Covered arc

Post bug reports and ask for game support here.

Moderators: Paullus, Peter Fisla

Post Reply
User avatar
fran52
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 10:18 am
Location: Italy

Covered arc

Post by fran52 »

This is a defect of the game or i have understood nothing?
When you do a scenario there is no way to adjust the covered arc of the placed units.This prevents to do a good defensive placement of the AI units(AFV and Gun).
Is so or there is a way not discoverd by me?
Paullus
Posts: 1074
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 1:41 am
Location: Sweden

RE: Covered arc

Post by Paullus »

There is two ways

1. If you place the unit on the map you select the hex. Then select the vehicle in the bottom left box and then click on the covered a3c buttons to the right of the box.

2. If you place a Setup Zone you then place the object Covered Arc as well in that hex and chose the direction in 5he pop up window that appear when you place the covered arc object
For my part, I shall do my duty as a general; I shall see to it that you are given the chance of a successful action. /Lucius Aemilius Paullus
User avatar
UP844
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 9:10 pm
Location: Genoa, Republic of Genoa (occupied by Italy)

RE: Covered arc

Post by UP844 »

Unfortunately, the covered arc buttons share the same location of the "Remove unit" button, so the latter is shown first. Leave the mouse pointer over "Remove Unit" and after a few seconds it will - hopefully [:D] - disappear, giving you access to the CA buttons. I have already reported this "bug" to Peter.

Chasing Germans in the moonlight is no mean sport

Siegfried Sassoon

Long Range Fire (A7.22)........1/2 FP
User avatar
fran52
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 10:18 am
Location: Italy

RE: Covered arc

Post by fran52 »

There is two ways

1. If you place the unit on the map you select the hex. Then select the vehicle in the bottom left box and then click on the covered a3c buttons to the right of the box.

2. If you place a Setup Zone you then place the object Covered Arc as well in that hex and chose the direction in 5he pop up window that appear when you place the covered arc object

Not clear.I speak about a scenario with the units placed on map in free zone and in the editor.
There are no button for the covered arc.If this units are in defence and under PC control(AI),the
pre game setup is done by the PC without possibilty to correct the arc.The only way is to play human vs human ,but is not my project.
User avatar
Peter Fisla
Posts: 2501
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2001 8:00 am
Location: Canada

RE: Covered arc

Post by Peter Fisla »

ORIGINAL: acropora
There is two ways

1. If you place the unit on the map you select the hex. Then select the vehicle in the bottom left box and then click on the covered a3c buttons to the right of the box.

2. If you place a Setup Zone you then place the object Covered Arc as well in that hex and chose the direction in 5he pop up window that appear when you place the covered arc object

Not clear.I speak about a scenario with the units placed on map in free zone and in the editor.
There are no button for the covered arc.If this units are in defence and under PC control(AI),the
pre game setup is done by the PC without possibilty to correct the arc.The only way is to play human vs human ,but is not my project.

If you want a vehicle to face at certain direction when it is placed on a hex, you need to place the covered arc object in that hex. Please see bottom part of the page 41 of the manual.

If you place a vehicle on the map in the editor then click on the hex with vehicle, next to the unit control panel on the bottom part of the screen, are both hull and turret covered arc buttons. You select the vehicle in the control panel and then you click on the desired covered arc buttons.
User avatar
DoubleDeuce
Posts: 1235
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Crossville, TN
Contact:

RE: Covered arc

Post by DoubleDeuce »

acropora, if I understand correctly I am seeing the same thing. When you place a unit in the editor, it defaults pointing to the upper right. Even if you deploy the unit (free placement), adjust the HCA, remove the unit from the map, set to a deploy zone, save and then open the scenario to play, the AI deploys all vehicles back in the upper right Hull covered arc? Depending on the enemy force location, all AI in the defense vehicles can get deployed facing the opposite direction when they arrive??

EDIT: OK, I got it now Peter, that didn't click earlier when I was reading the manual but it does now. Thanks!
User avatar
fran52
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 10:18 am
Location: Italy

RE: Covered arc

Post by fran52 »

Yes is so.I have not found a method to adjust HCA in the editor and ,in this way,a gun remain unused because don't change the CA if a enemy approach the position.
User avatar
fran52
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 10:18 am
Location: Italy

RE: Covered arc

Post by fran52 »

If you want a vehicle to face at certain direction when it is placed on a hex, you need to place the covered arc object in that hex. Please see bottom part of the page 41 of the manual.

If you place a vehicle on the map in the editor then click on the hex with vehicle, next to the unit control panel on the bottom part of the screen, are both hull and turret covered arc buttons. You select the vehicle in the control panel and then you click on the desired covered arc buttons.
I have found the problem.I use 1024 X 768 and ,with this resolution, the HCA button are not visible!
I don't know where they are.The problem,for me,is that if i use other possible resolution the immagines are streched because all the screen is used instead of 3/4.Anyway I can program my scenario with other resolutions and than play with the usual.
So the defect,if we can use this word,is in the 1024X768 not well supported.
User avatar
Peter Fisla
Posts: 2501
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2001 8:00 am
Location: Canada

RE: Covered arc

Post by Peter Fisla »

ORIGINAL: acropora
If you want a vehicle to face at certain direction when it is placed on a hex, you need to place the covered arc object in that hex. Please see bottom part of the page 41 of the manual.

If you place a vehicle on the map in the editor then click on the hex with vehicle, next to the unit control panel on the bottom part of the screen, are both hull and turret covered arc buttons. You select the vehicle in the control panel and then you click on the desired covered arc buttons.
I have found the problem.I use 1024 X 768 and ,with this resolution, the HCA button are not visible!
I don't know where they are.The problem,for me,is that if i use other possible resolution the immagines are streched because all the screen is used instead of 3/4.Anyway I can program my scenario with other resolutions and than play with the usual.
So the defect,if we can use this word,is in the 1024X768 not well supported.


Correct, I will fix the 1024x768 resolution issue with the CA buttons not being visible in the editor in the upcoming game update.
User avatar
Peter Fisla
Posts: 2501
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2001 8:00 am
Location: Canada

RE: Covered arc

Post by Peter Fisla »

I have fixed the 1024x768 resolution issue in the editor, the covered arc buttons are now visible for that resolution. See the screenshot below:



Thanks

Peter

Image
Attachments
1024x768.jpg
1024x768.jpg (358.99 KiB) Viewed 13 times
User avatar
fran52
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 10:18 am
Location: Italy

RE: Covered arc

Post by fran52 »

Perfect,thank you Peter.When you release this new feature?
User avatar
Peter Fisla
Posts: 2501
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2001 8:00 am
Location: Canada

RE: Covered arc

Post by Peter Fisla »

ORIGINAL: acropora

Perfect,thank you Peter.When you release this new feature?

I'm aiming for the end of the month...
Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”