Not Responding

The sequel of the legendary wargame with a complete graphics and interface overhaul, major new gameplay and design features such as full naval combat modelling, improved supply handling, numerous increases to scenario parameters to better support large scenarios, and integrated PBEM++.
mamnich24
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 4:01 am

Not Responding

Post by mamnich24 »

Dear Guys,
Just downloaded and patched TOAW4. When I click on play game, the initial screen comes up, but when I try to click anything like file, sound, options it sits there and says it is not responding.
I'm using Windows 10. I installed in my d drive under programs files (x86) (basically kept folder string same, just used d drive at the beginning.
Suggestions?
Thanks,
Mike
User avatar
Shadrach
Posts: 727
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2001 8:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

RE: Not Responding

Post by Shadrach »

The install location shouldn't matter. But you could try to install to d:\games, as there's no need for the folder to be named the same.

First thing I'd try is turning off sound, if you are able to get to it at all that is.
Otherwise you could try the ini setting nosound=Y but I'm not sure this is the actual setting for turning off music/sound in-game.

You could also try running "Opart 4 - Slow.exe" instead.
Or try running it in compatibility mode for Win7.
OUW (Order of the Upgrade Wars)
Image
There are folks out there with way too much time on their hands.
- Norm Koger
User avatar
rhinobones
Posts: 1639
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2002 10:00 am

RE: Not Responding

Post by rhinobones »

ORIGINAL: Shadrach

You could also try running "Opart 4 - Slow.exe" instead.

“Opart 4 - Slow.exe” for playing solo against the computer works just fine, but be aware that you will have a compatibility problem if playing PBM against an opponent using "Opart 4.exe". My experience has been that "Opart 4 - Slow.exe" will not open PBL files created with "Opart 4.exe”.

Regards
Colin Wright:
Comprehensive Wishlist Forum #467 . . . The Norm (blessed be His name, genuflect three times and accept all values in the program as revealed truth)

Pre Combat Air Strikes # 64 . . . I need have no concern about keeping it civil
cathar1244
Posts: 1032
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 2:16 am

RE: Not Responding

Post by cathar1244 »

Shadrach,

I have the same issue.

The original 4.X.X.11 install works on my PC. The upgrade version locks up on the initial screen. Tried the slow version; no change. Tried Win7 compatibility; no change.

Cheers
cathar1244
Posts: 1032
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 2:16 am

RE: Not Responding

Post by cathar1244 »

Also noted the .40 program created a 0-byte Opart 4.ini file in the "My Games" directory. I copied over an older .ini file that worked with the .11 version, but the program still hangs upon startup.

Cheers
User avatar
Lobster
Posts: 5133
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 2:12 pm
Location: Third rock from the Sun.

RE: Not Responding

Post by Lobster »

Things like this happen when there are not enough testers. If the handful of testers have machines that do not have this same problem then it will not be caught. Just my 2 cents. Not that anyone asked. [;)]
http://www.operationbarbarossa.net/

Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity and I’m not sure about the universe-Einstein

Q: What do you call a boomerang that doesn’t come back?
A: A stick.
stransky43
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 4:59 pm

RE: Not Responding

Post by stransky43 »

Same problem here - game hangs on startup.

No issues prior to applying the latest patch, so something is not right with the patch.
User avatar
Shadrach
Posts: 727
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2001 8:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

RE: Not Responding

Post by Shadrach »

For the hang issue, if none of the fixes above work, report it to the Helpdesk:
https://www.matrixgames.com/member/helpdesk

Not sure how much good it will do but you are paying customers and entitled to technical support. At least it will make them aware of the issues...

I have tools on my machine to help me debug such hang situations, but it's not easy to explain the steps needed.
OUW (Order of the Upgrade Wars)
Image
There are folks out there with way too much time on their hands.
- Norm Koger
User avatar
Lobster
Posts: 5133
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 2:12 pm
Location: Third rock from the Sun.

RE: Not Responding

Post by Lobster »

ORIGINAL: stransky43

Same problem here - game hangs on startup.

No issues prior to applying the latest patch, so something is not right with the patch.

Just wondering. Did you guys install the game in the default directory or did you put it someplace else? I see the OP put it in a different directory, just wondering if all of you did.

You could also go through the drivers routine. Probably won't fix it but it won't hurt either.

The fact that many others have no problem with the software would indicate a possible machine specific problem so that's why people are urged to update their drivers.
http://www.operationbarbarossa.net/

Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity and I’m not sure about the universe-Einstein

Q: What do you call a boomerang that doesn’t come back?
A: A stick.
User avatar
Lobster
Posts: 5133
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 2:12 pm
Location: Third rock from the Sun.

RE: Not Responding

Post by Lobster »

ORIGINAL: mamnich24

Dear Guys,
Just downloaded and patched TOAW4. When I click on play game,

So when you say you click on Play Game you are talking about the game's launch application right? Because that's the only place where that phrase is used. Did you try going to the exe file in the TOAWIV folder and starting the game from there?
http://www.operationbarbarossa.net/

Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity and I’m not sure about the universe-Einstein

Q: What do you call a boomerang that doesn’t come back?
A: A stick.
cathar1244
Posts: 1032
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 2:16 am

RE: Not Responding

Post by cathar1244 »

Lobster, mine is installed in the default location.

Not sure about the drivers. If .11 runs without issue, what about .40 causes an issue? All other software on the laptop run fine; the laptop itself is about a year old.

Thought I would finally move up to the latest version. I guess not!

Cheers
cathar1244
Posts: 1032
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 2:16 am

RE: Not Responding

Post by cathar1244 »

Did you try going to the exe file in the TOAWIV folder and starting the game from there?

