Turn duration

A military-oriented and sci-fi wargame, set on procedural planets with customizable factions and endless choices.

Moderator: Vic

User avatar
nukkxx5058
Posts: 3067
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 2:57 pm
Location: France

Turn duration

Post by nukkxx5058 »

Hi, just would like to know if the turn duration is improved with a much better PC or if it will take time anyway (i.e. it's like that by construction).

On a large planet with many AI opponents it can take quite a long time on my typewriter.
thx
Winner of the first edition of the Command: Modern Operations COMPLEX PBEM Tournament (April 2022) :-)
User avatar
jimwinsor
Posts: 1077
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 6:53 pm
Contact:

RE: Turn duration

Post by jimwinsor »

FWIW, it seems AI turn length is longer with the new beta, and since I am planning on streaming it today I went ahead and clocked it for timing purposes: on my system, the average AI turn time for a large planet is just under 2 minutes.

IMO, this is a small price to pay to have a reasonably competent AI in the game. But if it could be improved without sacrificing AI quality that would of course be most welcome.
Streaming as "Grognerd" at https://www.twitch.tv/grognerd
mroyer
Posts: 938
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 12:27 pm

RE: Turn duration

Post by mroyer »

Hmmm... we could do study [:)]
Post a .se1 file here to act as a standard.
Then to participate, a person would

(1) download the file,
(2) advance the turn (only, don't do anything else),
(3) time the AI playing time,
(4) post time and computer stats and OS back here.

It would be interesting to see the variation.
-Mark R.
User avatar
KingHalford
Posts: 571
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2016 3:53 pm
Contact:

RE: Turn duration

Post by KingHalford »

I've noticed the AI turn times have increased dramatically since I last played a month ago. I'd estimate that they're somewhere between 3 and 4 times longer than they were. Before I'd rarely wait longer than a minute on even large maps. Now I'm waiting five minutes on medium ones just 50 turns in, and my CPU is pretty monsterous.

I'm not sure which patch caused it but it's clear that something has increased them.
Ben "BATTLEMODE"
www.eXplorminate.co
pauls2271
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 1:20 am

RE: Turn duration

Post by pauls2271 »

but it's clear that something has increased them.

I noticed if I used the new option "Survival Stress" that turns took a lot longer.

User avatar
KingHalford
Posts: 571
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2016 3:53 pm
Contact:

RE: Turn duration

Post by KingHalford »

Before people get too concerned, this happened before just after a big update and Vic fixed it up pretty quickly.
Ben "BATTLEMODE"
www.eXplorminate.co
User avatar
jimwinsor
Posts: 1077
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 6:53 pm
Contact:

RE: Turn duration

Post by jimwinsor »

I wonder if it would be possible to allow the player to access and read the reports while the AI is thinking?
Streaming as "Grognerd" at https://www.twitch.tv/grognerd
Daza99
Posts: 286
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2017 7:02 pm

RE: Turn duration

Post by Daza99 »

ORIGINAL: mroyer

Hmmm... we could do study [:)]
Post a .se1 file here to act as a standard.
Then to participate, a person would

(1) download the file,
(2) advance the turn (only, don't do anything else),
(3) time the AI playing time,
(4) post time and computer stats and OS back here.

It would be interesting to see the variation.
-Mark R.

This is a good idea
Atomikkrab
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2020 1:20 pm

RE: Turn duration

Post by Atomikkrab »

Vic even mentioned it in the patch notes. He did something to the AI to improve its performance, at the downside of the turns taking longer because of more calculations. I would just say go make a snack and wait.
User avatar
nukkxx5058
Posts: 3067
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 2:57 pm
Location: France

RE: Turn duration

Post by nukkxx5058 »

OK guys, attached is a benchmark file for the test.
Just load the file and directly press 'end turn'. And measure the time.

This test might be helpful for VIC, therefore in fine for us all too so participate in large number.

On my 10-year old laptop-type-writter it took:
00:06:13 with 1.05 beta 11
and
00:03:23 with 1.05 beta 13

to complete the turn.

