Allied supply in Russia. Sadness...

Fury Games has now signed with Matrix Games, and we are working together on the next Strategic Command. Will use the Slitherine PBEM++ server for asynchronous multi-player.

Moderators: MOD_Strategic_Command_3, Fury Software

Post Reply
AshFall
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 8:20 am

Allied supply in Russia. Sadness...

Post by AshFall »

Well. In one of my games this has happened.

I suppose this is intended? I managed to send transports to Archangelsk with a HQ and everything. But, no dice, neither the HQ nor units receive any supply...

Image
PvtBenjamin
Posts: 1082
Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 3:57 pm

RE: Allied supply in Russia. Sadness...

Post by PvtBenjamin »

There are big penalties for GB & US units operating in the SU. You probably know that by now.

Someone else can tell you what the penalties are exactly.

Live and learn.
AshFall
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 8:20 am

RE: Allied supply in Russia. Sadness...

Post by AshFall »

Well... I cant find anything in the manual about this.

Nor about why I cant reinforce the HQ back to full str.

Since it has a minimum received supply of 3 via Logistics, shouldnt it's supply be higher?

Ugh...
PvtBenjamin
Posts: 1082
Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 3:57 pm

RE: Allied supply in Russia. Sadness...

Post by PvtBenjamin »

Well the Vologda & Belomorsk rail lines are cut so supply is already down. Vologda because of the rail line is one of the most important cities in the game.

I think the change to GB/US supply in SU was in an update. All I know is unless absolutely necessary (retreating from Iraq) you don't want GB/US troops in the SU (maybe its the vodka?).

Not to second guess but Overlord would have been a better use of the Brit troops.

enjoy.
AshFall
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 8:20 am

RE: Allied supply in Russia. Sadness...

Post by AshFall »

ORIGINAL: PvtBenjamin

Well the Vologda & Belomorsk rail lines are cut so supply is already down. Vologda because of the rail line is one of the most important cities in the game.

I think the change to GB/US supply in SU was in an update. All I know is unless absolutely necessary (retreating from Iraq) you don't want GB/US troops in the SU (maybe its the vodka?).

Not to second guess but Overlord would have been a better use of the Brit troops.

enjoy.

Yeah, well. The city the HQ is on is supply 5 (as you can see on the pic). So it -should- be giving supply 8. But... oh well.
PvtBenjamin
Posts: 1082
Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 3:57 pm

RE: Allied supply in Russia. Sadness...

Post by PvtBenjamin »


Again. The rules are different for GB/US troops in the SU. Maybe Bill or Hubert can tell you the rules.
User avatar
BillRunacre
Posts: 4815
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 2:57 pm
Contact:

RE: Allied supply in Russia. Sadness...

Post by BillRunacre »

Hi

The rule is as follows:

The USSR has a pro-Allied status but even when it enters the war it will act as a non-cooperative Allied power. This means that western Allied units cannot operate into or out of Soviet territory, or vice versa, and each will receive a maximum supply of 3 from the others’ resources.

It's on page 107 of the updated WWII: War in Europe Manual, and you can download it by going here:

https://www.matrixgames.com/forums/tm.asp?m=5056103
Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/FurySoftware

We're also on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/FurySoftware/
AshFall
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 8:20 am

RE: Allied supply in Russia. Sadness...

Post by AshFall »

ORIGINAL: BillRunacre

Hi

The rule is as follows:

The USSR has a pro-Allied status but even when it enters the war it will act as a non-cooperative Allied power. This means that western Allied units cannot operate into or out of Soviet territory, or vice versa, and each will receive a maximum supply of 3 from the others’ resources.

It's on page 107 of the updated WWII: War in Europe Manual, and you can download it by going here:

https://www.matrixgames.com/forums/tm.asp?m=5056103

Thank you Bill!

How does this interact with the Logistics tech? I.e. if you were to research logistics 5, would that mean an allied HQ would have a minimum supply of 5, and therefore output a supply of 8?

Edit: Tested it, nope, that's not how that works :P
PvtBenjamin
Posts: 1082
Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 3:57 pm

RE: Allied supply in Russia. Sadness...

Post by PvtBenjamin »

thus the word "maximum"

I do think the game would be better served if SU didn't have the supply restriction in Iraq or GB/US in Iran.

Considering its inevitable for Allies to retreat to Iraq against a determined attack the supply "line" gives the Axis an unwarranted advantage in the region.



AshFall
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 8:20 am

RE: Allied supply in Russia. Sadness...

Post by AshFall »

ORIGINAL: PvtBenjamin

thus the word "maximum"

I do think the game would be better served if SU didn't have the supply restriction in Iraq or GB/US in Iran.

Considering its inevitable for Allies to retreat to Iraq against a determined attack the supply "line" gives the Axis an unwarranted advantage in the region.




ORIGINAL: BillRunacre

Hi

The rule is as follows:

The USSR has a pro-Allied status but even when it enters the war it will act as a non-cooperative Allied power. This means that western Allied units cannot operate into or out of Soviet territory, or vice versa, and each will receive a maximum supply of 3 from the others’ resources.

It's on page 107 of the updated WWII: War in Europe Manual, and you can download it by going here:

https://www.matrixgames.com/forums/tm.asp?m=5056103

Emphasised the relevant part of Bills answer above to highlight why I asked the question about logistics and -minumum supply output regardless of resources-.

Another question if I may, Bill?

Image

In the screenshot above the relevant unit (1 corps uk) has a supply of 4 due to the U. It should therefore be reinforcable to strength 7 per the manual. Yet, that does not seem to be possible. Any ideas why?
User avatar
PJL1973
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 9:47 am

RE: Allied supply in Russia. Sadness...

Post by PJL1973 »

ORIGINAL: PvtBenjamin

thus the word "maximum"

I do think the game would be better served if SU didn't have the supply restriction in Iraq or GB/US in Iran.

Considering its inevitable for Allies to retreat to Iraq against a determined attack the supply "line" gives the Axis an unwarranted advantage in the region.




A better solution would be to redo the Partition of Iran event so that the entire southern area would be British owned and the rest under Soviet control. That would make things easier for the Allies and feel more plausible and historical. Supply would still be bad but not unduly so.
PvtBenjamin
Posts: 1082
Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 3:57 pm

RE: Allied supply in Russia. Sadness...

Post by PvtBenjamin »


Reasonable idea but that only solves part of the issue. The SU can't attack Iraq from Iran without supply issues which makes no sense.
User avatar
BillRunacre
Posts: 4815
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 2:57 pm
Contact:

RE: Allied supply in Russia. Sadness...

Post by BillRunacre »

ORIGINAL: AshFall

In the screenshot above the relevant unit (1 corps uk) has a supply of 4 due to the U. It should therefore be reinforcable to strength 7 per the manual. Yet, that does not seem to be possible. Any ideas why?

Although we've conversed about this, I will explain here so everyone else can see the answer. [:)]

There is a check in the code preventing reinforcement when in uncooperative territory, so the units receive some supply to enable them to move, fight, and avoid attrition losses, but they won't be able to reinforce there.

I will make a note to make this clearer in a future Manual update.
Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/FurySoftware

We're also on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/FurySoftware/
AshFall
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 8:20 am

RE: Allied supply in Russia. Sadness...

Post by AshFall »

Thank you for clearing this up Bill, appreciated!
Post Reply

Return to “Strategic Command WWII War in Europe”