Kashmir Fire - Peacekeepers - Problem

Post new mods and scenarios here.

Moderator: MOD_Command

Post Reply
User avatar
Selchu
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 7:37 am

Kashmir Fire - Peacekeepers - Problem

Post by Selchu »

I posted this in the Kashmir Fire section as well but thought I would throw it here to see if anyone has any advice/wisdom.

Hey folks,
Currently working my way through Peacekeepers and seem to be having a problem with cargo. I followed orders and sent the CH-53Ks all the way north to the Embassy and they have just done a pickup. The issue I have is that they only pickup '3' cargo and then are full and have to RTB. The 3 cargo are machine gunners. This leaves staff on the ground and there isn't enough time to RTB Tripoli and then fly up and pick the rest up.

I have found this with most of the civilians I have picked up that required extra flights to load them in. Am I doing something really stupid here? I'll be honest I'm familar with how to deploy units in cargo but picking them up seems to be a bit buggy.

Have also discovered I have to manually tell most of the helicopters to fly at minimum altitude so that they actually carry out the 'Select unit for pickup' otherwise they tend to wait while they adjust altitude.

Edit: I can understand the close to shore pickups requiring multiple aircraft but if the CH-53K has been 'lightened' to allow it to transport more people from further away then should it not be able to lift them all in one go? I am loving the idea especially after recently finishing a book about the Vietnam extractions in the final days. This is just confusing though.

Hope this makes sense.
Sel

Image
User avatar
Selchu
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 7:37 am

RE: Kashmir Fire - Peacekeepers - Problem

Post by Selchu »

Bump - Anyone?
stww2
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue May 23, 2017 4:58 am

RE: Kashmir Fire - Peacekeepers - Problem

Post by stww2 »

Game mechanics wise it looks like everything is working as designed. Opening the scenario now, you could try changing the CH-53 loadouts to larger capacity ones, assuming you have enough time to spare to wait for the 2 hour loadout change. Obviously, the CH-53s would then have reduced range, but maybe with refueling it could work?

If the above won't work range-wise, you could try ferrying the CH-53s to Indira Gandhi and then changing them to higher capacity pax loadouts once there before picking up the embassy personnel and returning. That definitely should be doable with a single air to air refueling (on the return leg). Again, this assumes you can wait the two hours for the loadout change.

Those are just my initial thoughts upon looking at the scenario (I've never played it), but hopefully they are of some use.
Post Reply

Return to “Mods and Scenarios”