Just found out something VERY interesting about Steam!!

Gamers can also use this forum to chat about any game related subject, news, rumours etc.

Moderator: maddog986

aaatoysandmore
Posts: 2847
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 1:35 pm

Just found out something VERY interesting about Steam!!

Post by aaatoysandmore »

Now, all you in favor of Steam that say you don't have to have steam to play your games offline. Take a look into your TASK MANAGER when you try to play that game "offline" by just clicking the application.exe icon (the icon that you press to usually load a game). Several things in the STEAM CLIENT LOAD into your task manger. Now, you say they will run without steam. Then delete steam from your computer and try to run those same programs. The Steam client exclusive ones like Rome II (AAA title) will not load or run.

Here are some of the files it has to load for your game to work in "OFFLINE" mode

1 Steam.exe *32

2 Steamwebhelper.exe *32

3 Steamreporter.exe (something that popsup for a few seconds and then goes away but the fact that it still has to popup is still there.


So, it apparently looks like with AAA titles and those exclusive to Steam have to install some steam client items even when you play offline or the game will not run.

If you don't believe me try it yourself it's not hard to find just press CTRL + ALT + DELETE at the same time and a box that has the words task manager at the bottom of that box will appear. Click on that and then goto processes and look for the name of your computer in the processes. System programs usually have to be running but USER or name of your computer processes do not. If you use the sort feature that is installed into taskmanager when you open it you can click on PROCESSES in the tabs at the top until all of the programs are in User (name of your computer order) and then system programs below it.

Now, though here's the kicker. In your TASK BAR down at the bottom of your screen look for the steam icon. If you try to exit this it will close down your game as well. Some form of Steam.exe *32 has to be running in your task manager for the AAA title or game exclusive to play on Steam will run.

I tested this several ways by copying the files in the Steam folder for Rome II to another folder outside of Steam. When I click on the Rome II.exe application icon the same thing happens it has to process Steam.exe *32.

I understand some games that aren't exclusive to Steam can probably be made to work without the Steam client but the majority of AAA titles will now.

Now, I'm going to test a Paradox game Crusader Kings II.

Ok, since CKII is not exclusive to the Steam Client it will play without the steam.exe an other steam programs loading. I dare say the Matrixgames games you get from Steam will work as well without Steam.

So, now I'm pretty sure all of the Total War games exclusive to Steam won't run unless the Steam client is installed an able to run a few programs EVEN in offline mode.

I'ma test one more Xcom: The Unknown

And as I suspected it "requires" the Steam.exe *32 as well as the two others to run even in offline mode.


One more X3:Terran Conflict

Yeppers same programs everytime. That client has to be in place to even play offline. Without the steam client and that Steam.exe *32 they won't run.


Very interesting discoveries tonight. I always thought something of the Steam Client had to load even offline as it always popped up a screen checking my account and then disappeared. I bet that is that steamreport one listed above.


If you're concerned about it just run each of your steam games one at a time and look at the task manager. If Steam.exe *32 doesn't show up then you can have and play that game forever an ever (provided you at least keep your cd keys saved somewheres). It really has no ties to Steam at all. But, if you see Steam.exe *32 you might wanna worry a bit cause for what ever reason Steam decides to cancel or ban your account you will lose those games. Besides the point they may go out of business one day and nothing lasts forever you know except taxes and death. [:D]
User avatar
terje439
Posts: 6600
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 12:01 pm

RE: Just found out something VERY interesting about Steam!!

Post by terje439 »

quick question, does those files require you to connect TO steam by the net?
"Hun skal torpederes!" - Birger Eriksen

("She is to be torpedoed!")
aaatoysandmore
Posts: 2847
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 1:35 pm

RE: Just found out something VERY interesting about Steam!!

Post by aaatoysandmore »

Nope I just found that out cause I disconnected my modem entirely and those files are IN your computer in the Steam Client folder. It basically checks your information locally I see not in the clouds as I thought. But, the process still remains that those files have to load or the game won't run. When I try to shut down the steam.exe *32 from task manager it shuts down Rome II total war and Shogun Total War and Xcom and X3:Terran as welll. But, not CKII since that is not "exclusive" to Steam.
User avatar
terje439
Posts: 6600
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 12:01 pm

RE: Just found out something VERY interesting about Steam!!

