[108.05] Rail Causing Logistics Problem.

Moderator: Vic

Post Reply
Tigersclaw
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2021 9:29 am

[108.05] Rail Causing Logistics Problem.

Post by Tigersclaw »

So I have a road which diverges into 2 and both have truck points flowing through them to supply my units. I installed a rail line along side the road from my Capital city down one leg of the road to a rail head to increase my unit supply. The result is now that no truck points being send down one of the legs. In fact, truck points are not being sent at ALL from the capital down that route only rail points! turn after turn. So my offensive has stalled. If anyone knows what’s going on that would be great. Copy and paste are below for the pics and save game.

//ibb.co/Pmn0PmX
//ibb.co/5R2XK0Z
//file.io/KmROVkBnJttN
zgrssd
Posts: 4215
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 1:02 pm

RE: [108.05] Rail Causing Logistics Problem.

Post by zgrssd »

Here are the useable links for those images:
https://ibb.co/Pmn0PmX

https://ibb.co/5R2XK0Z

Nr. 3 seems to have been deleted on the Server side
DW2 Poll:
"Should the Civil and non-Combat Ships loose all or most of their weapon slots?"
https://www.matrixgames.com/forums/view ... 1&t=382690
zgrssd
Posts: 4215
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 1:02 pm

RE: [108.05] Rail Causing Logistics Problem.

Post by zgrssd »

The Rail Point are split into two parts:
The lower 10% are always avalible and afaik can enter and leave the rail line at any point.
The upper 90% can only enter and leave the rail network at a station, thus are only avalible if there is a stastion They need a Truck Station for further distribution.

That the northern route is getting no Truck points sounds like a actuall bug. I notice the distinct absence of any Pull Points from the troops at that junktion, wich is pretty odd.
DW2 Poll:
"Should the Civil and non-Combat Ships loose all or most of their weapon slots?"
https://www.matrixgames.com/forums/view ... 1&t=382690
zgrssd
Posts: 4215
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 1:02 pm

RE: [108.05] Rail Causing Logistics Problem.

Post by zgrssd »

I noticed a abnormality with the Unit Symbols:
The look like the Smaler one (position of the Supply Indicator), yet clealry they are not the smaler ones.
It could just be a mod for people that prefer the small design but want normal size icons - but there is a really high chance that this is a very old savegame. One that might predate pull points.
DW2 Poll:
"Should the Civil and non-Combat Ships loose all or most of their weapon slots?"
https://www.matrixgames.com/forums/view ... 1&t=382690
redrum68
Posts: 1330
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2017 1:53 am

RE: [108.05] Rail Causing Logistics Problem.

Post by redrum68 »

Hard to tell from the screenshots. Can you upload the save game?
Tigersclaw
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2021 9:29 am

RE: [108.05] Rail Causing Logistics Problem.

Post by Tigersclaw »

Thanks for eveyones feed back! Appreciated! Im not sure what you mean about the symbols, but the save is from yesterday, its a current game not an old one. there are pull points right at the end of the route but that is the only place. Im no logistics expert so any help is appreciated.
im not sure i understand the 90 10 split you mentioned, but do i need to have a truck station and a rail head at every road juntion point?
Ive tried to upload the save again. hope this works.
(appologies the forum wont let me direct link yet)

//gofile.io/d/VFNlnN
zgrssd
Posts: 4215
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 1:02 pm

RE: [108.05] Rail Causing Logistics Problem.

Post by zgrssd »

im not sure i understand the 90 10 split you mentioned, but do i need to have a truck station and a rail head at every road juntion point?
All you need is a Truck Station under every Railstation or head.

The Rail is only for bulk transports between Cities. Local distirbution is the job of Local Trucks and Operational Supply.
(appologies the forum wont let me direct link yet)

//gofile.io/d/VFNlnN
No problem about the uploading. The rules for this subforum seem excessively strict as far as attachments are concerned.
I will take a look.

