LCs and (just) captured ports

Warplan is a World War 2 simulation engine. It is a balance of realism and playability incorporating the best from 50 years of World War 2 board wargaming.

Moderator: AlvaroSousa

Post Reply
Nirosi
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 5:01 pm

LCs and (just) captured ports

Post by Nirosi »

Hi,

Can anyone help/confirm with this? Normally we can land in a friendly hex by using LCs. However, here the US unit can not land in Cherbourg. Obviously it is normally possible to do so from the beach attached to the coastal (as I did take the empty port with a US unit from that same hex the action just before).

Could it be that one can not use LC to land in a friendly port no matter what (even if not operational yet as a port)?

If so, I would suggest if it can be changed in a future patch. If not it would mean a little strangely that with LCs one can land in enemy ports, enemy beaches/coastal, friendly beaches/coastal; but not... friendly, under repair, ports. It is strange to be able to use LCs do it while the enemy is there, but not the day after and having to wait about two weeks.[&:]

Image
Attachments
Capture3.jpg
Capture3.jpg (69.73 KiB) Viewed 38 times
User avatar
stjeand
Posts: 1662
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2021 1:14 pm
Location: Aurora, NC

RE: LCs and (just) captured ports

Post by stjeand »

I have never tested this...

I don't remember being able to land using LC on friendly territory except the first turn as I suspect the territory is not "owned" until the turn ends.
Villain
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 6:10 pm

RE: LCs and (just) captured ports

Post by Villain »

Appears to be working as per the manual.

Page 68
Transport/Invasion Fleet—This is any fleet with a land or air unit. This fleet may not attack other fleets but does defend vs attacks. They may disembark a land or air unit at any supplied port. Ports are not considered in supply the first turn they are captured. They can use landing craft to invade enemy beach and coastal hexes or disembark at any friendly coast.

Page 66
Invade—The invade toggle lights up available landing locations: red if an invasion landing hex (enemy controlled) and green if a disembark landing hex (friendly control without a port).
Nirosi
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 5:01 pm

RE: LCs and (just) captured ports

Post by Nirosi »

Hum... ok thanks Villain. Good to know.

Still, i would allow it if one is willing to spend the LC. Strange that we can do it in an hex under nominal enemy control, but not our control. And also that no such particularity exists for non-port coastal.

Could be a balance of play thing however...
Nirosi
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 5:01 pm

RE: LCs and (just) captured ports

Post by Nirosi »

Hum... even more strange a situation. I could easily instead have re-landed in the adjacent hex again (that I had also just captured that same tunr), and then just move in. But could not do it the adjacent hex to this one, captured that same turn, just because it has a.. port. [&:]

To be honest it did not change much in that particular example, but still seems curious...
Post Reply

Return to “WarPlan”