Hi Lobster,

I've tried both. The launcher application seems to work, has sound, etc. But when I launch the game from there, or directly run the exe file from the TOAW IV folder, it reaches the initial screen but never loads the first menu.

Cheers
cathar1244
Posts: 1032
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 2:16 am

RE: Not Responding

Post by cathar1244 »

Update 2. "Fix" was not complete. I have .40 TOAWIV running on my laptop, but it did not put the stock scenarios on the drive (I have an empty scenario directory in the user games area).

Update. Version .40 is now working on my laptop.

The "fix". I started the program and just let it cook. Something like 30 to 40 minutes later, it advanced to the next screen.

Now, it starts immediately without the lengthy delay.

Question: On first start, does it do something file-intensive, like unpacking compressed files or something similar?

For others experiencing the "hung screen", try letting it sit for a half hour or so and see if it does something.

Cheers
User avatar
Shadrach
Posts: 727
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2001 8:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

RE: Not Responding

Post by Shadrach »

Cathar: That's interesting. What I know is that on first run, the game will create the folder structure under Documents, as well as create the default ini files. It will also copy the Sound and My Fonts directories from the installation folder. So if you have a *really really really* slow harddrive it might take a bit. However, it would need to be like 1982-harddrive slow, or hosted on a slow-ass NAS/external drive [:'(]

My guess: Some security/AV software running on your system decided to scan all the files being copied. It really shouldn't take 30 minutes though... [&:]
OUW (Order of the Upgrade Wars)
Image
There are folks out there with way too much time on their hands.
- Norm Koger
User avatar
Lobster
Posts: 5133
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 2:12 pm
Location: Third rock from the Sun.

RE: Not Responding

Post by Lobster »

At least you got it through whatever bottle neck it had. It's like back in the day when FitE took forever to load.
http://www.operationbarbarossa.net/

Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity and I’m not sure about the universe-Einstein

Q: What do you call a boomerang that doesn’t come back?
A: A stick.
User avatar
zakblood
Posts: 22647
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 11:19 am

RE: Not Responding

Post by zakblood »

no issues

https://www.matrixgames.com/forums/tm.a ... =&#4742231

test finished, results posting asap
Windows 11 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 22000) (22000.co_release.210604-1628)
User avatar
zakblood
Posts: 22647
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 11:19 am

RE: Not Responding

Post by zakblood »

click shortcut to game loading less then a few seconds


Image
Attachments
1.jpg
1.jpg (552.03 KiB) Viewed 143 times
Windows 11 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 22000) (22000.co_release.210604-1628)
User avatar
zakblood
Posts: 22647
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 11:19 am

RE: Not Responding

Post by zakblood »

including time to make screenshot and post it


Image
Attachments
2.jpg
2.jpg (289.37 KiB) Viewed 144 times
Windows 11 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 22000) (22000.co_release.210604-1628)
User avatar
zakblood
Posts: 22647
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 11:19 am

RE: Not Responding

Post by zakblood »

opening and map game campaign less than a few seconds, including the time to make a screenshot, post it and upload it


Image
Attachments
3.jpg
3.jpg (828.49 KiB) Viewed 144 times
Windows 11 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 22000) (22000.co_release.210604-1628)
User avatar
zakblood
Posts: 22647
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 11:19 am

RE: Not Responding

Post by zakblood »

it's plain and simple, if it's slower for you, then yes hardware is an issue, or permissions etc, install as admin and run as admin, there are no permissions issue

laptops are slower, for a start they use 5400 speed hard drives, sometimes better, so depends on age,,,

then you have CPU, laptop, forget it, as running on batteries can be 4 times slower than the same speed desktop.

memory, normally again the cheapest of the cheap in laptops and most desktop unless gaming rigs.

add in to the equation than most of you load that much junk on startup your windows 10 install may take all day to load, lol, where as a good windows 10 install on a SSD will be less than 8 to 12 seconds from a cold boot on a desktop, on a fresh install, nothing but default running and installed...

errors that can be replicated can be fixed, errors which are your own, can only be sorted if you post in the tech report section, where as more details of your hardware will be asked, then advice given to a given setup will be received to make it run as good as your hardware and whatever software your using, as long as it doesn't conflict, which then options are uninstall it, or the game, as we can't re write your other programs for you to work with a game, same as drivers, if they work great, if they don't, same answer replies, add X to the power of 10 into the equation then any other program or driver could conflict, if it isn't a known one or your using something rare or odd, it happens, but nobody supports games better than this company, end of,...

simple questions to ask yourself if your having issues, when others aren't,...

how old is my windows installation?

1,2,3 or more years old?

so is it a clean install of windows, or a upgrade from etc?

your running windows 10, which version? are you using the latest? have you had it since day one, if so, then if your on the latest version, your already have had 4 previous versions of windows 10 installed already on your pc, the best advice to all this questions is, a clean install fixes almost anything.

i do a clean install of windows 10 every 3 to 4 months, reasons, are many, but most of all i run a lot of stuff, installing and removing, plain and simple, so it's easier to do a fresh install, which fixes any error i may have, than it is to post i have a error with a given XYZ and then find out it's at my end, scan every driver you have and have a link to there makers saved in your online browser account, so when you install windows, all your links are there and you can grab the latest, if you already haven't burnt the latest to disk or onto a thumb drive, you have your car serviced but you think your pc will be error free for every and a day with no handy work being done on your own?

life's not this simple


Image
Attachments
1.jpg
1.jpg (143.29 KiB) Viewed 143 times
Windows 11 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 22000) (22000.co_release.210604-1628)
Post Reply

Return to “The Operational Art of War IV”