MASS EFFECT MOD [Released 1.00]

Please post here for questions and discussion about scenario, art and sound modding and the game editor for Distant Worlds.

Moderators: Icemania, elliotg

SpeedyGonzales
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:41 am

RE: MASS EFFECT MOD [wip]

Post by SpeedyGonzales »

It's actually good mod. I recommend it for every Mass Effect fan. Great job! But, as for me, this mod will be better if you will make 3 versions of this mod: 1. Original races and ships+Mass Effect races and ships+Reapers. 2. Mass Effect races and ships+Reapers. 3. Original races and ships+Reapers.
P. S. I have one small question. How I can delete all Mass Effect races and ship designs except Reapers? If you answer me I will be very grateful.
dostillevi
Posts: 322
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 11:31 am

RE: MASS EFFECT MOD [wip]

Post by dostillevi »

ORIGINAL: SpeedyGonzales

It's actually good mod. I recommend it for every Mass Effect fan. Great job! But, as for me, this mod will be better if you will make 3 versions of this mod: 1. Original races and ships+Mass Effect races and ships+Reapers. 2. Mass Effect races and ships+Reapers. 3. Original races and ships+Reapers.
P. S. I have one small question. How I can delete all Mass Effect races and ship designs except Reapers? If you answer me I will be very grateful.

I completely understand! I don't actually play with the mod as it's packaged but instead rip it apart, allow the shakturi and reapers both to exist, and remove the lesser races. If you want just the reapers (replacing the shakturi) and no other races, you can definitely do this. I would encourage you to make your own mod. Dig into the files in the Mass Effect mod and figure out how things work, and then pull out the parts you want and put them in a new folder for your new mod. Don't forget to update the bias file! Read the modding guide stickied in this forum. Adding one race isn't trivial but it also isn't difficult. Good luck!
User avatar
Solarius Scorch
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 6:55 pm
Location: Cracow, Poland
Contact:

RE: MASS EFFECT MOD [wip]

Post by Solarius Scorch »

Well, here's the error I'm getting, for what it's worth:

System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException: Index was out of range. Must be non-negative and less than the size of the collection.
Parameter name: index
at System.ThrowHelper.ThrowArgumentOutOfRangeException()
at DistantWorlds.Types.Galaxy.GenerateEmpireFlag(Color mainColor, Color secondaryColor, Int32 flagStyle, List`1 flagShapes, Bitmap& smallFlagPicture, Bitmap& largeFlagPicture)
at DistantWorlds.Start.IYv5Y9xCQb(Object , DrawItemEventArgs )
at System.Windows.Forms.ComboBox.OnDrawItem(DrawItemEventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.ComboBox.WmReflectDrawItem(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ComboBox.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)

Edit 3: Solved my own problem, and I can happily say:

I have upgraded this mod to shadows!

Would you please tell me how you managed to fix this? I'm having (probably) the same problem, even though I'm using Shadows with your latest version of ME Mod (2.0 I think). The error happens when I try play an ME race; when I choose a race from the vanilla version or the Distant Worlds Extended mod, everything is fine. ME races seem to work fine as AI empires.

The only actual changes I made are numbers for the general picture index (race, units) and the number of shipset (the same files but different folder names). These changes result from, as you may guess, having other races in the game, so the order of files is different.

I realize there is a limit to the number of races the game can hold, and I think I haven't broken it. However, there is a possibility that for example the number of available shipsets is limited.
Forever Future 1.7 for Call to Power - the biggest mod for the best Civilization-like game ever!
dostillevi
Posts: 322
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 11:31 am

RE: MASS EFFECT MOD [wip]

Post by dostillevi »

I wish I could help.. If I can remember what that was about I'll definitely let you know. I believe it does have to do with the races files you've modified. In my own personal game I have races from this mod, all the races of the extended mod, and a few races from other mods working with no problems. The shipset limit is 50 (0-49). Anything more than 50 races and the game will bug as far as I can tell. I highly recommend a program called winmerge, which lets you pull up two files and compare them. I also made an excel file listing all the relevant data of each race, including the shipset number, the race image file number (often different than the shipset number), and a few other bits from the races files. This helped ensure that I was only assigning one picture and shipset to each race, among other things.

The only thing I remember for sure is that the problem I had here had nothing to do with flags.

I would suggest you double check that you've correctly assigned pictures and shipsets, and then start testing each race and noting which ones cause problems. Then pull up their race files and look at them in detail and I'm sure you'll find the issue.