Link for others:
https://gofile.io/d/VFNlnN
DW2 Poll:
"Should the Civil and non-Combat Ships loose all or most of their weapon slots?"
https://www.matrixgames.com/forums/view ... 1&t=382690
zgrssd
Posts: 4215
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 1:02 pm

RE: [108.05] Rail Causing Logistics Problem.

Post by zgrssd »

Please use the "Show Op. Log" view (Shortcut: 6)

The northern route going over "Vehicle AF" is so far from the city, that even with paved roads no truck points will make it all the way to the end. I am counting 22 Hexes till the end - it is a wonder supply goes anywhere as long as it does on this road!
It is odd that no pull points get transmitted down the road, but then it also changes between Zones and is pretty much on the end of the supply rope.

Meanwhile the "Bara Flats" Rail Station has no Truck Station. Meaning the Units have to grab all their supply at exactly Bara Flats. There are no trucks to carry the supplies towards the units.
At a mere 12 hexes to the city, the distance also seems a bit short for a rail line.
It would have at least build the Line to the Free Town of Thenac. Any Railhead should be the basis for a City down the line. And I recently learned that founding a citiy on a Free town apparently instantly transfers all the population to the town.
Alternatively a simple Supply base or Truckstop to refocuss the stuff could have done it as well.
DW2 Poll:
"Should the Civil and non-Combat Ships loose all or most of their weapon slots?"
https://www.matrixgames.com/forums/view ... 1&t=382690
redrum68
Posts: 1330
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2017 1:53 am

RE: [108.05] Rail Causing Logistics Problem.

Post by redrum68 »

I took a quick look at your save and it appears what happens is the city thinks sending rail points SE will be sufficient to fulfill the supply demand but since the rail only branches in one direction the other direction gets nothing (this is probably a weakness in the base logistics point algorithm).

The easiest way to address the issue is just add a few traffic signals in to force the system to prioritize sending some truck points SE from the city. Adding just a traffic signal the blocks all except pull points towards the southern branch appears to fix it. I've added in a handful of traffic signals to show how this can be done to greatly improve your logistics point flow (only did some of the branches near your capital not all your empire).

The other issue you have is that many of your other cities have either no truck station or only a lvl 1 truck stations which is why I think the logistics algorithm is trying to send most of the truck points to the SW of the city. If you build more truck stations in your other cities then they shouldn't need to pull truck points from your capital.

Fixed save game: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1IgEgfe ... sp=sharing
User avatar
deMangler
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 9:37 am

RE: [108.05] Rail Causing Logistics Problem.

Post by deMangler »

Looking at this save and the comments related to it has really helped me grok some of how Shadow Empire works. Thanks.
Tigersclaw
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2021 9:29 am

RE: [108.05] Rail Causing Logistics Problem.

Post by Tigersclaw »

Thanks for everyones great input! In the end I deleted the road and reconnected it at a diffrent branch which solved the problem. Thanks for your mix Redrum68.
But im defintly going to put truck stations at rail heads from now on. A side question is if i have a rail line go through a settlement without a station i assume it won't be able to off load its rail points?
redrum68
Posts: 1330
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2017 1:53 am

RE: [108.05] Rail Causing Logistics Problem.

Post by redrum68 »

Not sure what you mean by "off load its rail points"? But essentially you'll get full rail points along a rail as long as it has either a station or head at each end.
User avatar
BlueTemplar
Posts: 887
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 12:07 pm

RE: [108.05] Rail Causing Logistics Problem.

Post by BlueTemplar »

Just to clarify...

----
if i have a rail line go through a settlement without a station i assume it won't be able to off load its rail points?

It will. It's "just" that these points won't be available outside of the rail hexes, for instance you won't be able to build & use an asset that's not also on the rail itself (well, unless you have a road bringing truck points from elsewhere, but that will probably be inefficient).

Also you don't technically *need* a rail station or railhead for that... it's "just" that you will only get at most 10% of the potential rail points if you don't have either of them at the end of the line in/after that city.
Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”