What does setting RESERVE do?

A complete overhaul and re-development of Gary Grigsby's War in the East, with a focus on improvements to historical accuracy, realism, user interface and AI.

Moderators: RedLancer, Joel Billings

Post Reply
MarkShot
Posts: 6811
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 6:04 am

What does setting RESERVE do?

Post by MarkShot »

There is all this discussion of commitment.

I am assuming RESERVE is like REFIT, but less replacing of equipment with commitment allowed.

Thanks.
(於 11/13/21 台北,台灣,中國退休)
User avatar
821Bobo
Posts: 2290
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 2:20 pm
Location: Slovakia

RE: What does setting RESERVE do?

Post by 821Bobo »

Manual, chapter 22.3.2.
Placing a unit in Reserve Stance
Units in the reserve stance can contribute to any battle
within their command and movement range at a cost to
their MP in the following turn (any battles they engage in
will affect their MP, see 22.1.3).
Any unit can be placed into reserve mode regardless of
the remaining MP in the current turn but is very unlikely to
actually take part as a reserve formation if this is too low.
Gam3r
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2021 11:01 am

RE: What does setting RESERVE do?

Post by Gam3r »

'Reserve' allow unit to be commited as reserve into the nearby battle.
MarkShot
Posts: 6811
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 6:04 am

RE: What does setting RESERVE do?

Post by MarkShot »

So, RESERVE does not:

* Accelerate recovery of CPP

* Accelerate recovery of FAT

* Accelerate recovery of TOE STRENGTH

It's purely a standby status for combat? Doesn't READY do the same thing?

I am sorry. I am confused.

Thanks.

As guides mention moving units to the STRATEGIC RESERVE as the best RESERVE status with REFIT being even better in the STRATEGIC RESERVE.
(於 11/13/21 台北,台灣,中國退休)
SparkleyTits
Posts: 898
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 7:15 pm
Location: England

RE: What does setting RESERVE do?

Post by SparkleyTits »

It's completely different from the strategic reserve, so try to think of it in the tactical/battle sense, seperate from SR

IE: As the war went on then panzers would be used as a tactical, combat reserve, they would rush into battle, if things got hairy
If you set a unit to reserve, and the enemy attacks a unit, then dependant on lots of things and some luck (Bobo mentioned the manual rules up top) the units you put onto reserve status, might or might not go in to help

If you have ever fought a battle, and an enemy unit also decided to pop in to help, from a few hexes away, that is the reserve status
User avatar
Q-Ball
Posts: 7312
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2002 4:43 pm
Location: Chicago, Illinois

RE: What does setting RESERVE do?

Post by Q-Ball »

Using RESERVE is one of the most important tactical elements the game....you cannot mount an effective defense without it.
russkly
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 12:25 pm

RE: What does setting RESERVE do?

Post by russkly »

Out of interest, I usually leave armoured units in RESERVE just behind the front lines in defence or attack, so that they can bolster the inf on the front line.

Are they the 'best' unit types to use in this way, or is this likely to lead to higher attrition and a decline in CPP?
User avatar
loki100
Posts: 11386
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 12:38 pm
Location: Utlima Thule
Contact:

RE: What does setting RESERVE do?

Post by loki100 »

ORIGINAL: russkly

Out of interest, I usually leave armoured units in RESERVE just behind the front lines in defence or attack, so that they can bolster the inf on the front line.

Are they the 'best' unit types to use in this way, or is this likely to lead to higher attrition and a decline in CPP?

I'd give you the hugely useful advice - 'it depends'.

If a unit reacts into a battle it will have less MP and CV in its next movement phase, if it reacts and the battle is lost this can be really dire (mobile units can easily end with 8 or less MP).

So can you spare this?

It comes up as an issue for the German player in Stal-Berlin a lot. Very roughly you can start with using reserve status and still have enough you can use in your own phases. As the Soviets ramp up the pressure this increasingly becomes one or the other - use your Pzrs on reserve and you may block a breakthrough, or they may get sucked into a battle very much on the Soviet sides advantages. Alternatively hold them back to hit any breakthrough in your phase.

By late winter 43-44, you end up utterly worn down and prob best not to use reserve reaction in an attempt to control their commitment. By late summer 1944 it just hurts [8D]

edit - an attacking player can turn reserve status against you, each battle is less MP (even one the defender wins), so if you can generate a partial encirclement the units that got drawn in via the reserve option often can neither escape nor attack to broaden the gap.
russkly
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 12:25 pm

RE: What does setting RESERVE do?

Post by russkly »

ORIGINAL: loki100
ORIGINAL: russkly

Out of interest, I usually leave armoured units in RESERVE just behind the front lines in defence or attack, so that they can bolster the inf on the front line.

Are they the 'best' unit types to use in this way, or is this likely to lead to higher attrition and a decline in CPP?

