Cannot attack fleet

Warplan Pacific Tech Support Forum. Please post any issues found here.

Moderator: AlvaroSousa

Post Reply
CrackingShow
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2020 6:58 am

Cannot attack fleet

Post by CrackingShow »

https://i.imgur.com/L1qswOb.jpeg

I cannot attack the British fleet with my Japanese fleet, whenever I right click the screen just flashes and nothing happens.

Not sure if posting a link works.

User avatar
Nami Koshino
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 8:34 pm
Location: Salem, Oregon

RE: Cannot attack fleet

Post by Nami Koshino »

I can see it.

Could the issue be weather related?
Rice is a great snack when you're hungry and you want 2,000 of something to eat.
CrackingShow
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2020 6:58 am

RE: Cannot attack fleet

Post by CrackingShow »

Nope I have clear weather. When I right click I get this in the combat log

https://i.imgur.com/bP1rSmF.png
User avatar
AlvaroSousa
Posts: 10185
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 7:13 pm
Contact:

RE: Cannot attack fleet

Post by AlvaroSousa »

Email me the save game. I will look.

Make sure you don't have your attack display delay set so low you can't see anything.
Creator Kraken Studios
- WarPlan
- WarPlan Pacific

Designer Strategic Command
- Brute Force (mod) SC2
- Assault on Communism SC2
- Assault on Democracy SC2
- Map Image Importer SC3
CrackingShow
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2020 6:58 am

RE: Cannot attack fleet

Post by CrackingShow »

How do I do that, its a PBEM game.

Also I set the 'attack display delay' to 3 seconds which is the max and no change.
CrackingShow
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2020 6:58 am

RE: Cannot attack fleet

Post by CrackingShow »

here are the error logs
Attachments
Player.txt
(1.62 MiB) Downloaded 2 times
YueJin
Posts: 247
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 7:00 pm

RE: Cannot attack fleet

Post by YueJin »

Had this issue come up in a turn I just received. Weather is clear, the fleet has an AP remaining, they're in fleet mode. When the enemy fleet is right clicked the screen flashes, the AP is not used and a blank entry is added to the combat logs. A nearby air unit can strike either fleet but not the carrier fleet, I've rerun the turn a couple of times and they won't strike regardless of any other factors. This has the potential to be the game deciding fight as well. It's the entire remaining US fleet with transports against 12 Japanese carriers that cannot attack them.

Image


Image
eskuche
Posts: 1152
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2018 2:29 am
Location: OH, USA

RE: Cannot attack fleet

Post by eskuche »

What's the fleet composition?
YueJin
Posts: 247
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 7:00 pm

RE: Cannot attack fleet

Post by YueJin »

You can see the Japanese one there, 6CV's, 6BB's, 2CA's and 2DD's and another of similar composition. The two American fleets are showing as 24 ships with 6CV's, 8BB's and transports, the second is 11 ships with 6CV's 1BB and transports. Carrier strikes can't be launched against either. A fleet of purely surface ships can attack but that's obviously suicidal.
User avatar
ncc1701e
Posts: 7843
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 7:50 pm
Location: Utopia Planitia Fleet Yards

RE: Cannot attack fleet

Post by ncc1701e »

No land troops transported inside your fleet?
Chancellor Gorkon to Captain James T. Kirk:
You don't trust me, do you? I don't blame you. If there is to be a brave new world, our generation is going to have the hardest time living in it.
YueJin
Posts: 247
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 7:00 pm

RE: Cannot attack fleet

Post by YueJin »

No
YueJin
Posts: 247
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 7:00 pm

RE: Cannot attack fleet

Post by YueJin »

I've got the bug figured out. Carrier strikes cannot be launched against against fleets that contain a mixture of carriers and transports. The above bug happens every time. It's very easily replicated by loading up hotseat, sticking a transport in the PH strike force and trying to attack it with the American carriers.

Obviously this is totally gamebreaking if people start abusing it.
User avatar
AlvaroSousa
Posts: 10185
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 7:13 pm
Contact:

RE: Cannot attack fleet

Post by AlvaroSousa »

I got it. Im on that bug
Creator Kraken Studios
- WarPlan
- WarPlan Pacific

Designer Strategic Command
- Brute Force (mod) SC2
- Assault on Communism SC2
- Assault on Democracy SC2
- Map Image Importer SC3
YueJin
Posts: 247
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 7:00 pm

RE: Cannot attack fleet

Post by YueJin »

Any progress on this one? It doesn't seem to be fixed in the latest patch and I've got an opponent just sailing around with untouchable fleets because they're keeping transports and CV's mixed in. It's really infuriating to play against.
eskuche
Posts: 1152
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2018 2:29 am
Location: OH, USA

RE: Cannot attack fleet

Post by eskuche »

I houseruled it but it was not well taken to.
User avatar
AlvaroSousa
Posts: 10185
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 7:13 pm
Contact:

RE: Cannot attack fleet

Post by AlvaroSousa »

Hotfix is still delayed due to an issue at Matrix with a licensing vendor. Everyone is pissed. A lot of games are held up.
Creator Kraken Studios
- WarPlan
- WarPlan Pacific

Designer Strategic Command
- Brute Force (mod) SC2
- Assault on Communism SC2
- Assault on Democracy SC2
- Map Image Importer SC3
Post Reply

Return to “Warplan Pacific: Tech Support Forum”