Problem with auto-investigating ruins....

Distant Worlds is a vast, pausable real-time, 4X space strategy game which models a "living galaxy" with incredible options for replayability and customizability. Experience the full depth and detail of large turn-based strategy games, but with the simplicity and ease of real-time, and on the scale of a massively-multiplayer online game. Now greatly enhanced with the new Universe release, which includes all four previous releases as well as the new Universe expansion!

Moderators: Icemania, elliotg

Post Reply
SeanThornton
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 3:45 pm

Problem with auto-investigating ruins....

Post by SeanThornton »

Not sure if auto-investigating is the right term, but I'm talking about when an exploration ship finds some ruins (the three dots in a triangle symbol on the map). I started the game following the New Guys Newbie Guide, which turns off ALL automation, except this one setting. However, I just noticed that there were three systems with ruins which had not been auto-investigated. "Were", because right after I noticed, the third one was investigated, since the exploration ship was still in that system. Strangely, even though I have seven exploration ships, the only ruins on my map are in systems all explored by this same ship. So, any idea why the other two were not auto-investigated?

Thanks :)
Aeson
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 7:36 pm

RE: Problem with auto-investigating ruins....

Post by Aeson »

Exploration ships have a tendency to ignore ruins on worlds whose resources have already been profiled in favor of surveying unexplored worlds. Upgrading your resource profile scanners and acquiring system maps by trading for or stealing galaxy maps, by purchasing system maps from pirates, or through the system maps ruin event will allow you to acquire survey data for a world without an exploration ship necessarily coming close enough to the world to explore any ruins which may be present. It is also possible that a bug or glitch prevented the investigation trigger from being tripped by your exploration ship.
stuart3
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2014 5:09 pm

RE: Problem with auto-investigating ruins....

Post by stuart3 »

"Exploration ships chart unknown areas of the galaxy. As they explore they reveal colonizable planets, uncover valuable resources and make contact with other empires. These ships have powerful resource detection sensors for discovering valuable minerals." - The Galactopedia.

This sums up all that an automated exploration ship will attempt to find in a system. Occasionally it's path will pass close enough to something else of interest for it to be to noticed, and you will get a message to that effect, but more often it will simply identify the geological resources and move on. It's not just ruins that won't be reported in that case. It also won't report abandoned ships and bases, debris fields, and ships or mining stations belonging to known AI controlled factions or pirates. And unlike the ruins, these items will not be visible if you inspect the system after your ship has left it.

I usually send my explorers to an unknown system with orders to explore that system only, which means that it ends it's mission there and I then give the system a quick once over before ordering the exploration ship to explore another system. This also lets me send my explorers on a reasonably efficient pattern of exploration rather than let the AI send them out on an inefficient zigzag path which it does if the explorers are automated.
SeanThornton
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 3:45 pm

RE: Problem with auto-investigating ruins....

Post by SeanThornton »

OK, thanks for the help. In regards to Stuart's response, if that's the case, then why have the setting to tell it to investigate ruins and report? Is it just bugged?
stuart3
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2014 5:09 pm

RE: Problem with auto-investigating ruins....

Post by stuart3 »

No, it's not bugged. It's just that explorers are designed to explore specifically for mineral and luxury resources. See the Galactopedia entry above. There is no mention of ruins in that. Explorers are not programmed to investigate ruins or ships. Any kind of ship will give you the same results as explorers with regard to ruins or ships. Or the same lack of results if they don't pass close enough to them. Even private sector ships will discover ruins occasionally, but you can't tell them where to go.
User avatar
Shark7
Posts: 7937
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 4:11 pm
Location: The Big Nowhere

RE: Problem with auto-investigating ruins....

Post by Shark7 »

One other thing to keep in mind is that Exploration ships run at the first sign of trouble. Meaning they may move into a system, find a pirate or space monster there and quickly leave the system. This opens the system so you can see everything there, but since the Exploration Ship left in a hurry, the stuff didn't actually get explored.
Distant Worlds Fan

'When in doubt...attack!'
User avatar
Kayoz
Posts: 1516
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 10:55 pm
Location: Timbuktu
Contact:

RE: Problem with auto-investigating ruins....

