New map for WITE

Post new scenarios and mods here to share with other gamers.

Moderators: Joel Billings, Sabre21, bcgames

Jison
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 5:21 pm

RE: New map for WITE

Post by Jison »

Faster than I thought - the promised 'patch' with color coded soft factors. [;)]


http://www.hist-sdc.com/MapMod/MapMod.W ... rCoded.rar


Jison


ham79
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 4:48 pm

RE: New map for WITE

Post by ham79 »

Wow, not really expected that and so fast! Just tested these out and they are perfect - in addition to seeing the general situation at a glance, now you see the condition of all units in stacks without clicking.

Big thanks for so fast quality work.
User avatar
39battalion
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 11:03 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

RE: New map for WITE

Post by 39battalion »


Just wanted to add my sincere thanks to Jison for this wonderful map mod.

I have just started a new game with the latest beta and the map mod. It is like playing an entirely new and greatly improved game.

Outstanding work Jison !!
Jison
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 5:21 pm

RE: New map for WITE

Post by Jison »

You're welcome guys - glad you like it! [:)]

Jison


vandorenp
Posts: 1028
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 2:57 am
Location: Suffolk, VA
Contact:

RE: New map for WITE

Post by vandorenp »

ORIGINAL: 39battalion


Just wanted to add my sincere thanks to Jison for this wonderful map mod.

I have just started a new game with the latest beta and the map mod. It is like playing an entirely new and greatly improved game.

Outstanding work Jison !!
Ditto
Keydet
User avatar
RealChuckB
Posts: 284
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:40 pm

RE: New map for WITE

Post by RealChuckB »

First of all, thanks so much, Jison for the fantastic work on WitE - your map was one of the reasons I finally decided to purchase WitE. Sometimes I simply fire up WitE to marvel at the map … I guess I’m not the only one who really hopes you’ll give War in the West the same (royal) treatment, that would be awsome!

I really like the colored soft factor corners so I actually modded Jison’s counters a while ago for myself (painful process, as this was my first tiny “modding project” and it took me quite a while but learned a lot. I was using GIMP for this).
I kept the “original" corner layout so my soft factors are actually in the top left corner (and they are a bit smaller than Jison’s), like they are in stock WitE.

The other thing I did was to “reinstate” the movement indicator top right corner. With both corners (instead of the indicators that Jison chose) I’m able to see the status of each unit, even when it’s stacked with other units.
For the movement corner indicator, I moved away from the original convention, though: my feeling was that the most important thing I want to see at a glance, if there are units that I have NOT moved at all and wanted that to stick out. This is why I chose an all-white corner for units that have not been moved (stock WItE uses a black corner with white frame.)
For the “moved but MP left” category, I played around with different settings and ended up adding black stripes to the white corner and I really like how it looks. It’s quite visible within a stack. Of course, the whole corner goes away if no MPs are left.

Image
Attachments
Moddedcou..corners.jpg
Moddedcou..corners.jpg (73.93 KiB) Viewed 163 times
User avatar
reggimann
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 8:50 pm

RE: New map for WITE

Post by reggimann »

ORIGINAL: 821Bobo

Pelton click here [;)]

Hey guys

Sorry, but I can't download the map from there, this link does not seem to work. Anybody else have this problem? Are there mirors?

Edit: Spelling
WitP-AE - WitE - WitW
User avatar
RealChuckB
Posts: 284
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:40 pm

RE: New map for WITE

Post by RealChuckB »

ORIGINAL: CptEggman
ORIGINAL: 821Bobo

Pelton click here [;)]

Hey guys

Sorry, but I can't download the map from there, this link does not seem to work. Anybody else have this problem? Are there mirors?

Edit: Spelling

Hi,

The link on Jison's website http://www.hist-sdc.com/MapMod/index.htm still works but it's a bit hidden, you'll find in the September 9, 2013 posting titled "Here we go again ...", it's the first link, size is 278MB.

Hope it works for you, it's a fantastic map!
User avatar
reggimann
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 8:50 pm

RE: New map for WITE

Post by reggimann »

Thanks Chuck, it worked indeed with your pro tip.

What a beautiful map!
WitP-AE - WitE - WitW
rainman2015
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 1:52 am

RE: New map for WITE

Post by rainman2015 »

Hey Jison!

INCREDIBLE MAP, really awesome!!!
NEED HELP PLEASE!!! Old time wargamer that actually rewrote the entire rules to the original War in the Pacific (SPI) game, but have been away from wargaming for about 10 years, and have jumped back in hugely the last month and my first new purchase is War in the East, so still in total newbie mode. Some questions please:

1) I went thru the entire thread and all the mod part of the forums. Could someone please tell me EXACTLY (in simple exact step by step terms) how to extract the files using JSGME (i have no idea how to use JSGME) in order to be able to pick and choose exactly what parts of the mod i want to use and not use. I love everything about the mod that i have seen, except for the unit counter. Really don't want to download the entire mod into my main game folder and then find that i have to use the updated unit counters also. Note that i have already downloaded JSGME and also WINRAR, just don't know how to actually use JSGME in order to install the map and interface.

