Please do a "4th Supreme command" for WITE2

A complete overhaul and re-development of Gary Grigsby's War in the East, with a focus on improvements to historical accuracy, realism, user interface and AI.

Moderators: RedLancer, Joel Billings

Post Reply
tiger111
Posts: 471
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 7:19 pm

Please do a "4th Supreme command" for WITE2

Post by tiger111 »

This is an excellent scenario included in a expansion pack for WITW. It was done by Red Lancer and R.Seger.

This mod was the reason I bought the Expansion pack have always used it.

It would be great if the authors were to do a version of it for WITE2.

Living in hope. Thankyou for many, many hours of enjoyment
AdmiralHalsey
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2021 2:40 pm

RE: Please do a "4th Supreme command" for WITE2

Post by AdmiralHalsey »

You can easily withdraw the Panzer Army from Africa ahead of shedule anytime you choose - What would you want to see that you can't already do by manual control of the Theaterbox?
User avatar
loki100
Posts: 11351
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 12:38 pm
Location: Utlima Thule
Contact:

RE: Please do a "4th Supreme command" for WITE2

Post by loki100 »

ORIGINAL: AdmiralHalsey

You can easily withdraw the Panzer Army from Africa ahead of shedule anytime you choose - What would you want to see that you can't already do by manual control of the Theaterbox?

you can't - you might get a Pzr division out. Remember you can't withdraw if a Theatre is <90(? 80%) of need even if you have full control. With full control you can go below that limit by choosing not to send stuff but you can't withdraw any more
AdmiralHalsey
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2021 2:40 pm

RE: Please do a "4th Supreme command" for WITE2

Post by AdmiralHalsey »

It is pretty easy to arrange the remaining 90% of forces in the Africa Theaterbox are composed of Italians.
User avatar
malyhin1517
Posts: 1536
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 7:52 am
Location: Ukraine Dnepropetrovsk

RE: Please do a "4th Supreme command" for WITE2

Post by malyhin1517 »

ORIGINAL: AdmiralHalsey

It is pretty easy to arrange the remaining 90% of forces in the Africa Theaterbox are composed of Italians.
In my game, I sent Romanians to Africa instead of the Germans! :) After such a joke of mine, this opportunity was blocked! :) There won't be enough Italians for Africa! They have their own theater.
Sorry, i use an online translator :(
AdmiralHalsey
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2021 2:40 pm

RE: Please do a "4th Supreme command" for WITE2

Post by AdmiralHalsey »

Did you Mod the game? Romanians can normally only be sent to the reserve or the Garrision. Africa is normally just Italians and Germans.
carlkay58
Posts: 8675
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 10:30 pm

RE: Please do a "4th Supreme command" for WITE2

Post by carlkay58 »

No he did it as a playtester and they did not think of it at first. Then they changed things so you could not do it.
User avatar
fritzfarlig
Posts: 425
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 5:49 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

RE: Please do a "4th Supreme command" for WITE2

Post by fritzfarlig »

but the hungarians strong refused to go
User avatar
malyhin1517
Posts: 1536
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 7:52 am
Location: Ukraine Dnepropetrovsk

RE: Please do a "4th Supreme command" for WITE2

Post by malyhin1517 »

ORIGINAL: fritzfarlig

but the hungarians strong refused to go
I sent the Hungarians to Italy, and some even to Finland! :) I hope they liked it there more than in huge Russia! :) And the Nord division and Rommel's African corps fought in Russia! Unfortunately, now such jokes are impossible!
Sorry, i use an online translator :(
GloriousRuse
Posts: 907
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 12:51 am

RE: Please do a "4th Supreme command" for WITE2

Post by GloriousRuse »

As an unexpected side effect, the increased German presence in the east led to overtaxing the German industrial and supply system, with an unhappy German winter. So its probably for the best in all ways for this to have been a one time deal...
User avatar
malyhin1517
Posts: 1536
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 7:52 am
Location: Ukraine Dnepropetrovsk

RE: Please do a "4th Supreme command" for WITE2

Post by malyhin1517 »

ORIGINAL: GloriousRuse

As an unexpected side effect, the increased German presence in the east led to overtaxing the German industrial and supply system, with an unhappy German winter. So its probably for the best in all ways for this to have been a one time deal...
Everything would be fine! The lack of supply was due to the fact that I incorrectly set the priority of supply. I didn’t know that he was limiting the flow of supplies, I thought it was just a priority! All my troops had the same supply priority 1 and therefore received only 50% of the supply. It's amazing that I managed to score 525 points at all! :) But now I tell everyone on our Russian forum about this so that they do not repeat my stupid mistake! :)
Sorry, i use an online translator :(
vinnie71
Posts: 965
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 7:32 am

RE: Please do a "4th Supreme command" for WITE2

Post by vinnie71 »

ORIGINAL: loki100

ORIGINAL: AdmiralHalsey

You can easily withdraw the Panzer Army from Africa ahead of shedule anytime you choose - What would you want to see that you can't already do by manual control of the Theaterbox?

you can't - you might get a Pzr division out. Remember you can't withdraw if a Theatre is <90(? 80%) of need even if you have full control. With full control you can go below that limit by choosing not to send stuff but you can't withdraw any more

However, am I right in thinking that some of the German units in Africa cannot be rebuilt when they are lost with the conclusion of the NA campaign?
User avatar
malyhin1517
Posts: 1536
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 7:52 am
Location: Ukraine Dnepropetrovsk

RE: Please do a "4th Supreme command" for WITE2

Post by malyhin1517 »

ORIGINAL: vinnie71

ORIGINAL: loki100

ORIGINAL: AdmiralHalsey

You can easily withdraw the Panzer Army from Africa ahead of shedule anytime you choose - What would you want to see that you can't already do by manual control of the Theaterbox?

you can't - you might get a Pzr division out. Remember you can't withdraw if a Theatre is <90(? 80%) of need even if you have full control. With full control you can go below that limit by choosing not to send stuff but you can't withdraw any more

However, am I right in thinking that some of the German units in Africa cannot be rebuilt when they are lost with the conclusion of the NA campaign?
Some of the troops will be evacuated, and some will be destroyed!
Sorry, i use an online translator :(
User avatar
loki100
Posts: 11351
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 12:38 pm
Location: Utlima Thule
Contact:

RE: Please do a "4th Supreme command" for WITE2

Post by loki100 »

that is what the event says.

I've just gone back to my beta test game with the axis surrender event.

I'm not that clued into the axis OOB so here are 2 screens, the destroyed unit list (remember the axis is AI so this is pretty much baseline stuff):

Image

and some of what I found in the reserve

Image

now that is not hugely informative as there is a delay of up to 9 turns before axis units appear in the reserve for refit (rule 27.2.2) - but fairly clearly some Italian units were allocated to the reserve.

Don't regard this as definitive as some events were reworked and that save is relatively out of date

vinnie71
Posts: 965
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 7:32 am

RE: Please do a "4th Supreme command" for WITE2

Post by vinnie71 »

thanks for clearing that up!
Post Reply

Return to “Gary Grigsby's War in the East 2”