WINDOWS 8.1 NIGHTMARES!!

Post bug reports and ask for help with other issues here.

Moderators: wdolson, MOD_War-in-the-Pacific-Admirals-Edition

santino250
Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 4:30 pm

WINDOWS 8.1 NIGHTMARES!!

Post by santino250 »

HI All

I have been trying to get my game installed in a new computer, with little luck... I have a GTX970M video card, on a 17.3" laptop Monitor..
I put the switch's in where is solves the LAG, but the font size is way to small. I still have like 1" on each side of the window... but font is still too small..
-w -px1680 -py1050 -dd_sw -multiaudio -skipVideo -archive -cpu4 -deepColor
This is the switches>>

Help PLease!!! GOD WHAT MONKEYS CREATED WIN 8.1???

WHere can I get a list of switches and there meanings??
santino
Alfred
Posts: 6683
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 7:56 am

RE: WINDOWS 8.1 NIGHTMARES!!

Post by Alfred »

The switches are all in the patch notes.
 
Several threads deal with this on a regular basis.  Rainer's is probably the most comprehensive.
 
Alfred
User avatar
geofflambert
Posts: 14887
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 2:18 pm
Location: St. Louis

RE: WINDOWS 8.1 NIGHTMARES!!

Post by geofflambert »

ORIGINAL: santino250

HI All

I have been trying to get my game installed in a new computer, with little luck... I have a GTX970M video card, on a 17.3" laptop Monitor..
I put the switch's in where is solves the LAG, but the font size is way to small. I still have like 1" on each side of the window... but font is still too small..
-w -px1680 -py1050 -dd_sw -multiaudio -skipVideo -archive -cpu4 -deepColor
This is the switches>>

Help PLease!!! GOD WHAT MONKEYS CREATED WIN 8.1???

WHere can I get a list of switches and there meanings??

They are apes, not monkeys. Haven't you been paying attention? There have been several documentaries about this recently. Some beatnik named Charleton Heston was in a couple, I believe.

Alfred
Posts: 6683
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 7:56 am

RE: WINDOWS 8.1 NIGHTMARES!!

Post by Alfred »

This is the Rainer thread I referred to in the above post.
 
http://www.matrixgames.com/forums/tm.asp?m=3603382&mpage=1&key=deepcolor&#3604122
 
There are several other Rainer threads which deal with hardware issues.
 
Alfred
wdolson
Posts: 7648
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: Near Portland, OR

RE: WINDOWS 8.1 NIGHTMARES!!

Post by wdolson »

From what little I've used it, Windows 8 is a pain. I've recently gotten two computers that came with 8.1 on them and immediately downgraded to Windows 7.

Bill
WitP AE - Test team lead, programmer
Image
User avatar
EHansen
Posts: 360
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 1:31 am

RE: WINDOWS 8.1 NIGHTMARES!!

Post by EHansen »

And the irony is the first computer I ended up with Windows 7 was immediately downgraded to XP. [:)]
User avatar
VPaulus
Posts: 3616
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:02 pm
Location: Portugal

RE: WINDOWS 8.1 NIGHTMARES!!

Post by VPaulus »

Actually Windows 8 (or 8.1) is not as bad. There are some advantages, namely, it seems to be quicker.
The most annoying thing is the metro interface. But if you install (it costs $5) Start8, most of the issues just disappear.
Windows boots always to desktop, and basically it's just like using an updated Windows 7. :)
User avatar
Qwixt
Posts: 901
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 6:33 am

RE: WINDOWS 8.1 NIGHTMARES!!

Post by Qwixt »

I don't think it's win 8 problem. The game is poorly coded to support modern PCs. I bought it over this past sale and spent a couple of hours trying to get it to look right. The one issue I had was that I wanted to play a smaller scenario, but my screen size was too wide to support it, so I had to decrease the screen size to a smaller widescreen res. Overall, it was a disappointing first impression for a game released in 2009.

Here is what I went with:

-fd -pxf1440 -pyf900 -cpu3 -multiaudio -skipVideo -deepColor -altFont

Many of these options are documented in the readme.rtf file in the game directory.

-fd = fullscreen daily saves

-pxf and -pyf are fullscreen resolution size

-cpu# cpu affinity flag (in mine I am using 2 or 3 CPUs, not sure how the application treats the #)

-multiaudio = Fix for multicore audio

-deepColor = use 32 bit color

-altFont = Use Lucia Sans Unicode font
Tejszd
Posts: 3447
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 4:32 pm

RE: WINDOWS 8.1 NIGHTMARES!!

Post by Tejszd »

For new players it would be nice if those startup parameters could be set via a screen with tool tips on when to enable them.

The game would also benefit from having a zoomed in view (WiTE has 5 levels) which would allow for larger buttons/icons that display more information and are more readable. In small scenario you could play the whole game at the zoomed in view to use all the screen resolution without having to change the game startup options.....
wdolson
Posts: 7648
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: Near Portland, OR

RE: WINDOWS 8.1 NIGHTMARES!!

Post by wdolson »

Just FYI, the game engine dates back to Uncommon Valor which came out in 2002.

There are some features that would be nice, but there wasn't time to include them.

Bill
WitP AE - Test team lead, programmer
Image
User avatar
witpqs
Posts: 26249
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 7:48 pm
Location: Argleton

RE: WINDOWS 8.1 NIGHTMARES!!

Post by witpqs »

ORIGINAL: wdolson

Just FYI, the game engine dates back to Uncommon Valor which came out in 2002.

There are some features that would be nice, but there wasn't time to include them.

