supply

Fury Games has now signed with Matrix Games, and we are working together on the next Strategic Command. Will use the Slitherine PBEM++ server for asynchronous multi-player.

Moderators: MOD_Strategic_Command_3, Fury Software

Post Reply
panzers
Posts: 635
Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 7:26 pm
Location: Detroit Mi, USA

supply

Post by panzers »

I'm in Russia and a lot of my units are in very limited supply, furthermore, many of them are not under any command.
Is there a way to fix this? I'm sure there are plenty of availavle space for my units to be under command.
Do I have to keep buying HQ's?
The Land
Posts: 911
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 4:58 pm

RE: supply

Post by The Land »

Supply radiates from HQs - an HQ can supply any number of units, you don't need to assign the unit to the HQ to get the supply (only the combat bonus). It's also important that the HQ itself is a) in reasonable supply (preferably Supply 5 or more) and b) at full strength.

Only a certain number of units can be under the command of an HQ and they have to be nearby - both values depend on your Command and Control tech.

After all of that, yes, build more HQs.



1985 Red Storm mod - Beta testing!

Always wanted to play a "Cold War goes hot" scenario? Come and join in!
User avatar
rjh1971
Posts: 4946
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

RE: supply

Post by rjh1971 »

Use hockey s too view the supply overlay and the prognosis for the next turn, depending on where you have moved your HQ and cities you may have conquered. This can give you a good idea about you logistics and where you need to move your HQ.
Image
GG's AWD, GG's WBTS, GG's WitE Beta Tester
Beta Tester: Panzer Corps, Time of Fury, CtGW, DC CB, DC3 Barbarossa, SC WWII WiE, SC WWII WaW, SC WWI
User avatar
Hairog
Posts: 1587
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Cornucopia, WI

RE: supply

Post by Hairog »

There is a very good article about how supply works on

Wargamer- here

Explains a lot.
WW III 1946 Books
SC3 EAW WW Three 1946 Mod and Naval Mods
WarPlan and WarPlan Pac Alpha and Be
James Taylor
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 10:00 am
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Contact:

RE: supply

Post by James Taylor »

Is it just me or is anyone else having trouble recognizing mud conditions?

I'm not seeing darkening of the tiles and no text in the terrain picture in the lower left of the screen.

My only option is to note a pre-move AP requirement in clear terrain.
SeaMonkey
n0kn0k
Posts: 489
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 10:59 pm

RE: supply

Post by n0kn0k »

ORIGINAL: James Taylor

Is it just me or is anyone else having trouble recognizing mud conditions?

I'm not seeing darkening of the tiles and no text in the terrain picture in the lower left of the screen.

My only option is to note a pre-move AP requirement in clear terrain.

Try to disable National colors. It's alot more clear then.
James Taylor
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 10:00 am
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Contact:

RE: supply

Post by James Taylor »

Having more issues in USSR.

Supply overlay says 6, 7, and the HQ next to units in clear terrain, no mud, is at 8, but in actuality the unit screen shows 3, 4.

There are things like this constantly, as well as HQs being non-supportive within 2 hexes of each other both showing 8 supply.

Sometimes they're 8 and sometimes 10.
SeaMonkey
Malor
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 4:58 pm

RE: supply

Post by Malor »

Mud is very difficult to see on the map. I spent two turns in my first game attempting to determine why my supply was reduced. Finally noticed the change in shade on the map.

It would be nice if mud, snow, blizzard and any other conditions display each turn in the hex overview like storms/calm do at sea. At least when I can't see the storm color change, I can glance at the hex info and figure out why my planes won't fly.

The option to turn off national colors does work, but the game should not require one to turn off one feature to see a basic game feature like weather.

This is something I'm hoping is modified in a future patch.

Malor
Meyer1
Posts: 925
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 6:01 pm

RE: supply

Post by Meyer1 »

ORIGINAL: Malor

Mud is very difficult to see on the map. I spent two turns in my first game attempting to determine why my supply was reduced. Finally noticed the change in shade on the map.

It would be nice if mud, snow, blizzard and any other conditions display each turn in the hex overview like storms/calm do at sea. At least when I can't see the storm color change, I can glance at the hex info and figure out why my planes won't fly.

The option to turn off national colors does work, but the game should not require one to turn off one feature to see a basic game feature like weather.

This is something I'm hoping is modified in a future patch.

Malor

You are correct, but I'm just gonna say that I hated the map color at first, liked the "national colors" a little better and was waiting for a mod... but eventually I became use to the default color, and I love it now. So maybe you could give it a second chance [:)]
Post Reply

Return to “Strategic Command WWII War in Europe”