Question about supply

John Tiller's Campaign Series exemplifies tactical war-gaming at its finest by bringing you the entire collection of TalonSoft's award-winning campaign series. Containing TalonSoft's West Front, East Front, and Rising Sun platoon-level combat series, as well as all of the official add-ons and expansion packs, the Matrix Edition allows players to dictate the events of World War II from the tumultuous beginning to its climatic conclusion. We are working together with original programmer John Tiller to bring you this updated edition.

Moderators: Jason Petho, Peter Fisla, asiaticus, dogovich

Post Reply
gtrpastor
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 1:56 am

Question about supply

Post by gtrpastor »

I keep getting messages about HQs unable to provide supply.

I read about supply in the manual, and about using the HQs to provide it to units. I understand how to view the range of supply for the HQ. However, I'm still not sure about how to tell which HQ is the parent for which unit, and how to make sure that all my units are properly supplied.

I think that I am spreading out my units too much, and am sometimes sending units attached to one HQ off to fight with units attached to another HQ. But, again, how does one know?
User avatar
Jason Petho
Posts: 15322
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:31 am
Location: Terrace, BC, Canada
Contact:

RE: Question about supply

Post by Jason Petho »

Excellent question.

Supply is both rather simple, but equally complex at the same time.

You can tell which of your units are being supplied by each Headquarters by selecting the headquarters and pressing Z on the keyboard or the "Highlight Organizations" button. Everything highlighted will be subordinate to that Headquarters.

One significant rule you should be aware of is that if you move a headquarters, it will be unable to provide supply for the following turn (or more).

Another, is that each country has unique supply abilities. Some, like the Germans in 1941, have an extended 50% range, while others have a reduced range.

I recommend leapfrogging your headquarters, so that your troops are always in relative supply.

If you send your troops outside of the general range for supply, they will rarely regain it.
gtrpastor
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 1:56 am

RE: Question about supply

Post by gtrpastor »

Thanks for the info and advice Jason.

I also figured out that if I click on a unit and highlight headquarters that will show me my HQ. And I also found the "highlight organization" command and the organization dialog. I just needed to experiment more.

Up until now I've been playing without concern for supply. It's amazing I've been able to fight at all!
User avatar
Jason Petho
Posts: 15322
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:31 am
Location: Terrace, BC, Canada
Contact:

RE: Question about supply

Post by Jason Petho »

Hahaha.. it is!! You should notice a significant improvement in the quality of your troops when you keep them supplied!
gtrpastor
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 1:56 am

RE: Question about supply

Post by gtrpastor »

It's working! Played without any "HQ cannot supply" messages (with the exception of when I had to move the HQ).
User avatar
Jason Petho
Posts: 15322
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:31 am
Location: Terrace, BC, Canada
Contact:

RE: Question about supply

Post by Jason Petho »

Woo hoo! That's awesome news! Congratulations!
User avatar
Citizen Emperor
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 6:19 am
Location: Memphis

RE: Question about supply

Post by Citizen Emperor »

You can tell which of your units are being supplied by each Headquarters by selecting the headquarters and pressing Z on the keyboard or the "Highlight Organizations" button. Everything highlighted will be subordinate to that Headquarters.
And there is also the "W" key -- once you've selected a headquarters -- to view the "Command & Control Radius" of that HQ.

If the HQ hasn't moved, subordinate troops within that radius will have a much better chance of retaining/gaining supply.

The size of the Command & Control radius depends on nationality and year... For Russians in 1941, it sucks! (Thus the game does a good job modeling the severe C&C problems the Soviets experienced during Barbarossa -- lack of radios, rigid doctrine, etc.) For the Germans, C&C Radius is excellent at war's start but steadily degrades as the war drags on.
"A soldier will fight long and hard for a bit of colored ribbon."
User avatar
Bigeard
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Cambridge U.K.

RE: Question about supply

Post by Bigeard »

ORIGINAL: Jason Petho

If you send your troops outside of the general range for supply, they will rarely regain it.

Even if they come back into supply range ?
Regards

Paul Kirkland
User avatar
Crossroads
Posts: 17420
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 8:57 am

RE: Question about supply

Post by Crossroads »

ORIGINAL: Bigeard

ORIGINAL: Jason Petho

If you send your troops outside of the general range for supply, they will rarely regain it.

Even if they come back into supply range ?

Yes, then they will likely regain their supply.
Visit us at: Campaign Series Legion
---
CS: Vietnam 1948-1967 < Available now
CS: Middle East 1948-1985 2.0 < 3.0 In the works
Post Reply

Return to “John Tiller's Campaign Series”