[Help] How to inhibit automatic re-targeting?

Post bug reports and ask for game support here.

Moderator: MOD_Command

Post Reply
lzbuy
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:08 am

[Help] How to inhibit automatic re-targeting?

Post by lzbuy »

Use scenario "Spratly Spat" as an example. I got the following problems.
1. The "Targeting Vector" system update the target list without "Range" parameter. The target very far from unit (far beyond the weapon range) will add to target list.
2. The system will re-update target list while I "drop all target" manually. (As pic show, I drop all target on "Fiery Cross Reef", seconds later, the targeting vector will come back)
3. Without "Range" parameter, some aircraft will intercept target at Spratly Spat which I assign it to patrol at Vietnam northern coast line. I can not hold the aircraft for patrolling.

The only way to partially resolve this problem is uncheck "Investigate contacts outside the patrol area".
But how to control target list of which unit not assigned to a mission?

Would developer show me the logic of targeting system?

Thanks!
Attachments
screenshot.jpg
screenshot.jpg (763.03 KiB) Viewed 11 times
thewood1
Posts: 6886
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 6:24 pm

RE: [Help] How to inhibit automatic re-targeting?

Post by thewood1 »

Are you familiar with the WRA feature?
You are like puss filled boil on nice of ass of bikini model. You are nasty to everybody but then try to sweeten things up with a nice post somewhere else. That's nice but you're still a boil on a beautiful thing! - BDukes
lzbuy
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:08 am

RE: [Help] How to inhibit automatic re-targeting?

Post by lzbuy »

The problem is not about weapon release. Not the case of multiple units engaging the same target.

Assume a scenario.
1. I assign an unit to patrol the north wing.
2. There is a hostile unit at 400nm south from the north wing. (beyond the weapon range, but maybe in fuel range)
3. The unit will auto engage the hostile unit which is patrol the north.

Question is, I dropped target for the unit, but CMANO will add the hostile to the unit targeting vector seconds later. how to prevent it?

thewood1
Posts: 6886
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 6:24 pm

RE: [Help] How to inhibit automatic re-targeting?

Post by thewood1 »

OK, if its not intercepting it, why do care if its on a target list?
You are like puss filled boil on nice of ass of bikini model. You are nasty to everybody but then try to sweeten things up with a nice post somewhere else. That's nice but you're still a boil on a beautiful thing! - BDukes
User avatar
Randomizer
Posts: 1447
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 8:31 pm

RE: [Help] How to inhibit automatic re-targeting?

Post by Randomizer »

Is your doctrine set to Engage Opportunity Targets? If so, try unchecking that option.

-C
lzbuy
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:08 am

RE: [Help] How to inhibit automatic re-targeting?

Post by lzbuy »

[&:] The aircraft while patrolling will intercept the target far beyond weapon range. That is trouble me.
ORIGINAL: thewood1

OK, if its not intercepting it, why do care if its on a target list?
lzbuy
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:08 am

RE: [Help] How to inhibit automatic re-targeting?

Post by lzbuy »

The default Engage Opportunity Setting is "No, engage mission-specific only".

It have the same problem either Engage Opportunity Setting is No or Yes.
ORIGINAL: Randomizer

Is your doctrine set to Engage Opportunity Targets? If so, try unchecking that option.

-C
User avatar
michaelm75au
Posts: 11889
Joined: Sat May 05, 2001 8:00 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

RE: [Help] How to inhibit automatic re-targeting?

Post by michaelm75au »

The solution is to put a persecution zone around your patrol area- the second tab next to the patrol zone on the mission. Only targets within this zone will be chased.
Michael
Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”