Merge units

WarPlan Pacific is an operational level wargame which covers all the nations at war in the Pacific theatre from December 1941 to 1945 on a massive game scale.

Moderator: AlvaroSousa

Post Reply
Rashmeister
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 10:55 am

Merge units

Post by Rashmeister »

I can't for the life of me merge units. What am I doing wrong, isn't it Alt-button and move to the unit I want merge with?
User avatar
AlvaroSousa
Posts: 10212
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 7:13 pm
Contact:

RE: Merge units

Post by AlvaroSousa »

Does the plus sign appear?

Also from what hex to what hex and which kind of units?
What are their strengths?
Creator Kraken Studios
- WarPlan
- WarPlan Pacific

Designer Strategic Command
- Brute Force (mod) SC2
- Assault on Communism SC2
- Assault on Democracy SC2
- Map Image Importer SC3
User avatar
stjeand
Posts: 1662
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2021 1:14 pm
Location: Aurora, NC

RE: Merge units

Post by stjeand »

There are a few caveats.

1) Units must be from the same country.
2) Units must be in the same mode, Garrison or Active
3) Units must be able to merge, Japanese Divisions can NOT merge.
4) Units must have enough movement points...in rain and ZOC sometimes they just can not merge.
5) IF units have different specialties, there must be enough points available to convert one unit to the other. It should tell you if this is the case.

I think I got them all.
Rashmeister
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 10:55 am

RE: Merge units

Post by Rashmeister »

Ah, I'm playing as Japan. So that explains it.

Why can't I merge divisions as Japan?
User avatar
stjeand
Posts: 1662
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2021 1:14 pm
Location: Aurora, NC

RE: Merge units

Post by stjeand »

5) IF units have different specialties, there must be enough points available to convert one unit to the other. It should tell you if this is the case.

Japan, like Russia use armies. Armies themselves can split into 2 "half" armies...
Only half armies can merge.

Japan though also used divisions...

I think it was just decided to keep them as separate entities...

Probably to keep China from being completely overrun by a dozen armies.
User avatar
AlvaroSousa
Posts: 10212
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 7:13 pm
Contact:

RE: Merge units

Post by AlvaroSousa »

Japan had individual divisions doing things and they have armies doing things. Their organization was all over the place. It is tough to put that into a game at the corps level.
Creator Kraken Studios
- WarPlan
- WarPlan Pacific

Designer Strategic Command
- Brute Force (mod) SC2
- Assault on Communism SC2
- Assault on Democracy SC2
- Map Image Importer SC3
Rashmeister
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 10:55 am

RE: Merge units

Post by Rashmeister »

ORIGINAL: AlvaroSousa

Japan had individual divisions doing things and they have armies doing things. Their organization was all over the place. It is tough to put that into a game at the corps level.

Yeah I actually realized Japan never used corps. So this seems realistic.

Thx for the info!
Post Reply

Return to “Warplan Pacific”