Tutorial Question

Take command of air and naval assets from post-WW2 to the near future in tactical and operational scale, complete with historical and hypothetical scenarios and an integrated scenario editor.

Moderator: MOD_Command

Post Reply
MyP
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2020 12:55 am

Tutorial Question

Post by MyP »

Hi,

I'm new to Command.

Why are neither F16s firing their weapons at the target yet, which is within their maximum range?

Sufa-1 is set to automatic engagement (F1) while Sufa-2 is set to manual engagement (Shift F1). Sufa-2 will eventually fire at around 9.5nm.

What do I need for the F16s to engage at closer to the Python's maximum range? High speed, high altitude....? This is the third time on this scenario. I had to reduce the altitude of the F16s as on attempt #2 it was telling me (on Shift F1 screen) that the altitude difference was too high). I have placed sensors on Active and have AEW.
Attachments
FlightTut..ntercept.zip
(114.31 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
User avatar
CHM
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 2:15 pm

RE: Tutorial Question

Post by CHM »

Hello.

In the Shift-F1 (manual) engagement mode for Sufa-2, you'll see this text underneath the Python:

Target is out of the weapon's DLZ.

Effectively, this means that the 'brain' (AI) has decided that if fired, the missile would not have a realistic chance of reaching and hitting the target. Why not? See this image below:

Image

Let's say Sufa-2 fired the missile (red arrow) at this point. The target may detect this (or another asset detect this and transmit this information to the target) and turn away (green arrow), fleeing out of range and outrunning the Python.

Sufa-1 is closer to the target, hence why - if unpaused - it will fire.

The DLZ calculations depend on the range to the target, the speed of the missile fired, and the speed of the target.

I hope that this answers your question.
MyP
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2020 12:55 am

RE: Tutorial Question

Post by MyP »

Thank you, that does make sense for Sufa 2.

However, when I set Sufa 2's radar to off and "b" for rtb so it turns home, Sufa 1 continues to fly to the target, but doesn't fire. It will circle the enemy a few times. I would expect that Sufa 1 with "F1" engagement should have engaged before Sufa 2, and even if it didn't, it should engage fairly soon afterwards, not just circle the enemy. Even when I select Shift F1, Sufa 1 has Green launch status, but still won't fire.
MyP
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2020 12:55 am

RE: Tutorial Question

Post by MyP »

Missing pictures
Attachments
Capture2.jpg
Capture2.jpg (219.78 KiB) Viewed 10 times
Capture.jpg
Capture.jpg (297.9 KiB) Viewed 11 times
User avatar
CHM
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 2:15 pm

RE: Tutorial Question

Post by CHM »

Apologies for not replying more promptly, but I know what your problem is here. You ordered Sufa-2 to disengage (by returning to base), but previously Sufa-2 was manually ordered to fire on the target. Even though Sufa-2 is now heading home, that manual attack order is still 'saved' (see image below).

Image

This means that Sufa-1 will not engage - the target has been 'reserved' by Sufa-2 (even though he is heading to base). To solve this, I told Sufa-2 to drop the target. This freed up the enemy aircraft, which Sufa-1 promptly engaged.

I hope this makes sense.
thewood1
Posts: 6881
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 6:24 pm

RE: Tutorial Question

Post by thewood1 »

I think there might be a disengagement setting in ROE for this also.
You are like puss filled boil on nice of ass of bikini model. You are nasty to everybody but then try to sweeten things up with a nice post somewhere else. That's nice but you're still a boil on a beautiful thing! - BDukes
Post Reply

Return to “Command: Modern Operations series”