Capture of Lenningrad - Axis Ports on LL??

A complete overhaul and re-development of Gary Grigsby's War in the East, with a focus on improvements to historical accuracy, realism, user interface and AI.

Moderators: RedLancer, Joel Billings

Post Reply
Cavalry Corp
Posts: 3130
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 5:28 pm
Location: Sampford Spiney Devon UK

Capture of Lenningrad - Axis Ports on LL??

Post by Cavalry Corp »

Well ok I did it... but still learning as is my opponent.

On thing that seems odd is that Axis seem to have ports now on LL, seems not quite right as where is the freight coming from? or am I in a muddle? Or will no freight ever arrive??

Also how does all the population escape when their is no ports??



Cav



Image
Attachments
Screenshot56.jpg
Screenshot56.jpg (488.46 KiB) Viewed 4 times
GloriousRuse
Posts: 907
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 12:51 am

RE: Capture of Lenningrad - Axis Ports on LL??

Post by GloriousRuse »

It’s best to view population evacuation as a sort of necessary abstraction that happens at the point of capture for the sake of getting roughly the right result without having to build a big interactive system to address it. You can imagine that not every single citizen sat in Leningrad while slowly but surely the Germans crossed the Neva, battled north, cut off Osinovets, and completed investment of the city. Some stayed, some left early, some left late, some slipped through weak points in the siege lines or took trips around the bay in small boats, whatever. They didn’t all sit their obligingly, they probably reacted like humans. But programming some sort of phased withdrawal based on proximity and threat, etc etc probably wouldn’t produce much outside the current evac but it would do so with lots of annoying implementatation.

Other than that, shift Leningrad to import and repair the port, make sure your German ports have the right supply level-export mix, and soon it’ll be hauling in precious supplies (unless you get all your transports sunk)
Cavalry Corp
Posts: 3130
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 5:28 pm
Location: Sampford Spiney Devon UK

RE: Capture of Lenningrad - Axis Ports on LL??

Post by Cavalry Corp »

Thanks - actually my comment was mainly about the import to LL ports - how can that happen if they are only in a lake ?
User avatar
loki100
Posts: 11372
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 12:38 pm
Location: Utlima Thule
Contact:

RE: Capture of Lenningrad - Axis Ports on LL??

Post by loki100 »

ORIGINAL: Cavalry Corp

Thanks - actually my comment was mainly about the import to LL ports - how can that happen if they are only in a lake ?

well you can set it to import but I'm not sure anything will happen as the axis side has no shipping there. Maybe this changes if you have taken Leningrad but not sure about that.
Cavalry Corp
Posts: 3130
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 5:28 pm
Location: Sampford Spiney Devon UK

RE: Capture of Lenningrad - Axis Ports on LL??

Post by Cavalry Corp »

Ok then its something for the developers to confirm - only observing :)
sven6345789
Posts: 1060
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 12:45 am
Location: Sandviken, Sweden

RE: Capture of Lenningrad - Axis Ports on LL??

Post by sven6345789 »

maybe from the Finns?
Bougainville, November 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9. It rained today.

Letter from a U.S. Marine,November 1943
User avatar
loki100
Posts: 11372
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 12:38 pm
Location: Utlima Thule
Contact:

RE: Capture of Lenningrad - Axis Ports on LL??

Post by loki100 »

ORIGINAL: Cavalry Corp

Ok then its something for the developers to confirm - only observing :)

there is a simple test - look at your production screen, do you have any cargo ships for the Lake Ladoga region?
Cavalry Corp
Posts: 3130
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 5:28 pm
Location: Sampford Spiney Devon UK

RE: Capture of Lenningrad - Axis Ports on LL??

Post by Cavalry Corp »

Well ... I could but still learning where everythng is but also the scn has just finished!

Did no know you get cargo ships for designated areas either sorry.
User avatar
loki100
Posts: 11372
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 12:38 pm
Location: Utlima Thule
Contact:

RE: Capture of Lenningrad - Axis Ports on LL??

Post by loki100 »

the question was rhetorical [;)] - you shouldn't have any cargo ships on Ladoga as the axis, which is the point. You can set the ports as you wish but it shouldn't make any difference as there is no available shipping (for the axis) in that sea area.
Numdydar
Posts: 3226
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 9:56 pm

RE: Capture of Lenningrad - Axis Ports on LL??

Post by Numdydar »

Would not the Axis build some or commandeered some?
carlkay58
Posts: 8679
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 10:30 pm

RE: Capture of Lenningrad - Axis Ports on LL??

Post by carlkay58 »

Much easier said than done!
Post Reply

Return to “Gary Grigsby's War in the East 2”