Turkish Coup Events

Take command of air and naval assets from post-WW2 to the near future in tactical and operational scale, complete with historical and hypothetical scenarios and an integrated scenario editor.

Moderator: MOD_Command

Post Reply
DWReese
Posts: 1879
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 11:40 am
Location: Miami, Florida

Turkish Coup Events

Post by DWReese »

http://www.businessinsider.com/air-ops- ... ?r=UK&IR=T

This link provides valuable information if someone wanted to recreate a Live Episode. It is very detailed. I think that you will like it.

Doug
User avatar
Dysta
Posts: 1909
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 9:32 pm

RE: Turkish Coup Events

Post by Dysta »

So that means the Air Force might 'rule' the land, if the AAM targeting the president/dictator's plane has been launched. For some reason he goes loyal and disengaged. Besides, the coup forces are surprisingly taking serious resistance from Turkish police forces.

I must say it's an extremely close shave. And with that news, it can be a premature operation, so it is scenario worthy.
User avatar
Anathema
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 8:51 pm
Location: Australia

RE: Turkish Coup Events

Post by Anathema »

Apparently the Turkish President's plane switched transponder codes at the last minute to one used by an airline so the pilots could no longer distinguish it from other commercial air traffic in the area and they didn't want to risk shooting down an airliner, before another pair of F-16s sent to protect the president's aircraft showed up, tried to engage them and eventually scared them off.

http://www.news.com.au/world/turkeys-president-erdogans-aircraft-was-being-tracked-by-rebel-f16-fighter-jets-when-it-vanished/news-story/6f5da655efda23dd438fb7f73da6956f
User avatar
Dysta
Posts: 1909
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 9:32 pm

RE: Turkish Coup Events

Post by Dysta »

Transponder? Does CMANO have the feature to change the AI unit's name in a middle of running scenario?
Nightwatch
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 6:45 am

RE: Turkish Coup Events

Post by Nightwatch »

Dont think so.
Only thing i can think of is a Lua script deleting the unit and adding it again with a different name (and adding it to whatever mission as well).
The problem is to have the new unit appear at the exact position of the old one. I dont think there is a Lua query to get the exact position of a unit.
This means the unit you want to rename would need to fly on a preset fixed flight path to make it believable.

User avatar
Gunner98
Posts: 5509
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 12:49 am
Location: The Great White North!
Contact:

RE: Turkish Coup Events

Post by Gunner98 »

Best way to do that is to have the unit change sides to one that is neutral - this way your not touching the units location etc but you are changing the ability of the player to engage it.

Not sure there is enough meat on this for a full scenario though...

B
Check out our novel, Northern Fury: H-Hour!: http://northernfury.us/
And our blog: http://northernfury.us/blog/post2/
Twitter: @NorthernFury94 or Facebook https://www.facebook.com/northernfury/
Skjold
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 12:00 pm

RE: Turkish Coup Events

Post by Skjold »

Dysta, many aspects of the Turkish police resembles a para-miltary force. It has been in Erdogans interest to keep a well armed police force as the Police is a direct sub-ordinate to the goverment, while the Army adheres to the people and the secular values of Ataturk, not the goverment per say.
User avatar
Dysta
Posts: 1909
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 9:32 pm

RE: Turkish Coup Events

Post by Dysta »

ORIGINAL: Skjold

Dysta, many aspects of the Turkish police resembles a para-miltary force. It has been in Erdogans interest to keep a well armed police force as the Police is a direct sub-ordinate to the goverment, while the Army adheres to the people and the secular values of Ataturk, not the goverment per say.
Even not, the word 'police' is the downright definition of authority.

What surprised me is they really doing it accordingly, and doesn't flinch when flying war machines shooting and bombing them. It was this coup made them stars, than typical US National Guard and Chinese Armed Police forces.

mikmykWS
Posts: 7185
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 4:34 pm

RE: Turkish Coup Events

Post by mikmykWS »

ORIGINAL: Dysta

Transponder? Does CMANO have the feature to change the AI unit's name in a middle of running scenario?

Sure. Baloogan and CK posted some functional examples here

Here's the code you're looking for though.
ScenEdit_SetUnit({side="United States", name="USS Test", newname="USS Dysta"})
mikmykWS
Posts: 7185
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 4:34 pm

RE: Turkish Coup Events

Post by mikmykWS »

ORIGINAL: Nightwatch

Dont think so.
Only thing i can think of is a Lua script deleting the unit and adding it again with a different name (and adding it to whatever mission as well).
The problem is to have the new unit appear at the exact position of the old one. I dont think there is a Lua query to get the exact position of a unit.
This means the unit you want to rename would need to fly on a preset fixed flight path to make it believable.

a=ScenEdit_GetUnit({side="Navy", name="Boat"})
print(a.latitude)
print(a.longitude)
User avatar
Dysta
Posts: 1909
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 9:32 pm

RE: Turkish Coup Events

Post by Dysta »

ORIGINAL: mikmyk

Sure. Baloogan and CK posted some functional examples here

Here's the code you're looking for though.
ScenEdit_SetUnit({side="United States", name="USS Test", newname="USS Dysta"})

Choo-choo! Woops.

Anyway, thanks for the code! [:)]
Post Reply

Return to “Command: Modern Operations series”