Murmansk RR cut

Fury Games has now signed with Matrix Games, and we are working together on the next Strategic Command. Will use the Slitherine PBEM++ server for asynchronous multi-player.

Moderators: MOD_Strategic_Command_3, Fury Software

Post Reply
User avatar
OldCrowBalthazor
Posts: 1253
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:42 am
Location: Republic of Cascadia

Murmansk RR cut

Post by OldCrowBalthazor »

I'm in a pbem as Allies..my opponent cut the Murmansk RR for at least 3 turns. The USSR is still receiving convoy income. Both of us are wondering why this is the case?

Any illumination about this situation would be welcomed [:)]

Image
Attachments
murmansk rr jpeg B.jpg
murmansk rr jpeg B.jpg (90.27 KiB) Viewed 3 times
The Land
Posts: 912
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 4:58 pm

RE: Murmansk RR cut

Post by The Land »

ORIGINAL: OldCrowBalthazor

I'm in a pbem as Allies..my opponent cut the Murmansk RR for at least 3 turns. The USSR is still receiving convoy income. Both of us are wondering why this is the case?

Any illumination about this situation would be welcomed [:)]

Image

Did the game start before or after the latest patch? If before - this is as expected, the change was only introduced in the most recent patch.

IF after - have the Finns/Germans taken at least one resource on the railroad? I believe just cutting the line has no effect, you need to take the towns.
1985 Red Storm mod - Beta testing!

Always wanted to play a "Cold War goes hot" scenario? Come and join in!
User avatar
OldCrowBalthazor
Posts: 1253
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:42 am
Location: Republic of Cascadia

RE: Murmansk RR cut

Post by OldCrowBalthazor »

Its after the patch..and I just realized its because he didn't take the towns after thinking about this after posting. Also, you just confirmed my suspicions about this, so thanks for the answer.

I had the towns covered on the RR...but still. you have to admit, its a bit wonky that trains are getting through his intrepid Finnish corp.
The Land
Posts: 912
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 4:58 pm

RE: Murmansk RR cut

Post by The Land »

ORIGINAL: OldCrowBalthazor

Its after the patch..and I just realized its because he didn't take the towns after thinking about this after posting. Also, you just confirmed my suspicions about this, so thanks for the answer.

I had the towns covered on the RR...but still. you have to admit, its a bit wonky that trains are getting through his intrepid Finnish corp.

Yeah, I suspect the events can't trigger on non-resource hexes, much of the scripting system seems only to really look at resources. Either that or it's too laborious to list every RR hex...!

Narratively I agree it's weird, even if the Corps is thinly-spread and poorly-supplied, surely they can blast enough holes in the tracks to prevent anything getting through...


1985 Red Storm mod - Beta testing!

Always wanted to play a "Cold War goes hot" scenario? Come and join in!
User avatar
BillRunacre
Posts: 4812
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 2:57 pm
Contact:

RE: Murmansk RR cut

Post by BillRunacre »

As things stand, they will have to capture one of the towns, as the script does not check for control of every single hex from Murmansk to the south, just control of the urban areas.
Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/FurySoftware

We're also on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/FurySoftware/
User avatar
Christolos
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 10:45 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

RE: Murmansk RR cut

Post by Christolos »

Does this also apply in SC World at War?

Thanks,

C
“Excellence is never an accident. It is always the result of high intention, sincere effort, and intelligent execution; it represents the wise choice of many alternatives - choice, not chance, determines your destiny.”

-Aristotle-
User avatar
BillRunacre
Posts: 4812
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 2:57 pm
Contact:

RE: Murmansk RR cut

Post by BillRunacre »

Not at the moment.
Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/FurySoftware

We're also on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/FurySoftware/
Post Reply

Return to “Strategic Command WWII War in Europe”