Post by terje439 »

Ok, so you need steam installed, but you do not need to be able to connect to steam?
Works for me [;)]
"Hun skal torpederes!" - Birger Eriksen

("She is to be torpedoed!")
aaatoysandmore
Posts: 2847
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 1:35 pm

RE: Just found out something VERY interesting about Steam!!

Post by aaatoysandmore »

Sid Meier's Ace Patrol add to that list that requires Steam.exe *32. Also another interesting popup for it in offline mode. A blank page of a EULA agreement that it wants me to accept. This is crazy now.
aaatoysandmore
Posts: 2847
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 1:35 pm

RE: Just found out something VERY interesting about Steam!!

Post by aaatoysandmore »

ORIGINAL: terje439

Ok, so you need steam installed, but you do not need to be able to connect to steam?
Works for me [;)]

Yes you must have steam installed or those steam.exe *32 an others won't load up and those AAA titles or all exclusive games to steam won't load. I did say SOME games will load without steam. If you're only playing those then this doesn't concern you. It's for those that buy and play AAA titles exclusive to Steam.
Ranger33
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 8:19 pm

RE: Just found out something VERY interesting about Steam!!

Post by Ranger33 »

But you are still playing "offline" correct? Some games still launch through the Steam program, but it's not really doing anything, it's just kind of passively there. I imagine it would be a simple thing for those games to be patched to not launch through Steam, in the highly unlikely case that Valve went belly-up.
aaatoysandmore
Posts: 2847
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 1:35 pm

RE: Just found out something VERY interesting about Steam!!

Post by aaatoysandmore »

ORIGINAL: Ranger33

But you are still playing "offline" correct? Some games still launch through the Steam program, but it's not really doing anything, it's just kind of passively there. I imagine it would be a simple thing for those games to be patched to not launch through Steam, in the highly unlikely case that Valve went belly-up.

Yes you are playing offline, but, if you think you don't have any connection to Steam in the OFFLINE mode. Just delete Steam.exe *32 from your task manager. Or just exit out of Steam from your Steam icon in your task bar. Right click and press exit. If the game is "exclusive" to Steam it will shut down even in offline mode. Therefore you do need steam client all the time for some games to run.

Understand "exclusive" means it will only run if you have the Steam Client. Some games don't require the client to run I even understand that. But, many of the AAA titles do. I couldn't believe Sid Meier's Ace Patrol is now on that list of required though.

EDIT: Also if it's just kinda passively there then how come it's just not passively there for all the games? Why just the ones exclusive to Steam?
Ranger33
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 8:19 pm

RE: Just found out something VERY interesting about Steam!!

Post by Ranger33 »

I believe it's a choice of the game developer/publisher whether Steam runs in the background or not. Part of the purpose of Steam is to act as DRM, and I imagine there are different levels of "security."

I know one thing Steam does in almost all games is provide the Steam overlay when you press Shift-Tab, that includes chatting with your friends, links to community content for that game, and a web browser. Steam would have to be running in the background to do that. You can turn it off if you want to.
aaatoysandmore
Posts: 2847
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 1:35 pm

RE: Just found out something VERY interesting about Steam!!

Post by aaatoysandmore »

Well, I do understand that when I disconnect from the internet I'm not really physically connected to steam. But, there are still processes of Steam that have to run for certain games to run (even offline) I'm pretty sure of now. I know not all games really require the steam client now and all I would wish for here is Steam to tell us in the store page whether the game is all exclusive to steam or not. I think that would not only help me but them as well. Since more people will have a better understanding of Steam and more choices about which games they want to buy. I don't always know every game that is exclusive to Steam but I do now know most AAA titles are.
aaatoysandmore
Posts: 2847
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 1:35 pm

RE: Just found out something VERY interesting about Steam!!

Post by aaatoysandmore »

Now here's one in "offline" mode that won't even run with the Steam.exe *32 running in the background. I "have" to be online to play this one. Fancy that huh? It works fine online but when I tried to load it offline it crashes every time. Oh the game? Talisman Digital.

