[1.07.01]Automatic replacement of equipment does not keep XP

Moderator: Vic

Post Reply
DTurtle
Posts: 443
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:05 pm

[1.07.01]Automatic replacement of equipment does not keep XP

Post by DTurtle »

When equipment is replaced manually (so going from Tank to Tank II), then the unit keeps its experience (with a minor loss due to new equipment). The same when you upgrade units.

However, if you use the automatic replacement system, this is not the case. Instead the unit has the XP that the replacement equipment had (usually 0 or a bit more). So if I recruit Tank II in the SHQ and set Tank I to tolerated, then the field units will lose all of their XP and I can scrap Tank I with 80XP in the SHQ.

It works correctly when doing it with infantry units that can upgrade (instead of replace). So if I recruit Infantry II in the SHQ and set Infantry I to tolerated, then the field units will keep most of their XP when upgrading to Infantry II. I can then scrap the 0 XP Infantry I in the SHQ.
aguvenli
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 9:15 am

RE: [1.07.01]Automatic replacement of equipment does not keep XP

Post by aguvenli »

I've observed this happening on 1.06.5 (steam).
zgrssd
Posts: 4219
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 1:02 pm

RE: [1.07.01]Automatic replacement of equipment does not keep XP

Post by zgrssd »

Not a bug. The Crew (with their XP) and the equipment form a inseperable unit. With infantry you never notice because you got upgrade. But for everything else you have to use the replace option (requires the experienced guys and new gear to be in the same place) to get the old XP into a new dress.
DW2 Poll:
"Should the Civil and non-Combat Ships loose all or most of their weapon slots?"
https://www.matrixgames.com/forums/view ... 1&t=382690
User avatar
Vic
Posts: 8342
Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 2:17 pm
Contact:

RE: [1.07.01]Automatic replacement of equipment does not keep XP

Post by Vic »

Please distinguish well:

Replacement Troops => That are automaticly sent from SHQ-Unit or the reverse. Here the men+equipment are sent including their XP.

Subunit Popup => Replace / Upgrade ... Here Replace will keep the manpower&XP where they are and just switch around the equipment.

That being said in the special case of Tolerated equipment being sent back because better is available it does make sense to automatically treat it as a Replacement of equipment and not of men. Expect this to be changed upcoming open beta.
Visit www.vrdesigns.net for the latest news, polls, screenshots and blogs on Shadow Empire, Decisive Campaigns and Advanced Tactics
DTurtle
Posts: 443
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:05 pm

RE: [1.07.01]Automatic replacement of equipment does not keep XP

Post by DTurtle »

Thanks! That's exactly what was bugging me. It seems I've been handicapping myself in a lot of games by actually using the system as it was designed [;)]
zgrssd
Posts: 4219
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 1:02 pm

RE: [1.07.01]Automatic replacement of equipment does not keep XP

Post by zgrssd »

That being said in the special case of Tolerated equipment being sent back because better is available it does make sense to automatically treat it as a Replacement of equipment and not of men. Expect this to be changed upcoming open beta.
That would be awesome!
DW2 Poll:
"Should the Civil and non-Combat Ships loose all or most of their weapon slots?"
https://www.matrixgames.com/forums/view ... 1&t=382690
zgrssd
Posts: 4219
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 1:02 pm

RE: [1.07.01]Automatic replacement of equipment does not keep XP

Post by zgrssd »

Of course it would be even better if you just enabled the QOL feature "Upgrade" for all gear, meaning replace only happens for gear in the SHQ (where there is no priority to tell the game what to give the most experienced units):
https://www.matrixgames.com/forums/tm.a ... =&#4940295
DW2 Poll:
"Should the Civil and non-Combat Ships loose all or most of their weapon slots?"
https://www.matrixgames.com/forums/view ... 1&t=382690
Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”