the game always locks up

Post by TemKarl »

Hi Jesse,

I can't reproduce either problem with testing on my machine. "Alt-Tab" works find, and leaving the system even for 30 minutes doesn't produce any problems.

Are you able to fire up Task Manager and see if the AWD app is marked as "not responding" ?
metaphore
Posts: 238
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2021 3:34 am

RE: Left idle for 5 mins the game always locks up

Post by metaphore »

I had the same issue earlier in windowed mode (windows 10), doing absolutely nothing for a while. My game became totally unresponsive when I tried to restart it. Windows wasn't responding at all to my imput asking to stop and close the game window. I had to shut it down via the task manager.

(I'm runing v. 1.053 Beta)
User avatar
Joel Billings
Posts: 31186
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Contact:

RE: Left idle for 5 mins the game always locks up

Post by Joel Billings »

That's very odd. Unfortunately if we can't repeat it, it's not likely to get fixed.
All understanding comes after the fact.
-- Soren Kierkegaard
Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”