2) Reading thru the email thread, i didn't see any bugs with using the new map and interface. Are there any? Being a new to the game, i might not even notice a bug if it happened! But, i really want to use this new map and interface!

3) So far, i have only installed patch v1.07.11. First of all, SHOULD i for sure be learning the game with the beta patch 1.08 and not even bother with 1.07.11? Secondly, if i download and install v1.08 later, will it mess up the map? Will future updates and patches make the map no longer work?

Thanks!
Randy Flowers
:)
chemkid
Posts: 1238
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 2:02 pm

RE: New map for WITE

Post by chemkid »

.
rainman2015
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 1:52 am

RE: New map for WITE

Post by rainman2015 »

Thanks Chemkid...not at home now, so can't try it just yet.

So, you don't have to run JSGME every time you start the game in order for it to see the mods you are using? Once you install the mods as above, you just start the game as normal each time?

Anyone out there know exactly how to disable only the counter changes? I want the map and interface changes only.

Also, i will be going ahead and installing version 1.08 tonight before i load this mod, so will already be upgraded, but what happens to this mod when each new patch comes out?

Do new patches (i.e. ones that haven't even come out yet) cause the mod to suddenly become buggy or unusable?

Thanks!
Randy
:)
chemkid
Posts: 1238
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 2:02 pm

RE: New map for WITE

Post by chemkid »

.
rainman2015
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 1:52 am

RE: New map for WITE

Post by rainman2015 »

Thanks Chemkid for the help!

Question though on the counters. The 3rd screenshot above (the lowest one) that has the new maps and the old counters, still has the updated NON-BOLD font which is much harder for my older eyes to read. Look at the top screenshot for the unit counters. The text in the counters is very BOLD, whereas the text on the counters in the lower screenshot still looks like the new counters (non-bold) as in the 2nd screenshot. So, if the 3rd screenshot is the result of removing the 6 .tga files, how do you get the original bold lettering on the counters back?

Another question is, isn't there a backup made somehow of the original map and counters and interface data when you install the new map/interface mod? How does that happen? Is it automatically done when you do the mod install as you show above with JSGME?

Wanting to install this tonight after i upgrade to 1.08! :)

Thanks!
Randy
:)
chemkid
Posts: 1238
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 2:02 pm

RE: New map for WITE

Post by chemkid »

.
rainman2015
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 1:52 am

RE: New map for WITE

Post by rainman2015 »

Thanks to your help Robert (Chemkid), i figured it out and have it just right now...:)

Using JSGME and your step by step instructions from above, i was able to recreate exactly the screenshots you show above...

Then loaded the original counters .tga files as you showed how to do above...

So, now i had the map/interface i like (love) and the counter colors i like, BUT still the text on the counters was not bold, really didn't like that at all.

But, referring to the 'WiteFontConfig.txt' file thread, i was able to figure out how to get the original text font AND change the text back to bold by editing the WiteFontConfig.txt file inside the MapMod.WitE.September file tree (just change the font to Verdana and the number from 0 to 1 for the counters in two places). I also changed several of the other text fields to now be BOLD, like the map popups and the unit details, leader details, etc, and it looks GREAT!!!

Thanks so much to Jison and Chemkid for transforming the game! It just looks stunning now.

Randy
:)
chemkid
Posts: 1238
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 2:02 pm

.

Post by chemkid »

.
rainman2015
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 1:52 am

RE: New map for WITE

Post by rainman2015 »

So, where can you get your mod again Chemkid?

I also think it is a tad too neon green as much as i like it compared to the standard map, i think i like yours a little better, would like to try...

AND, what files do i replace?

Also, i only replaced files that were in a separate directory. all under MODS. The original files are all still right there in the main game directory if you loaded everything thru JSGME, as JSGME loads a parallel directory under MODS...any files i replaced (like the counter .tga files) were all done under MODS, not under the main game directory.

Randy
:)
chemkid
Posts: 1238
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 2:02 pm

RE: New map for WITE

Post by chemkid »

.
rainman2015
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 1:52 am

RE: New map for WITE

Post by rainman2015 »

This 'RainydayinRussia' tweak to the map mod is wonderful. I too thought the map was a bit too bright and a bit too neon green, despite it being so much better than the original. This Rainyday mod to the map mod fixes that and adds a lot of contrast to the map too, making it even more detailed looking (hill contours more visible, hex outlines more visible, individual woods more visible, just everything more clear and defined looking!). Combine this with the BOLD text on the counters, and you have the ultimate Russian Front game map!

Randy
:)
Post Reply

Return to “Scenario Design and Modding”