How do I generate lots of ruins?

A military-oriented and sci-fi wargame, set on procedural planets with customizable factions and endless choices.

Moderator: Vic

Post Reply
jking142
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 8:57 pm

How do I generate lots of ruins?

Post by jking142 »

I know the generation mechanics have changed a lot since the original release. Back then, I recall some screenshots of worlds covered with ruins. I believe the pre-war pop was in the 20-30 billion range.

Is that pop what is needed for the large fields of ruins to generate? And if so, what generation characteristics do I need to specify in order to have a chance at those numbers? So far, I rarely get a world in the 3-5 billion range, with very modest ruins.

Thanks for the help!
zgrssd
Posts: 4205
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 1:02 pm

RE: How do I generate lots of ruins?

Post by zgrssd »

To my knowledge it is population.
The ability to get such high population planets has been patched out and then patched in again around History Classes.

I think the main thing is that you need lots of rainfall. Over 1000 mm at least. 3000+ better. The rainfall should also be well distributed across the planet, so it is not just some oases.
DW2 Poll:
"Should the Civil and non-Combat Ships loose all or most of their weapon slots?"
https://www.matrixgames.com/forums/view ... 1&t=382690
Mina
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2021 6:34 am

RE: How do I generate lots of ruins?

Post by Mina »

It's probably a ratio of planet size to max pre-apocalypse pop. I generated a small planet with 3 billion people before the apocalypse (Max I'd ever managed) and I had tons of multi-hex ruined cities, generally 10 ruin tiles or bigger. Tbh it was probably TOO many ruin tiles.

Also pay attention to entries in the colonization history log mentioning hi-tech industry or military bases etc., these create artifact spots on ruin tiles which can get you some very powerful items depending on the type of pre-colonization event that created them.
Pratapon51
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2020 5:44 pm

RE: How do I generate lots of ruins?

Post by Pratapon51 »

I've rolled Earth+ sized planets with populations in the billions that had huge sprawling ruined megacities. Generally, going for the billions on a habitable planet class is a good bet. [:D]
User avatar
Twotribes
Posts: 6422
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2002 10:00 am
Location: Jacksonville NC
Contact:

RE: How do I generate lots of ruins?

Post by Twotribes »

I cant get over 12 billion on largest planet.
Favoritism is alive and well here.
jking142
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 8:57 pm

RE: How do I generate lots of ruins?

Post by jking142 »

ORIGINAL: Pratapon51

I've rolled Earth+ sized planets with populations in the billions that had huge sprawling ruined megacities. Generally, going for the billions on a habitable planet class is a good bet. [:D]

Outstanding. How do I go about "going for the billions?" I don't know what parameters to start with (other than excluding cerberus, etc.) And I presume that at each stage of the generation process, there are some better and worse options?

I get that the last step can have a huge range (presumably based on the colonization sim), but I imagine that the max pop is capped by the planet attributes themselves. Do we know what the goldilocks characteristics are? I have aimed toward earth-like, but maybe paradise is better? for instance, slightly lower g? Maybe less axial tilt? A bit drier than home? Is alien life helpful?

Thanks again for the insights.
User avatar
Twotribes
Posts: 6422
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2002 10:00 am
Location: Jacksonville NC
Contact:

RE: How do I generate lots of ruins?

Post by Twotribes »

On siwa planets you want 18 to 22 degrees 700 plus rain around 10 percent mountains and oceans, can be less. even that you might need a lot of rolls on pop screen. On largest planet max is just under 12billion.
Favoritism is alive and well here.
Pratapon51
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2020 5:44 pm

RE: How do I generate lots of ruins?

Post by Pratapon51 »

ORIGINAL: jking142

ORIGINAL: Pratapon51

I've rolled Earth+ sized planets with populations in the billions that had huge sprawling ruined megacities. Generally, going for the billions on a habitable planet class is a good bet. [:D]

Outstanding. How do I go about "going for the billions?" I don't know what parameters to start with (other than excluding cerberus, etc.) And I presume that at each stage of the generation process, there are some better and worse options?

I get that the last step can have a huge range (presumably based on the colonization sim), but I imagine that the max pop is capped by the planet attributes themselves. Do we know what the goldilocks characteristics are? I have aimed toward earth-like, but maybe paradise is better? for instance, slightly lower g? Maybe less axial tilt? A bit drier than home? Is alien life helpful?

Thanks again for the insights.

Going for large Siwa-classes is always a good bet, but in general as long as the climate isn't too terrible, dice gods are the main arbiter. Even less 'perfect' worlds I've played can have hundreds of mil. or billion people if it turns into a major mining colony, manufacturing center, etc.
Uemon
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2020 10:18 pm

RE: How do I generate lots of ruins?

Post by Uemon »

Just keep in mind that if you generate 100s of ruins it will essentially break the economy and ruin your game in the long run. Also the overpowered artifact locations will be all over the place. I think the AI will go insane and build gazillion units.
User avatar
newageofpower
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 3:09 pm

RE: How do I generate lots of ruins?

Post by newageofpower »

ORIGINAL: Uemon

Just keep in mind that if you generate 100s of ruins it will essentially break the economy and ruin your game in the long run. Also the overpowered artifact locations will be all over the place. I think the AI will go insane and build gazillion units.
That's great! Even on Extreme difficulty with Nemesis, the AI becomes a cakewalk mid-late game.
Pratapon51
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2020 5:44 pm

RE: How do I generate lots of ruins?

Post by Pratapon51 »

ORIGINAL: newageofpower
ORIGINAL: Uemon

Just keep in mind that if you generate 100s of ruins it will essentially break the economy and ruin your game in the long run. Also the overpowered artifact locations will be all over the place. I think the AI will go insane and build gazillion units.
That's great! Even on Extreme difficulty with Nemesis, the AI becomes a cakewalk mid-late game.

They're still quite easy even then. Personally, I think one thing that would make a big difference without having to use more processing power is to make the AI upgrade its units more aggressively. They stick with older models for a loong time, making them underpowered despite their tech-level wizardry.
User avatar
newageofpower
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 3:09 pm

RE: How do I generate lots of ruins?

Post by newageofpower »

ORIGINAL: Pratapon51

They're still quite easy even then. Personally, I think one thing that would make a big difference without having to use more processing power is to make the AI upgrade its units more aggressively. They stick with older models for a loong time, making them underpowered despite their tech-level wizardry.
Not just models, but the fact they order bad postures that are inappropriate for the situation, don't try very hard to pocket & annihilate your units,ajd overall poor decision-making.
Post Reply

Return to “Shadow Empire”