Post by Kayoz »

ORIGINAL: Shark7

One other thing to keep in mind is that Exploration ships run at the first sign of trouble. Meaning they may move into a system, find a pirate or space monster there and quickly leave the system. This opens the system so you can see everything there, but since the Exploration Ship left in a hurry, the stuff didn't actually get explored.

Actually, it sounds like a VERY old bug that had the explorers scan a planet for resources but leave before exploring ruins. iirc, Elliot reduced the radius of the ruins scanning collider. If it is the same bug, there's nothing the player can do to prevent it. And going back to those unexplored ruins is tedious in the extreme.
“That which can be asserted without evidence, can be dismissed without evidence.” ― Christopher Hitchens
User avatar
Hattori Hanzo
Posts: 734
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 12:40 pm
Location: Okinawa
Contact:

RE: Problem with auto-investigating ruins....

Post by Hattori Hanzo »

again, it's not a bug: the explorers are designed to explore specifically for mineral and luxury resources.

from Galactopedia:

"Exploration ships chart unknown areas of the galaxy. As they explore they reveal colonizable planets, uncover valuable resources and make contact with other empires. These ships have powerful resource detection sensors for discovering valuable minerals."
stuart3
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2014 5:09 pm

RE: Problem with auto-investigating ruins....

Post by stuart3 »

The only thing that automated exploration ships do in a system that other ships don't do is to move around the system scanning the planets and asteroids with their resource sensors. If this results in them passing close enough to a ruin then you will be invited to investigate it. If they don't pass close to the ruin then that doesn't happen. As you research improvements to the Resource Profile Sensor, they identify the resources from further away. By the time you have researched Advance Resource Exploration (only the second improvement) the scanning range is so large that in all but the largest star systems explorers can identify resources from the middle of the system, which means that they don't pass close to any planet whether it has ruins or not.

The idea of explorers automatically closing in on planets with ruins may seem a good idea in the early game, but you won't want your explorers to automatically do it later in the game when some ruins are found to be patrolled by powerful pirate forces. In that situation it would become an automatic explorer suicide mission.
User avatar
SirHoraceHarkness
Posts: 511
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 5:29 pm

RE: Problem with auto-investigating ruins....

Post by SirHoraceHarkness »

Upgrading the scanner range will solve most of this as it will have a larger trigger radius so it can detect more stuff as it goes along its way. So if a planet has other items to detect they will usually fall into its detection range as it approaches. I think the default range is tiny so that might be the issue.
Intel i5 10600k oc@5.2 - 32gb Crucial Ballistix 3600 DDR4 CL16 - EVGA RTX 3080 12gb FTW3 - MSI Z490 A-PRO Mobo
User avatar
Hattori Hanzo
Posts: 734
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 12:40 pm
Location: Okinawa
Contact:

RE: Problem with auto-investigating ruins....

Post by Hattori Hanzo »

ORIGINAL: SirHoraceHarkness

Upgrading the scanner range will solve most of this as it will have a larger trigger radius so it can detect more stuff as it goes along its way. So if a planet has other items to detect they will usually fall into its detection range as it approaches. I think the default range is tiny so that might be the issue.

with the "scanner range" did you refer to the range of the "Proximity Arrays" of the explorating ships ?
SeanThornton
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 3:45 pm

RE: Problem with auto-investigating ruins....

Post by SeanThornton »

Since I can't rely on the ship to auto-investigate the ruins, I've stopped queuing up systems to explore, and just do them one at a time. Then, when I get prompted to go and give the ship a new mission, if I see a ruin in the current system, I make sure it's investigated before moving on.
User avatar
Hattori Hanzo
Posts: 734
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 12:40 pm
Location: Okinawa
Contact:

RE: Problem with auto-investigating ruins....

Post by Hattori Hanzo »

exactly as I do [8D]
Post Reply

Return to “Distant Worlds 1 Series”