Bill
Honestly, Bill, it looks a whole like what I purchased in the early 90's, I think titled Pacific War or something close. Maybe just the UI style and not much of the guts, dunno the details.
Tejszd
Posts: 3447
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 4:32 pm

RE: WINDOWS 8.1 NIGHTMARES!!

Post by Tejszd »

ORIGINAL: wdolson

Just FYI, the game engine dates back to Uncommon Valor which came out in 2002.

There are some features that would be nice, but there wasn't time to include them.

Bill

Matrix sale price this Christmas, and I won't even mention the regular price, is the same as many new games in 2014/2015. Thus I don't know if it unreasonable for new buyers to have an expectation for features to have been added to the 2002 engine to bring it closer/more in line with what is standard today?

Having said that I knew what I was getting buying this game, some others may not, so I do not expect an update. But that won't stop me from asking/hoping for changes as I like the game and hope Matrix reinvests some of the money it is continuing to get back into the game....
User avatar
witpqs
Posts: 26249
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 7:48 pm
Location: Argleton

RE: WINDOWS 8.1 NIGHTMARES!!

Post by witpqs »

ORIGINAL: Tejszd
ORIGINAL: wdolson

Just FYI, the game engine dates back to Uncommon Valor which came out in 2002.

There are some features that would be nice, but there wasn't time to include them.

Bill

Matrix sale price this Christmas, and I won't even mention the regular price, is the same as many new games in 2014/2015. Thus I don't know if it unreasonable for new buyers to have an expectation for features to have been added to the 2002 engine to bring it closer/more in line with what is standard today?

Having said that I knew what I was getting buying this game, some others may not, so I do not expect an update. But that won't stop me from asking/hoping for changes as I like the game and hope Matrix reinvests some of the money it is continuing to get back into the game....
I understand what you are saying, but the fact is that features have been added right up through 2014. A total modernization of some aspects of the code would be a very major undertaking. It would have taken far effort more than the introduction of AE did, even if it were done with none of the AE features being added. We players continue to have interest in that, but it hard to say if or when it would make financial sense to a game developer.
User avatar
Rising-Sun
Posts: 2090
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 10:27 am
Location: Clifton Park, NY
Contact:

RE: WINDOWS 8.1 NIGHTMARES!!

Post by Rising-Sun »

I was wondering the same thing, I just upgraded my pc last Fall to Wins 8.1 64, use to have Vista 64bit. For some reasons I click on aircraft factory it take five seconds to load. I tried all those switch and didn't improve anything :( I didn't have any problems on Vista, there no need to stick with Vista, wont be around for long though.

I manage to fix my issue, least no lag during scrolling and when I click on aircraft factory. So all I had to do is add this switch -deepColor, guess have something to do with new/mid video cards. Been using GTX GeForce 660 here.
Image
Tejszd
Posts: 3447
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 4:32 pm

RE: WINDOWS 8.1 NIGHTMARES!!

Post by Tejszd »

Wonder of anyone from Matrix and or the developers are testing the game on Windows 10?

Microsoft is pushing it hard as they announced users of Win7 and Win8 can upgrade for free in the 1st year of Win10 release.
User avatar
operating
Posts: 3158
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 11:34 am

RE: WINDOWS 8.1 NIGHTMARES!!

Post by operating »

My Dell XPS is down loaded with 8.1, 22" screen, have had no problems what-so-ever, most played CTGW, Empire, EAW and Napoleon to date.
and one flew over the Cuckoos nest
sandlance
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 10:41 pm

RE: WINDOWS 8.1 NIGHTMARES!!

Post by sandlance »

Ok guys I've gone thru the Full Screen thresd and my problem isn't full screen. Both of my Comps. have the same Map dimensions 17 X 24. Speed is very slow(as reported by many others). I removered the -wd switch as I have a desktop not laptop. I played with it and found that when the screen goes back to desktop(either manual or screen save) when I return to the game the speed is fixed and very fast. Now the problem is all aux printing Top of screen and all info screens is now light green and cut off. this makes it unreadable. Switches I am currently using are -Altfont -archive -deepcolor -SingleCpuOrders. I'm using a i3-4160 cpu@3.6GHZ.

S.Nelson
User avatar
witpqs
Posts: 26249
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 7:48 pm
Location: Argleton

RE: WINDOWS 8.1 NIGHTMARES!!

Post by witpqs »

ORIGINAL: sandlance

Ok guys I've gone thru the Full Screen thresd and my problem isn't full screen. Both of my Comps. have the same Map dimensions 17 X 24. Speed is very slow(as reported by many others). I removered the -wd switch as I have a desktop not laptop. I played with it and found that when the screen goes back to desktop(either manual or screen save) when I return to the game the speed is fixed and very fast. Now the problem is all aux printing Top of screen and all info screens is now light green and cut off. this makes it unreadable. Switches I am currently using are -Altfont -archive -deepcolor -SingleCpuOrders. I'm using a i3-4160 cpu@3.6GHZ.

S.Nelson
Apologies if you saw this advice before: spelling is critical for the switches. Are you using "-deepcolor" or "-deepColor" (capital 'C')?
sandlance
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 10:41 pm

RE: WINDOWS 8.1 NIGHTMARES!!

Post by sandlance »

witpqs; I'm using deepColor with a Cap "C". Let me guess it should all be lower case.

User avatar
witpqs
Posts: 26249
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 7:48 pm
Location: Argleton

RE: WINDOWS 8.1 NIGHTMARES!!

Post by witpqs »

ORIGINAL: sandlance

witpqs; I'm using deepColor with a Cap "C". Let me guess it should all be lower case.

No! You had typed it with lower, which is wrong. -deepColor is correct. AFAIK there is no warning when you get a switch wrong, it just doesn't work, so it was worth mentioning when I saw how you had spelled it.
Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”