[Workaround In Place] Build 1128.1 Persistent Spinning Globe

Post bug reports and ask for game support here.

Moderator: MOD_Command

Post Reply
rmwilsonjr
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 1:17 am

[Workaround In Place] Build 1128.1 Persistent Spinning Globe

Post by rmwilsonjr »

Just loaded Build 1128.1, played one game, tried to reload it (using .scen, not .save) and Spinning Globe screen appeared along with a locked map belonging to the game I tried to reload. Have exited and restarted a number of times. Spinning Globe appears after loading, but no matter what scenario I select, it appears hidden behind the Spinning Globe screen (I thought they weren't even loading until I found them hidden behind the Spinning Globe). Moving the map to a new screen leaves the Spinning Globe still spinning on the home screen. Secondary screens will appear on top of it, but if you focus on it, it fills the screen covering all the secondary screens. I don't see any windows buttons in the upper right to minimize it, or close it. Before the latest build, it just automatically disappeared when the scenario loaded.
Richard
Dimitris
Posts: 13394
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 10:29 am
Contact:

RE: Build 1128.1 Persistent Spinning Globe

Post by Dimitris »

Have you set the message log to be in detached mode, per chance?
rmwilsonjr
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 1:17 am

RE: Build 1128.1 Persistent Spinning Globe

Post by rmwilsonjr »

Yes I always do.
Richard
User avatar
michaelm75au
Posts: 11889
Joined: Sat May 05, 2001 8:00 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

RE: Build 1128.1 Persistent Spinning Globe

Post by michaelm75au »

The problem is that it is expecting a window position for the detached log.

(a) For now I would suggest adding the following line to the config\command.ini file under the [Secondary Window Settings] section
MessageLogWindow = 56|261|691|392

This will give the window a starting location.

(b) The other alternate is to edit command.ini and change the value under the [Game Preferences] section
MessageLogInWindow = False

This will start the game with attached, so when you detach it, the window position will be recorded in INI.

The reason why it is not handling a case of no 'window position -> use default' is being investigated.
Michael
Barleyman
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 10:19 am

RE: Build 1128.1 Persistent Spinning Globe

Post by Barleyman »

ORIGINAL: michaelm75au

The problem is that it is expecting a window position for the detached log.

(a) For now I would suggest adding the following line to the config\command.ini file under the [Secondary Window Settings] section
MessageLogWindow = 56|261|691|392

This will give the window a starting location.

Woo, I can play my game again [&o]
rmwilsonjr
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 1:17 am

RE: Build 1128.1 Persistent Spinning Globe

Post by rmwilsonjr »

Michael, I wish I knew what you said, but the only code I know is Morse. My workaround was just to shrink it to the size of a postage stamp and park it off to a corner of my screen. The Devs, god love ‘em, seemed to have conquered the problem in the latest build.
Richard
MaB1708
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 10:46 am
Location: Freiburg(Germany)

RE: Build 1128.1 Persistent Spinning Globe

Post by MaB1708 »

ORIGINAL: michaelm75au

The problem is that it is expecting a window position for the detached log.

(a) For now I would suggest adding the following line to the config\command.ini file under the [Secondary Window Settings] section
MessageLogWindow = 56|261|691|392

This will give the window a starting location.

(b) The other alternate is to edit command.ini and change the value under the [Game Preferences] section
MessageLogInWindow = False

This will start the game with attached, so when you detach it, the window position will be recorded in INI.

The reason why it is not handling a case of no 'window position -> use default' is being investigated.

Thank you, Michael, (a) did it for me after some fiddling on my own yesterday evening!
Cheers,
Martin
Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”