Fixing to try Civilization V any takers out there? As suspected needs those files.
User avatar
Greybriar
Posts: 1150
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 6:54 am

RE: Just found out something VERY interesting about Steam!!

Post by Greybriar »

ORIGINAL: Ranger33

I believe it's a choice of the game developer/publisher whether Steam runs in the background or not....

Yes, it is. In the words of Johan Andersson at Paradox Development Studio, "Steam is NOT a DRM, unless a developer wants it to be."
This war is not about slavery. --Robert E. Lee
aaatoysandmore
Posts: 2847
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 1:35 pm

RE: Just found out something VERY interesting about Steam!!

Post by aaatoysandmore »

ORIGINAL: Greybriar

ORIGINAL: Ranger33

I believe it's a choice of the game developer/publisher whether Steam runs in the background or not....

Yes, it is. In the words of Johan Andersson at Paradox Development Studio, "Steam is NOT a DRM, unless a developer wants it to be."


Only sad thing is most AAA developers want it to be from my research. Only Paradox games so far run without that Steam.exe *32 running in the background. I would imagine most indie titles don't use Steam for DRM but I haven't found any yet.
User avatar
Rising-Sun
Posts: 2090
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 10:27 am
Location: Clifton Park, NY
Contact:

RE: Just found out something VERY interesting about Steam!!

Post by Rising-Sun »

When Skyrim first came out, and required Steam to run, I was very upset over this. For those doesn't have the internet or cant afford it, since I was living out of the area or city limit. So I had to find a place to hook up the internet on my pc, then install Steam and Skyrim. Headed back home and play it offline lol.

One thing about Steam, you wont get your refund back and hardly any helps if needed. So becareful what you spend on, doing some research may help to.

Off topic here, I just poked around on Paradox's Forum on Hearts of Iron IV and see what going on over there as a guest, just saw a few users gotten banned. Was told you cant get banned over there and something isn't right over there. Some fans been over there for along time with many posts. Sorry to add this topic aaatoysandmore, just like to know what the hell is going on over there in Paradox's Forum. I know the moderator locked up my thread and probably a good idea before it get out of hands.
Image
aaatoysandmore
Posts: 2847
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 1:35 pm

RE: Just found out something VERY interesting about Steam!!

Post by aaatoysandmore »

Oh no problem this thread will fall by the wayside anyways unless we get some pro Steam posters. I just wanted to inform the uninformed in case anyone didn't know about the Steam.exe *32 even offline program running in the background.
t001001001
Posts: 322
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 7:06 pm

RE: Just found out something VERY interesting about Steam!!

Post by t001001001 »


We get it, you really, really don't like steam. How many threads is this now. What are you accomplishing, other than starting to annoy ppl w/ the constant complaining enough already. no mas!
User avatar
Dorb
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 10:51 pm
Location: Ohio

RE: Just found out something VERY interesting about Steam!!

Post by Dorb »

+1.

I just don't get the big deal about it, its a hobby,- not food, shelter or clothing to be so worried about.
I am more afraid of an army of 100 sheep led by a lion than an army of 100 lions led by a sheep.
… Charles Maurice de Talleyrand-Perigord
aaatoysandmore
Posts: 2847
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 1:35 pm

RE: Just found out something VERY interesting about Steam!!

Post by aaatoysandmore »

There they come ^^^ I knew they would show up![:'(]
t001001001
Posts: 322
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 7:06 pm

RE: Just found out something VERY interesting about Steam!!

Post by t001001001 »

A steam client runs on ur machine even when ur offline - JUST IN CASE ANYONE DIDN'T ALREADY KNOW THAT!!111

aaatoysandmore
Posts: 2847
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 1:35 pm

RE: Just found out something VERY interesting about Steam!!

Post by aaatoysandmore »

ORIGINAL: t001001001

A steam client runs on ur machine even when ur offline - JUST IN CASE ANYONE DIDN'T ALREADY KNOW THAT!!111



Thanks for "CONFIRMING" that. [:'(]
Post Reply

Return to “General Discussion”