[FIXED v1.10] Weapon mounts reloading at inopportune time

Post bug reports and ask for game support here.

Moderator: MOD_Command

Post Reply
FlyingBear
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 12:32 am

[FIXED v1.10] Weapon mounts reloading at inopportune time

Post by FlyingBear »

Weapon mounts sometimes reload at very unfortunate moments, it seems like they want to reload as soon as that mount is no longer full. The effect is that a mount with, say, 6 rounds, effectively become a single round mount, since it tries to reload as soon as it has used the first round. With reload time now being modeled (awesome!), this previous non-issue becomes a concern.

In the attached scenario the Knox is under attack from four Styx missiles. Here is how it plays out:
- The first missile that is not shot down by the Phalanx causes the Knox to fire chaff.
- Checking the Weapons menu right afterwards shows both Mk36 SRBOC mounts showing "Reloading: 4 min xx sec"
- The next missile that is not shot down is not countered by chaff. The Knox is typically sunk.

This is with build 757.12
Attachments
Surfacetr..ing1985.zip
(29.51 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
ComDev
Posts: 3116
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 1:20 pm
Contact:

RE: [FIXED v1.10] Weapon mounts reloading at inopportune time

Post by ComDev »

Fixed. Happened for weapons fired as part of the point defence routine.
Image

Developer "Command: Modern Air/Naval Operations" project!
jtoatoktoe
Posts: 208
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 12:38 pm

RE: [FIXED v1.10] Weapon mounts reloading at inopportune time

Post by jtoatoktoe »

Might still be an issue. I have NASAMS which had 4 rounds left between 2 launchers and started reloading and 4 more missiles came in and I had no way to defend against them. I've also had the issue with Patriots in other scenarios. Maybe i need to toggle something but I'm missing it if I am.
Using v1.10 build 775.17


Attachments
GreenTide.zip
(150.49 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
User avatar
michaelm75au
Posts: 11889
Joined: Sat May 05, 2001 8:00 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

RE: [FIXED v1.10] Weapon mounts reloading at inopportune time

Post by michaelm75au »

Could you try with latest beta and see if acting any different?
Michael
jtoatoktoe
Posts: 208
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 12:38 pm

RE: [FIXED v1.10] Weapon mounts reloading at inopportune time

Post by jtoatoktoe »

I'll give it a whirl in the morning. Thanks for the reply.
User avatar
michaelm75au
Posts: 11889
Joined: Sat May 05, 2001 8:00 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

RE: [FIXED v1.10] Weapon mounts reloading at inopportune time

Post by michaelm75au »

If it still fails, I would suggest raising a new thread for the land weapon issue on 1.11 (with description and save) as this specific case thread has been marked as fixed in 1.10.
Michael
ComDev
Posts: 3116
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 1:20 pm
Contact:

RE: [FIXED v1.10] Weapon mounts reloading at inopportune time

Post by ComDev »

ORIGINAL: jtoatoktoe

Might still be an issue. I have NASAMS which had 4 rounds left between 2 launchers and started reloading and 4 more missiles came in and I had no way to defend against them. I've also had the issue with Patriots in other scenarios. Maybe i need to toggle something but I'm missing it if I am.
Using v1.10 build 775.17

Thanks for your input [8D] First of all you're using an old game engine and old version of the scen.

As for the reloading bit, we discussed this earlier. When a mount is emptied the AI starts reloading it straight away. When half-empty, it waits 300 seconds (5 minutes) for the threat to clear and then starts reloading. Reloading leave your units vulnerable but so does a half-empty mount. The Command AI prefers to reload.

If the behaviour is different from this let us know. Otherwise it is by design [8D]
Image

Developer "Command: Modern Air/Naval Operations" project!
jtoatoktoe
Posts: 208
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 12:38 pm

RE: [FIXED v1.10] Weapon mounts reloading at inopportune time

Post by jtoatoktoe »

ORIGINAL: emsoy

ORIGINAL: jtoatoktoe

Might still be an issue. I have NASAMS which had 4 rounds left between 2 launchers and started reloading and 4 more missiles came in and I had no way to defend against them. I've also had the issue with Patriots in other scenarios. Maybe i need to toggle something but I'm missing it if I am.
Using v1.10 build 775.17

Thanks for your input [8D] First of all you're using an old game engine and old version of the scen.

As for the reloading bit, we discussed this earlier. When a mount is emptied the AI starts reloading it straight away. When half-empty, it waits 300 seconds (5 minutes) for the threat to clear and then starts reloading. Reloading leave your units vulnerable but so does a half-empty mount. The Command AI prefers to reload.

If the behaviour is different from this let us know. Otherwise it is by design [8D]

Seems about right. Updated to latest release candidate, couldn't replicate it on Green Tide as the ships chose to attack different targets but on Havana Daydreamin it did seem as the Patriots waited a little while longer to start reloading when not empty. I guess it is by design [;)] Thank You.
Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”