[1.06 b2] Raise formation logistics cost inaccurate

Moderator: Vic

Post Reply
Destragon
Posts: 475
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2020 6:27 pm

[1.06 b2] Raise formation logistics cost inaccurate

Post by Destragon »

Just noticed two weird things about the raise formation logistics cost.

1) The logistics cost when raising formations oustide of your SHQ tile is currently not including the unit's supplies. The supplies are transported for free.
For example, I have an MG battalion, which requires 25 logistics points in the raise formation screen. Because 5 times the weight of 5 is 25.
However, when I raise it, it starts with full supplies of 10 food and 50 ammo, which actually raise its weight to 85 for strategic move normally.

Image


2) The number for the logistics cost doesn't update when you unselect some of the unit types. This one is just a display bug as far as I can see.

Image
User avatar
Vic
Posts: 8333
Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 2:17 pm
Contact:

RE: [1.06 b2] Raise formation logistics cost inaccurate

Post by Vic »

Feel free to send a savefile of the interface update issue to vic@vrdesigns.net! with a link to this post please.

The other issue is working as intended. Raising Formations or Troops assumes core supplies arrive with the Equipment/Troops without extra Logistical charge.

And yes with Strategic Transfer you have to pay for them. Adding to to-do list to find a more coherent way to make that cost higher than is used right now.

best wishes,
Vic
Visit www.vrdesigns.net for the latest news, polls, screenshots and blogs on Shadow Empire, Decisive Campaigns and Advanced Tactics
Destragon
Posts: 475
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2020 6:27 pm

RE: [1.06 b2] Raise formation logistics cost inaccurate

Post by Destragon »

ORIGINAL: Vic

Feel free to send a savefile of the interface update issue to vic@vrdesigns.net! with a link to this post please.
Sure, sent.
The other issue is working as intended. Raising Formations or Troops assumes core supplies arrive with the Equipment/Troops without extra Logistical charge.

And yes with Strategic Transfer you have to pay for them. Adding to to-do list to find a more coherent way to make that cost higher than is used right now.

best wishes,
Vic
Oh, alright. I guess it does make sense that the troops might get their supplies directly from the zone where you raise the formation, instead of from the SHQ.

Can I ask what you mean with making the cost higher than is used? Do you mean the cost to strat move with supplies?
User avatar
Vic
Posts: 8333
Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 2:17 pm
Contact:

RE: [1.06 b2] Raise formation logistics cost inaccurate

Post by Vic »

The idea is that Troops can carry their own supplies (Food,Fuel,Ammo) and hence there is no extra weight for these internally kept items.

However Strategic Transfer does make you pay for them. That was due to a change some months ago where I felt the cost for Strategic Transfer was to low.

So what i meant to say is that it is on my nice-to-have list to keep strategic transfer more expensive but not based on those internally kept items as it is now. As it is a bit inconsistent rule-wise.
Visit www.vrdesigns.net for the latest news, polls, screenshots and blogs on Shadow Empire, Decisive Campaigns and Advanced Tactics
User avatar
Vic
Posts: 8333
Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 2:17 pm
Contact:

RE: [1.06 b2] Raise formation logistics cost inaccurate

Post by Vic »

Thanks for the save. But could not manage to repeat the 100/0 logistical thingy. If you have an exact unit and order of clicks with which you can reproduce please do post.

best wishes,
Vic
Visit www.vrdesigns.net for the latest news, polls, screenshots and blogs on Shadow Empire, Decisive Campaigns and Advanced Tactics
Destragon
Posts: 475
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2020 6:27 pm

RE: [1.06 b2] Raise formation logistics cost inaccurate

Post by Destragon »

Huh, weird. Maybe you misunderstood me? I wasn't refering to the '0', just the '100'.

Bring up the raise formation window for an independent mechanised MG battalion on any tile, then just click on the APCs at the bottom to unselect them. It will still display a logistics cost of '100' at the top, even though the actual logistics cost is reduced to just '25'.
User avatar
Vic
Posts: 8333
Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 2:17 pm
Contact:

RE: [1.06 b2] Raise formation logistics cost inaccurate

Post by Vic »

Ah right. No i think it works as intended. It shows the ideal Logistical Points needed for the full TOE of the unit(s).
Visit www.vrdesigns.net for the latest news, polls, screenshots and blogs on Shadow Empire, Decisive Campaigns and Advanced Tactics
Destragon
Posts: 475
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2020 6:27 pm

RE: [1.06 b2] Raise formation logistics cost inaccurate

Post by Destragon »

I'm fairly certain on classifying this as a bug. And it turns out it's not just a display bug.
Here you can see me trying to raise a mechanised MG formation (without APCs) on a tile that has only 35 logistics points. This actually only costs 25 logistics points, when I raise it on any other tile, but because the game doesn't know that, it prevents you from raising the formation on tiles that have less than 50 logistics points.

Image

It is still a bit of an edge case scenario, so it's not exactly a priority bug, but I'd call it a bug either way.
Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”