[Logged] New contacts dont appear in TacView without closing and re-opening

Post bug reports and ask for game support here.

Moderator: MOD_Command

Post Reply
Rory Noonan
Posts: 2419
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 1:53 am
Location: Brooklyn, NY

[Logged] New contacts dont appear in TacView without closing and re-opening

Post by Rory Noonan »

From a thread on a closed issue: https://www.matrixgames.com/forums/tm.asp?m=4759116
ORIGINAL: TheCabal

The issue still persists and seems not fixed. Have to close 3D view and open it up again for new contacts to appear. =(
Everything is up to date here.

Despite this, enemy ground forces are either not showing up as well or are too tiny.. almost invisible. Maybe (optionally for users) increasing the size of the 3D-models could help.
ORIGINAL: TheCabal

Well it's pretty easy:

- Start Shifting Sand - 2nd scenario
- Wait till the first unknown air contacts appear (can take quite some time
- Compare unknown contacts, identified enemy contacts, missiles etc. with 3D view (they are missing as do unknown/enemy ground forces)

3D view gets not updated once a target appears, is being identified, missiles being fired. Must i rebuilt the scenarios to a newer database?! I'm so confused.
ORIGINAL: TheCabal

#BUMP#

Verified files in Steam for CMO and TacView. Both are ok and updated as always.

Still need to reopen 3D view after every new contact to get it shown in the 3D view. It happens in every scenario (recently, Shifting Sands campaign) whenever new contacts etc. are visible in CMO -> they are invisible in the 3D view until I close and then reopen 3D view.

- If contact XY1 appears in CMO, it doesn't show in 3D view.
- Close 3D View
- Open 3D View
- Contact XY1 is visible in 3D view and stays visible.
- If new contacts appear in CMO, they aren't visible in 3D view
- Repeat...

Despite this, identified enemy ground units (example: Artillery) appear blue instead of red as hostile. (These too appear in 3D view after closing and reopening 3D view).
Image
Rory Noonan
Posts: 2419
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 1:53 am
Location: Brooklyn, NY

RE: [Logged] New contacts dont appear in TacView without closing and re-opening

Post by Rory Noonan »

Logged for investigation.

0014176
Image
User avatar
TheCabal
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 4:42 pm

RE: [Logged] New contacts dont appear in TacView without closing and re-opening

Post by TheCabal »

If you have any questions I'm here. Though, there is not much else to describe.

EDIT: Today (12.10.2020), a TacView dev responded to a thread on Steam, asking for %TEMP%/Tacview.log to find any issues.

Start CMO, laod a scenario. Open 3D view. Reproduce the issue. Afterwards -> close 3D view, close CMO. Share %TEMP%/Tacview.log

EDIT 2: I'm using the detailed textures for TacView.
User avatar
TheCabal
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 4:42 pm

RE: [Logged] New contacts dont appear in TacView without closing and re-opening

Post by TheCabal »

What's the status? I have this issue since a year....
User avatar
TheCabal
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 4:42 pm

RE: [Logged] New contacts dont appear in TacView without closing and re-opening

Post by TheCabal »

This just never stops......... BUMP again. TacView doesn't answer @Steam and the CMO folks don't as well. I'm alone with this since ages.
Dimitris
Posts: 13400
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 10:29 am
Contact:

RE: [Logged] New contacts dont appear in TacView without closing and re-opening

Post by Dimitris »

Hi,

We have been looking at your issue intermittently but have not been able to find the solution yet (and it is curious that this happens only for a sub-set of users instead of everyone). The dev team is shut down ATM and we'll be able to resume investigation on this from the new year onwards.

We haven't forgotten you, but this is just one of the many things we need to take care of.

Thanks, and have a happy new year.
User avatar
TheCabal
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 4:42 pm

RE: [Logged] New contacts dont appear in TacView without closing and re-opening

Post by TheCabal »

Any news? =|
Dimitris
Posts: 13400
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 10:29 am
Contact:

RE: [Logged] New contacts dont appear in TacView without closing and re-opening

Post by Dimitris »

This is still happening? We've added a lot of tweak recently in order to prevent this. Can you please provide a specific, reproducible example witht he current public build and the current Tacview version? Thanks.
Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”