My config:
Laptop Samsung
i5 3210M @2.5ghz
8GB RAM
64bit Win10
GPU: HD4000

https://www.dropbox.com/s/7wwhtzbvn4r7x ... y.se1?dl=0
Winner of the first edition of the Command: Modern Operations COMPLEX PBEM Tournament (April 2022) :-)
User avatar
Emx77
Posts: 421
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 11:12 am
Location: Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Contact:

RE: Turn duration

Post by Emx77 »

Here are my test results with save file "0 - Copy.se1" posted by nukkxx5058:

First test, ver. 1.05 beta7: 00:01:30.
Second test, ver. 1.05 beta13: 00:01:39.

My config:
Intel i5-9600K @3.7GHz
16GB RAM DDR4
64bit Win10Pro
GPU: NVidia GeForce RTX 2070 Super
User avatar
springel
Posts: 365
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 12:18 pm
Location: Groningen, NL
Contact:

RE: Turn duration

Post by springel »

On my 5 year old laptop it took 2:45

i7-4700HQ @ 2.40 GHz, 16 GB RAM
pauls2271
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 1:20 am

RE: Turn duration

Post by pauls2271 »

1.05 beta 13 - 01:55

Intel i7-6700K @4.0GHz
24GB
64bit Win10Pro
GTX1070

mroyer
Posts: 938
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 12:27 pm

RE: Turn duration

Post by mroyer »


Here are my test results with save file "0 - Copy.se1" posted by nukkxx5058:

v1.05 beta13: 00:02:34.

My config:
Surface Pro 4 Tablet
with docking brick and external monitor
Display Adapter Intel(R) Iris(R) Graphics 540
Resolution 2560x1440

-Mark R.



Image
Attachments
Untitled.jpg
Untitled.jpg (83.04 KiB) Viewed 100 times
User avatar
Nachtjager
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 4:17 am

RE: Turn duration

Post by Nachtjager »

1.05b13 - 01:44

Intel i7-9700k @ 3.60GHz
32GB RAM
64GB Win 10
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080

I have noticed that leaving the new worldgen option in beta 13 to give the AI more time to think unchecked does make a difference in new games.
battlefield91
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:18 am

RE: Turn duration

Post by battlefield91 »

Testing out my new Rig: 1:29


My config:
Ryzen 5 5600X @ 4.40 GHz
16GB RAM DDR4
64bit Win10
GPU: NVidia GeForce RTX 3080
Installed on SSD

ver. 1.05 beta13
User avatar
nadia911
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 7:00 pm

RE: Turn duration

Post by nadia911 »

Here are my test results en 1.05Beta13

2:26

Intel Pentium 4550Gold
8 GB RAM
Win 10 64
ATI 7770
SSD disk
User avatar
springel
Posts: 365
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 12:18 pm
Location: Groningen, NL
Contact:

RE: Turn duration

Post by springel »

Ran it on my desktop: 2:25

i5 6400 @ 2.70 GHz, 8 MB RAM

This and the earlier laptop result are on patch 13

Seems like the deciding factor is just pure CPU speed. Memory or Video card do not have any effect.
User avatar
ASHBERY76
Posts: 2076
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2001 8:00 am
Location: England

RE: Turn duration

Post by ASHBERY76 »

Long turn times means this becomes like Pride of Nations did.A game I never bother playing.
User avatar
nukkxx5058
Posts: 3067
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 2:57 pm
Location: France

RE: Turn duration

Post by nukkxx5058 »

ORIGINAL: ASHBERY76

Long turn times means this becomes like Pride of Nations did.A game I never bother playing.
The difference is that in PON the end turn duration wasn't dependent on the PC performance but was linked to the code itself. A good PC doesn't improve it. Here, it seems it's not the case as the test above shows.

2 minutes turn resolution is reasonable.

Winner of the first edition of the Command: Modern Operations COMPLEX PBEM Tournament (April 2022) :-)
Post Reply

Return to “Shadow Empire”