Editing my own empire in editor creates new designs

Post bug reports and ask for support here.

Moderators: elliotg, Icemania

Post Reply
OverlordCW
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 1:56 pm

Editing my own empire in editor creates new designs

Post by OverlordCW »

Whenever I edit my own Empire with the ingame editor some new auto-designs are created, how can I disable that? I already have automation of designs off.
User avatar
Darkspire
Posts: 1986
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2003 8:07 pm
Location: My Own Private Hell

RE: Editing my own empire in editor creates new designs

Post by Darkspire »

Can you outline exactly what you are doing in the editor?

Darkspire
OverlordCW
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 1:56 pm

RE: Editing my own empire in editor creates new designs

Post by OverlordCW »

I just edit some characters of my empire, when I close the editor new designs are created. I guess you have to have new techs researched before they are created.
User avatar
Darkspire
Posts: 1986
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2003 8:07 pm
Location: My Own Private Hell

RE: Editing my own empire in editor creates new designs

Post by Darkspire »

ORIGINAL: OverlordCW

I just edit some characters of my empire, when I close the editor new designs are created. I guess you have to have new techs researched before they are created.

Characters do not need tech.
Editing characters will not create new designs.

I would have a look in options, ESC then select it from the menu that comes up or select options from the main menu, make sure that ship design is on manual and that all your current designs are set to manual for both retrofit and design.

Darkspire
User avatar
Spidey
Posts: 455
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 11:39 am

RE: Editing my own empire in editor creates new designs

Post by Spidey »

I'm sorry to say that this is in fact a bug. And there's a second part to it as well. Applying a change to characters does recreate deleted default designs unless they're switched to manual upgrade in the design screen. Character editing also has a funny effect on research projects.


Image
Attachments
CharEditBug1a.jpg
CharEditBug1a.jpg (381.81 KiB) Viewed 21 times
User avatar
Spidey
Posts: 455
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 11:39 am

RE: Editing my own empire in editor creates new designs

Post by Spidey »

And now the designs are back again. Notice that there's no construction ship and no capital ship. That's presumably because I experimented and set those designs to manual upgrade before deleting them.

Image
Attachments
CharEditBug1b.jpg
CharEditBug1b.jpg (480.55 KiB) Viewed 21 times
User avatar
Spidey
Posts: 455
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 11:39 am

RE: Editing my own empire in editor creates new designs

Post by Spidey »

And that science thing...

I applied a change on an agent and noticed that I immediately had a critical science breakthrough. So I thought to myself that this was odd as hell since the game was supposed to be paused while I'm editing. Consequently I applied changes one more time and the game gave me a critical research failure. So I applied a change one more time and got yet another critical research failure.



Image
Attachments
CharEditBug2.jpg
CharEditBug2.jpg (537.22 KiB) Viewed 21 times
OverlordCW
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 1:56 pm

RE: Editing my own empire in editor creates new designs

Post by OverlordCW »

ORIGINAL: Darkspire

ORIGINAL: OverlordCW

I just edit some characters of my empire, when I close the editor new designs are created. I guess you have to have new techs researched before they are created.

Characters do not need tech.
Editing characters will not create new designs.

I would have a look in options, ESC then select it from the menu that comes up or select options from the main menu, make sure that ship design is on manual and that all your current designs are set to manual for both retrofit and design.

Darkspire
I meant that you need new tech before new designs are created and not characters.
But as you can see above, it is indeed a bug.
User avatar
Darkspire
Posts: 1986
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2003 8:07 pm
Location: My Own Private Hell

RE: Editing my own empire in editor creates new designs

Post by Darkspire »

ORIGINAL: OverlordCW
ORIGINAL: Darkspire

ORIGINAL: OverlordCW

I just edit some characters of my empire, when I close the editor new designs are created. I guess you have to have new techs researched before they are created.

Characters do not need tech.
Editing characters will not create new designs.

I would have a look in options, ESC then select it from the menu that comes up or select options from the main menu, make sure that ship design is on manual and that all your current designs are set to manual for both retrofit and design.

Darkspire
I meant that you need new tech before new designs are created and not characters.
But as you can see above, it is indeed a bug.

Have you a save for this? It does indeed look like something could be wrong.

Darkspire
User avatar
elliotg
Posts: 3631
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:32 am

RE: Editing my own empire in editor creates new designs

Post by elliotg »

Thanks for this report. We'll alter this in the next update.

Elliot
User avatar
RICO7878
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:36 pm

RE: Editing my own empire in editor creates new designs

Post by RICO7878 »

I believe the same thing happened to me. In my case I used the editor to give my empire some extra money and when closed and when to the design screen all my custom designs were gone and replaced with upgraded preset ones. Glad I read this because I wasn't sure what caused it.
Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”