I'd give you the hugely useful advice - 'it depends'.

If a unit reacts into a battle it will have less MP and CV in its next movement phase, if it reacts and the battle is lost this can be really dire (mobile units can easily end with 8 or less MP).

So can you spare this?

It comes up as an issue for the German player in Stal-Berlin a lot. Very roughly you can start with using reserve status and still have enough you can use in your own phases. As the Soviets ramp up the pressure this increasingly becomes one or the other - use your Pzrs on reserve and you may block a breakthrough, or they may get sucked into a battle very much on the Soviet sides advantages. Alternatively hold them back to hit any breakthrough in your phase.

By late winter 43-44, you end up utterly worn down and prob best not to use reserve reaction in an attempt to control their commitment. By late summer 1944 it just hurts [8D]

edit - an attacking player can turn reserve status against you, each battle is less MP (even one the defender wins), so if you can generate a partial encirclement the units that got drawn in via the reserve option often can neither escape nor attack to broaden the gap.

Very instructive, thanks.

I'm new to the WitX series so am only flirting with the more basic scenarios at this point.

Looks like I'll keep my armour/mech out of RESERVE status then.

So, what type of units would you use in RESERVE status?

I appreciate that this is hugely situation dependent, but do you have any general guidelines for how to use this option?
User avatar
Q-Ball
Posts: 7312
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2002 4:43 pm
Location: Chicago, Illinois

RE: What does setting RESERVE do?

Post by Q-Ball »

ORIGINAL: russkly


Very instructive, thanks.

I'm new to the WitX series so am only flirting with the more basic scenarios at this point.

Looks like I'll keep my armour/mech out of RESERVE status then.

So, what type of units would you use in RESERVE status?

I appreciate that this is hugely situation dependent, but do you have any general guidelines for how to use this option?

Like Loki said "It depends!"

I think using RESERVES is totally different for Soviets in 1941 vs. Germans in 1944. What side and when are you playing?

Soviets in 1941 should have alot of units on RESERVE. You are unlikely to organize successful counterattacks anyway, and RESERVE can be a nasty surprise for Germans; a loss or two can really blunt a breakthrough. There's no reason NOT to have most of your units on RESERVE. Keep in mind though that 1941 Soviets often fail reserve activation because of leadership and organizational state of Red Army at this time. RIFLE units, Tank Units, all are just fine in RESERVE for this.

Germans should not use RESERVE much in Summer 1941. You don't want the AI to commit Panzers on reserve to an attack, you want to control what units are committed. The only reason would be if you expect a Soviet attack somewhere and want to ambush it.

I can go on, but it depends alot on who, when, and the situation
User avatar
malyhin1517
Posts: 1538
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 7:52 am
Location: Ukraine Dnepropetrovsk

RE: What does setting RESERVE do?

Post by malyhin1517 »

ORIGINAL: russkly
Very instructive, thanks.

I'm new to the WitX series so am only flirting with the more basic scenarios at this point.

Looks like I'll keep my armour/mech out of RESERVE status then.

So, what type of units would you use in RESERVE status?

I appreciate that this is hugely situation dependent, but do you have any general guidelines for how to use this option?
Using the reserve when playing on the defensive is very useful and often allows you to repel an attack. It is also very often useful to use the reserve in the attack, this allows you to increase the number of units for assault on fortified hexes, which is limited by the stack capacity in the hex.
Sorry, i use an online translator :(
GloriousRuse
Posts: 907
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 12:51 am

RE: What does setting RESERVE do?

Post by GloriousRuse »

Mark, think of it as tactical reserves. A unit gets used one of two ways:

1) On the defense, units in RESERVE (and not in ZoC, and having sufficient MP, and passing some checks) can march to join the battle. They mostly don’t get the fortification bonus, but they do fight. You can imagine that a soviet attack aimed at some Romanian division might have a very different outcome than intended if 7th Pz shows up. Of course, doing so will drain out readiness and MP from 7th panzer in the German turn.

2) When attacking, units in RESERVE may be committed by your leaders (assuming not in ZoC, sufficient MP, and passing some checks) to reinforce the attack. Sometimes this lets you bring extra power to bear at a point you couldn’t get it, sometimes it helps hedge against a player who called the odds a little too fine. And sometimes it just gets the reserve killed as well. You can imagine that if three soviet rifle divisions commit on top of the big attack going in, they may well break a position that would have otherwise held. Of course, those divisions will lose readiness and MP.
User avatar
56ajax
Posts: 1993
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:43 am
Location: Carnegie, Australia

RE: What does setting RESERVE do?

Post by 56ajax »

AI uses it all the time. I do probing attacks to draw out the Axis reserves, hopefully Panzers.
Molotov : This we did not deserve.

Foch : This is not peace. This is a 20 year armistice.

C'est la guerre aérienne
Post Reply

Return to “Gary Grigsby's War in the East 2”