[Logged] Monitor issue

Post bug reports and ask for game support here.

Moderator: MOD_Command

Post Reply
orca
Posts: 506
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 4:59 pm

[Logged] Monitor issue

Post by orca »

I have 2 CPU's that share the same monitor. One CPU is for work and the other is my personal CPU with command. I use a KVM to switch between the CPUs.

When I stitch away from command and then back to command the first time it works. But usually the second time I do this when I get back to command it freezes and the screen is white with a red x. The only way to fix this is to use the task manager and hard close command. The same issue happens when I turn my monitor off and then turn back on.

My personal CPU with command specs are below:
Dell Computer with Intel i7-4790 CPU @ 3.6 GHZ with command running on a solid state drive.
main monitor a DELL UHD and the secondary window a Samsung UHD monitor
NVIDIA Quadro P600 that has 2 GB memory.

I am using build 1147.10.
thewood1
Posts: 7240
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 6:24 pm

RE: Monitor issue

Post by thewood1 »

Out of curiosity, does the other PC go to sleep than awake when you switch over?

Not related, but I find it funny that most issues are with multiple monitors and a single PC. Yours is the exact opposite.
You are like puss filled boil on nice of ass of bikini model. - BDukes
Oh good lord stop. Does anybody ever like you? - BDukes
Rory Noonan
Posts: 2419
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 1:53 am
Location: Brooklyn, NY

RE: Monitor issue

Post by Rory Noonan »

Logged for investigation.

0014175
Image
orca
Posts: 506
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 4:59 pm

RE: Monitor issue

Post by orca »

The other PC has no issues when I switch back and forth. The PC that freezes only freezes when Command is open.
User avatar
ojms
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 9:05 am

RE: Monitor issue

Post by ojms »

I'm experiencing a similar issue.

Using Windows 10 and CMO, if I pause the game, lock my computer (Windows Key + L ) and then come back a few minutes later there is a big red cross over the map window. I believe this might be down to a low memory issue?
thewood1
Posts: 7240
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 6:24 pm

RE: Monitor issue

Post by thewood1 »

ORIGINAL: ojms

I'm experiencing a similar issue.

Using Windows 10 and CMO, if I pause the game, lock my computer (Windows Key + L ) and then come back a few minutes later there is a big red cross over the map window. I believe this might be down to a low memory issue?

You have two PCs and one monitor?
You are like puss filled boil on nice of ass of bikini model. - BDukes
Oh good lord stop. Does anybody ever like you? - BDukes
User avatar
ojms
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 9:05 am

RE: Monitor issue

Post by ojms »

ORIGINAL: thewood1

ORIGINAL: ojms

I'm experiencing a similar issue.

Using Windows 10 and CMO, if I pause the game, lock my computer (Windows Key + L ) and then come back a few minutes later there is a big red cross over the map window. I believe this might be down to a low memory issue?

You have two PCs and one monitor?


I have one PC and two monitors, I know it's a different setup but getting the white background with red cross appears to be a similar issue.
KnightHawk75
Posts: 1607
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2018 7:24 pm

RE: Monitor issue

Post by KnightHawk75 »

ORIGINAL: ojms

I'm experiencing a similar issue.

Using Windows 10 and CMO, if I pause the game, lock my computer (Windows Key + L ) and then come back a few minutes later there is a big red cross over the map window. I believe this might be down to a low memory issue?
At the risk of conflating issues I do they they are very much related in the sense I think in both cases there may be a display resolution or video-driver reset\re-init taking place and the game's display\video-card related references it previous had become invalidated (pure speculation) in whole or in part (the map display) and it can't recover (or doesn't attempt to). I base that speculation only on that I can make this same thing happen on demand by manually restarting my video driver with the game open. Which not super surprisingly produces the issue (not complaining). What is a little surprising is the number of apps that actually do not get affected or recover without issue, I presume because they either trap for and can handle the event(s) or just aren't as directly talking to the driver\hardware.

As for it happening with "just locking", I can reproduce it on win7, one needs only to load a scene or the editor and ctrl-alt-del and lock, then wait a few seconds and go ahead and unlock. The map display will not recover from the red-x condition, even though most of the time the app itself will (sort of) recover enough to file|exit, though often it may just crash. I have a one monitor, one pc setup, amd card|drivers. This does not occur when the monitor just goes to screen saver or into power save mode (at least not in my case), it takes the locking action or a driver reset.

As mentioned above if anyone needs to know how to repo the driver reset specifically like for what may be going on with the kvm and testing, you can also trigger it via:
Win+Ctrl+Shift+B on win10
CRU utility(restart\restart64) for amd\nvidia, devcon (windows sdk\ddk), or super manually via device manager disable\enable on win7\8.

Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”