Bug

Post bug reports and ask for game support here.

Moderator: MOD_Command

Post Reply
voodoor22
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2021 7:30 am

Bug

Post by voodoor22 »

Same exact issue as this guy I don't think it's been resolved yet: [Logged] Another tutorial that doesn't work

Couldn't post the link since I'm a new member but that's the exact title of the thread.

No pop-ups working on the Electronic Warfare tutorial. Pop-ups working so far for every other tutorial I've tried. Disappointing since I'm trying to run through every tutorial and then scenario. Bought all DLCs as well.

If anyone knows of a way to find the document that goes with this tutorial (in the first pop-up message on the menu page it says there's a document that goes with the scenario which contains all the pop-up messages) I'd appreciate being told. If it needs to be downloaded I'd appreciate knowing where.

Thank you
User avatar
OldSarge
Posts: 667
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 6:16 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM

RE: Bug

Post by OldSarge »

You might want to check in Game Options to ensure that the setting for Special Messages allows for rising a popup is set.

I can't seem to locate the document either.

HTH


Image
Attachments
SpecialMsgs.jpg
SpecialMsgs.jpg (143.91 KiB) Viewed 10 times
You and the rest, you forgot the first rule of the fanatic: When you become obsessed with the enemy, you become the enemy.
Jeffrey Sinclair, "Infection", Babylon 5
voodoor22
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2021 7:30 am

RE: Bug

Post by voodoor22 »

Well I did say pop-ups are working on every other tutorial, but yes I did check the game options to make 100% sure I have them displayed anyway.

Try the tutorial yourself. After the first message you won’t get any pop-ups. You can only trigger some of them by doing stuff but they don’t come up automatically in sequence.
User avatar
OldSarge
Posts: 667
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 6:16 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM

RE: Bug

Post by OldSarge »

It looks like event msg 2 doesn't get fired when it is supposed to at 18:00:40z not immediately clear why.
Other events don't seem to be getting fired either from the looks of it,event msg 3 should've fire when the first civilian ac was detected.
You and the rest, you forgot the first rule of the fanatic: When you become obsessed with the enemy, you become the enemy.
Jeffrey Sinclair, "Infection", Babylon 5
voodoor22
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2021 7:30 am

RE: Bug

Post by voodoor22 »

It’s definitely not working and I’m not the first to post about it - there’s another thread on here from almost 2 years ago (December 2019) that posted on it and a dev said they’ve noted it but it looks like it was never updated.

Do you know where I might find a doc with the messages so I can run this scenario as it’s meant to be played. Would hate to have to skip it. It’s message file is not in the tutorials folder.
User avatar
OldSarge
Posts: 667
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 6:16 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM

RE: Bug

Post by OldSarge »

I was able to get it to start displaying the popup by also clicking the 'Raise Popup' box for 'Scenario Events' selection right about 'Special Messages'. I still didn't see msg 2 pop up, but the AC detection msg 3 did fire.
You and the rest, you forgot the first rule of the fanatic: When you become obsessed with the enemy, you become the enemy.
Jeffrey Sinclair, "Infection", Babylon 5
voodoor22
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2021 7:30 am

RE: Bug

Post by voodoor22 »

Yep always worked for me as I've always had all messages pop-up enabled, but like you said msg 2 still doesn't fire and I don't know what other ones after msg 4 might not as well.
User avatar
OldSarge
Posts: 667
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 6:16 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM

RE: Bug

Post by OldSarge »

I was able to get it to work correctly by adding a new Msg 2 event and trigger, Msg 2a and Msg 2a Time respectively. They're eactly the same as the originals, so not sure what got nerfed there.


See attached file, remove .txt, I appended test to it so it won't clobber your existing scen file. Or you can create a test folder, which is what I did, and place it there.

HTH
Attachments
Electronic..est.scen.txt
(499.25 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
You and the rest, you forgot the first rule of the fanatic: When you become obsessed with the enemy, you become the enemy.
Jeffrey Sinclair, "Infection", Babylon 5
voodoor22
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2021 7:30 am

RE: Bug

Post by voodoor22 »

Very nice! Will take a look thanks.
voodoor22
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2021 7:30 am

RE: Bug

Post by voodoor22 »

Forgot to say, it works with your edit! Thank you.
KnightHawk75
Posts: 1556
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2018 7:24 pm

RE: Bug

Post by KnightHawk75 »

"not immediately clear why. "
"so not sure what got nerfed there. "
---

It's cause in the shipped version the time based trigger is already flagged as fired, so it never fires again unless it's recreated. That does need to be updated in a future release.

In more detail:
One can see that is the case via doing print(ScenEdit_GetEvent('Msg 2').details.triggers); in the lua console, You'll see the Fired=1 status without having really starting the scene yet. There is no way to reset Fired=1 to 0 without just recreating the entire trigger. What probably happened is the devs\author was testing the scene and saved at some point after the trigger had fired and simply forgot to recreate it as a step before publishing (very very easy to forget this). All that needs to be touched is removing the trigger (ignore in-use warning), recreate the time trigger,re-assign fresh copy to original event.

For scene authors who may have a bunch of such specific time triggers that may need to be reset and want to automate the reset process prior to publishing, search in the Lua Legion area for 'DeleteAndReCreateTimeTrigger' (post #2) code that can be called once for each event needing to be reset, it can save time during development and testing when there are more then just a couple as manually doing gets nauseating.[:)]
User avatar
OldSarge
Posts: 667
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 6:16 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM

RE: Bug

Post by OldSarge »

That makes sense! I was naively going by the Is Active checkbox thinking that would indicate the current state of the event. So it is good to know there are internal flags to be aware of. [8D]

Thanks



Image
Attachments
event.jpg
event.jpg (12.78 KiB) Viewed 9 times
You and the rest, you forgot the first rule of the fanatic: When you become obsessed with the enemy, you become the enemy.
Jeffrey Sinclair, "Infection", Babylon 5
Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”