Black tooltip boxes

Post bug reports and ask for game support here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Franciscus
Posts: 816
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:29 pm
Location: Portugal

Black tooltip boxes

Post by Franciscus »

Hi

Minor issue, but slightly irritating. Most of the time (but not always) when moving the mouse over a unit, hex or button, the tooltip first appears as a black rectangle, and only a few miliseconds later the text appears. This is inconstant and so quick that I cannot get a screenshot. But is distracting...

Changing tooltip time delays seems to make no difference...

release version and also with beta patch.

Below my dxdiag file


Regards
Attachments
DxDiag.txt
(28.93 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
Former AJE team member
User avatar
sandman2575
Posts: 311
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 1:02 pm

RE: Black tooltip boxes

Post by sandman2575 »

I'm noticing that Tool Tip Delay setting is not working as well. Whether you set it to default or 100, tooltips disappear after a few seconds. Would really like to have the last on screen longer.
Meyer1
Posts: 923
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 6:01 pm

RE: Black tooltip boxes

Post by Meyer1 »

ORIGINAL: sandman2575

I'm noticing that Tool Tip Delay setting is not working as well. Whether you set it to default or 100, tooltips disappear after a few seconds. Would really like to have the last on screen longer.
I need a complete restart of the game to make the tool tip hide new settings to stick. No restart needed for the tool tip show setting.

Franciscus: there are some cases such as yours and the devs are aware. It was posted many times here.
JPJ
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:03 am

RE: Black tooltip boxes

Post by JPJ »

Edit: same answer already posted by Meyer1, writing at the same time. Thanks!
ORIGINAL: sandman2575

I'm noticing that Tool Tip Delay setting is not working as well. Whether you set it to default or 100, tooltips disappear after a few seconds. Would really like to have the last on screen longer.

As for your issue, sandman2575, the Player options have two delay settings for tooltips: Show Delay & Hide Delay. A change in Hide Delay is applied after you restart TOAW. Please try restarting after you change the Hide Delay and see if that works?

Franciscus, your issue with delays may be a different one. I hope another person can help you with that.


Image
Attachments
PlayerOpti..Settings.jpg
PlayerOpti..Settings.jpg (47.77 KiB) Viewed 2 times
User avatar
Franciscus
Posts: 816
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:29 pm
Location: Portugal

RE: Black tooltip boxes

Post by Franciscus »

Thank you, gents, for your attention.

Rereading what I posted I see that some may have misunderstood my problem...

What I mean by "Changing tooltip time delays seems to make no difference..." is that the black tooltip boxes appear in my game no matter what settings I chose for Tool Tip Show or hide time. Except of course if I set the tooltip to not appear at all (100000msec) [:)]

I think my issue is a graphical glitch.


Regards
Former AJE team member
User avatar
Franciscus
Posts: 816
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:29 pm
Location: Portugal

RE: Black tooltip boxes

Post by Franciscus »

I have found a way to get a printscreen of my problem, although I managed to recreate it in other way (meaning that I probably have two issues [8D])

I am playing first turn of Klink's 41 tutorial, and I have set up my attack. When I right click anywhere in the map, instead of the normal terrain tooltip, I get a black rectangle like this.

Image

In my PC this is reproductible. My original report was that similar black boxes sometimes appear briefly before a tooltip appears, just hovering the mouse anywhere.

Maybe this (pic above) is a different issue, but the graphical aspect is the same

Regards

Attachments
blacktooltip.jpg
blacktooltip.jpg (211.48 KiB) Viewed 2 times
Former AJE team member
Splatsch
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 11:03 pm
Location: France

RE: Black tooltip boxes

Post by Splatsch »

ORIGINAL: Franciscus
Minor issue, but slightly irritating. Most of the time (but not always) when moving the mouse over a unit, hex or button, the tooltip first appears as a black rectangle, and only a few miliseconds later the text appears.
I have the same issue.

I talked about the other same issue that you show in your screenshot here. I can't remember in which thread (I reported several minor graphical glitches in several threads), but I learned that if you want, you can put the tooltip in one corner of the screen : see chapter 19.10 of the manual ("Opart4.ini File"), you can change the toolTipPosition value : for top-left of the screen it's 0. It's less annoying than in center of screen :) Hope this helps a little !

Edit : I found where it was, it was in the thread I linked, several posts later.
User avatar
Franciscus
Posts: 816
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:29 pm
Location: Portugal

RE: Black tooltip boxes

Post by Franciscus »

ORIGINAL: Splatsch
ORIGINAL: Franciscus
Minor issue, but slightly irritating. Most of the time (but not always) when moving the mouse over a unit, hex or button, the tooltip first appears as a black rectangle, and only a few miliseconds later the text appears.
I have the same issue.

I talked about the other same issue that you show in your screenshot here. I can't remember in which thread (I reported several minor graphical glitches in several threads), but I learned that if you want, you can put the tooltip in one corner of the screen : see chapter 19.10 of the manual ("Opart4.ini File"), you can change the toolTipPosition value : for top-left of the screen it's 0. It's less annoying than in center of screen :) Hope this helps a little !

Many thanks Splatsch !
Former AJE team member
Splatsch
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 11:03 pm
Location: France

RE: Black tooltip boxes

Post by Splatsch »

ORIGINAL: Franciscus

Many thanks Splatsch !
You're welcome [;)]
User avatar
Franciscus
Posts: 816
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:29 pm
Location: Portugal

RE: Black tooltip boxes

Post by Franciscus »

Hi

I also found out that the issue with the black tooltip box when right clicking (pic above) seems to disappear or at least go almost unnoticed with these settings (in Player Options):

- Tool Tip Show: 1000 msec
- Tool Tip Hide: 3
- Menu Show Delay: 5


Regards
Former AJE team member
Splatsch
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 11:03 pm
Location: France

RE: Black tooltip boxes

Post by Splatsch »

ORIGINAL: Franciscus

Hi

I also found out that the issue with the black tooltip box when right clicking (pic above) seems to disappear or at least go almost unnoticed with these settings (in Player Options):

- Tool Tip Show: 1000 msec
- Tool Tip Hide: 3
- Menu Show Delay: 5


Regards
Hi again [:)]
Ah, not for me unfortunately :/
But thank you very much for the trick :)
User avatar
Moltke71
Posts: 1246
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2000 3:00 pm

RE: Black tooltip boxes

Post by Moltke71 »

The solution is to use Classic options.
Jim Cobb
User avatar
Franciscus
Posts: 816
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:29 pm
Location: Portugal

RE: Black tooltip boxes

Post by Franciscus »

ORIGINAL: Moltke71

The solution is to use Classic options.

Yes...but that in practice disables the tooltips...
Former AJE team member
Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”