Also double check that you didn't edit the design names line instead of the designspicturefamilyindex line.. I have some vague recollection that I may have assigned a race to use an an out of range design name.
User avatar
Solarius Scorch
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 6:55 pm
Location: Cracow, Poland
Contact:

RE: MASS EFFECT MOD [wip]

Post by Solarius Scorch »

Many thanks for help, Dostillevi. I am away from my desktop for a few days and therefore can't take care of this, but certainly will try. I'll post here if I find anything interesting.
Forever Future 1.7 for Call to Power - the biggest mod for the best Civilization-like game ever!
Aath
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 6:28 am

RE: MASS EFFECT MOD [wip]

Post by Aath »

anyone still here....
I played the ME mod on shadows that dostillevi updated and after hours of playing i noticed reapers didn't appear....the story for it was on and guardians were there but reapers never arrived.

so after a quick look in the reaper section in the files I compared them with shakturi of the origonals and noticed a mistake you made....
for shakturi (which works) it showed:

"Can be Normal Empire: indicates whether this race can be a normal empire or not (Y/N) (e.g. may set as only CanBePirate, but not CanBeNormalEmpire)
CanBeNormalEmpire ;Y"

and I assume that's right as that's shakturi and they worked in the original. BUT on your reapers the mistake/difference that may have caused them not appearing was that the Y was changed to N.... Meaning the reapers wasn't set as a empire and they would never show up because they wasn't a empire!.... and they wasn't set as pirates too so you basically hadn't had them set up to arrive...

I changed the reapers back to Y in the area and now am playing again in hopes they will show up. may be a while but ill get back to you if it works.
dostillevi
Posts: 322
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 11:31 am

RE: MASS EFFECT MOD [wip]

Post by dostillevi »

@Aath

Edit: Welcome to the forums! I just noticed that was your first post!

I made a conscious decision to leave that setting as it was made by Kalthaniell (set to "N") since I haven't been able to verify it makes any difference. I see your point and I will happily update the mod if you are able to verify that the Reapers will appear only as the shakturi with this setting, or conversely that the shakturi plot line will never happen with the setting left as "N". The Reapers are meant to replace the Shakturi in the Kalthaniell's original Mass Effect mod, and so should only appear in the game when triggered by the return of the shakturi plot line. That said, I've never played with the mod long enough to see if they will appear, and I'm skeptical that they will due to some assumptions I have about how the game's embedded code handles the storyline. I think the embedded code likely refers to the shakturi by name and thus won't be able to find the appropriate race file, but I could be mistaken. Changing the N to a Y should allow the reapers in your game as a standard race if they aren't recognized by the Shakturi plot line, at least. Once the next expansion is released I'll likely depart from Kalthaniell's original mod settings (unless he prefers otherwise), and see if I can re-balance this mod a bit. You could quickly test to see if the reapers will appear as a standard race with the setting as "Y" by starting a new game with enough AI players to use up all the available races, including the reapers, and then entering the game editor and looking to see if there is a reaper race. If there is than the shakturi storyline likely isn't working correctly, but if they don't appear than it should be....

And yeah, it's been very quiet lately. I'm sure people are still playing, but until the next expansion comes out we've pretty much hit a dead end as far as what is possible with modding. New graphics are always welcome, but there are only so many races allowed in the game (50) and it's very easy to hit that limit with existing mods, existing ship sets, and a little tinkering. More new races aren't all that interesting to me unless they have new shipset graphics, and I've already scoured the internet for every high quality set I can find. I think the EVE mod is the last big mod I'm personally looking forward to before the expansion.. however since that's a modding based expansion I'm sure it will liven up this place!

gaenues26
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 6:56 am

RE: MASS EFFECT MOD [wip]

Post by gaenues26 »

Hello I recently played DW and was hooked instantly after a while I have found this wonderful mod everything was good until this

An error has occured. Distant Worlds will now exit.


Details of the error are below:


Error Code: GxEmp


System.OutOfMemoryException: Out of Memory.
at System.Drawing.Graphics.CheckErrorStatus(Int32 status)
at System.Drawing.Graphics.DrawImage(Image image, Rectangle
destRect, Int32 srcX, Int32 srcY, Int32 srcWidth, Int32 srcHeight,
GraphicsUnit srcUnit, ImageAttributes imageAttrs, DrawImageAbort
callback, IntPtr callbackData)
at System.Drawing.Graphics.DrawImage(Image image,Rectangle
destRect, Int32 srcX, Int32 srcY, Int32 srcWidth, Int32 srcHeight,
GraphicsUnit srcUnit, ImageAttributes image Attr)
at DistantWorlds.Controls.MainView.JfatLRoxxyUkktCwV2i(Object,
Object, Rectangle, Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32, GraphicsUnit, Object)
at DistanWorlds.Controls.MainView.umo1aCM7vy(Bitmap&,
Bitmap&, Galaxy, Double)
at DistantWorlds.MainResetGalaxyDrops()
at DistantWorlds.MainResetGalaxyDropsBackgroundThread()
at DistantWorlds.Main.Tc6Q1gVkgK()
at DistantWorlds.Main.ProgramLoop()

could anyone please help me? I'm not really good when it comes to something like this but I play good and I have 1.9.0.6 patch and is using the dostillevi version of the mod and I was playing the system alliance faction
Mad Igor
Posts: 248
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 3:36 pm
Contact:

RE: MASS EFFECT MOD [wip]

Post by Mad Igor »

>Outdated version of the game.
fix your problem then try again.
oh,and READ errors they ARE self-explaining
System.OutOfMemoryException: Out of Memory.
gaenues26
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 6:56 am

RE: MASS EFFECT MOD [wip]

Post by gaenues26 »

Thank you for the help I was just so upset of the frequent crashes, forgive my ignorance and I have no idea shameful I am

dostillevi
Posts: 322
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 11:31 am

RE: MASS EFFECT MOD [wip]

Post by dostillevi »

Glad you got your answer Gaenues. This mod doesn't have very much memory footprint, no more than any mod for this game. The error you are having is a coding error, not due to the game using up all of your system's memory. If you are using this mod with an outdated version of the game that is likely your problem.
User avatar
Demonius
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany

RE: MASS EFFECT MOD [wip]

Post by Demonius »

So whats the chance of getting the Mass Effect Mod up to Universe Level?

I feel like I cant play without the little Mass Effect ships and music <_<
User avatar
ehsumrell1
Posts: 2529
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 7:53 am
Location: The Briar Patch Nebula
Contact:

RE: MASS EFFECT MOD [wip]

Post by ehsumrell1 »

ORIGINAL: Demonius

So whats the chance of getting the Mass Effect Mod up to Universe Level?

I feel like I cant play without the little Mass Effect ships and music <_<
Hello Demonius.

Being involved as a tester and modder myself, it is highly hoped that the myriad of
mods and enhancements that were made previously for the earlier expansions of Distant
Worlds will be soon updated by the authors. Some of the enhancement mods are already
in progress or completed.

Keep a watch on the Design & Modding forum over the next few weeks for updates. It will
most likely take a bit of time to overhaul and adapt some of the larger mods due to the
many additional things one can modify now. Be patient, we're all working on it! Enjoy
DW Universe!
[:)]
Shields are useless in "The Briar Patch"...
User avatar
Rahal
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 2:58 pm

RE: MASS EFFECT MOD [wip]

Post by Rahal »

As a new player with Universe I'd love to see this mod.

Can't imagine anything more glorious than Mass Effect theme for this game.
Mad Igor
Posts: 248
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 3:36 pm
Contact:

RE: MASS EFFECT MOD [wip]

Post by Mad Igor »

star wars ?
and it's not that hard to adapt it to U
User avatar
Deon
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 11:18 pm

RE: MASS EFFECT MOD [wip]

Post by Deon »

There're different types of Total Conversions which would work nicely. This is one of them for sure :). I've checked the old version and the amount of work put into it is insane. I really hope you find a desire and time later to work on this further.
User avatar
Rahal
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 2:58 pm

RE: MASS EFFECT MOD [wip]

Post by Rahal »

ORIGINAL: Mad Igor

star wars ?
and it's not that hard to adapt it to U

Like I said I'm new to this game so not that hard would have to be simply copying the Shadows' mod files into a theme folder for Universe. Would that work?
User avatar
Solarius Scorch
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 6:55 pm
Location: Cracow, Poland
Contact:

RE: MASS EFFECT MOD [wip]

Post by Solarius Scorch »

This thread explains the do-it-yourself upgrade to Universe: tm.asp?m=3617738

I haven't tried it myself yet though.
Forever Future 1.7 for Call to Power - the biggest mod for the best Civilization-like game ever!
User avatar
Demonius
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany

RE: MASS EFFECT MOD [wip]

Post by Demonius »

The biggest part seems to be touching all the race files due to the changed indices of the special techs/governments and the usage of -1 instead of 0 for nothing (and some added parametres to boot).

Secondary, the file organzation seems to have changed a bit - moving the ship and race and troop pictures into the correct folder is required. Although I'm not sure if I have spotted a self-induced bug here - in the Classic DW Mod, the new Folder structure suggested in the universe modding guide is ignored. The shipImage Folder shouldn't be correct in this case, it should rather be images/Units/ships? Didn't test it yet though.

Wont be able to work on this today or tomorrow, as I have to travel for work... maybe wednesday evening or thursday unless someone else has already done the work till then.
Mad Igor
Posts: 248
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 3:36 pm
Contact:

RE: MASS EFFECT MOD [wip]

Post by Mad Igor »

ORIGINAL: Rahal
simply copying the Shadows' mod files into a theme folder for Universe
LOL how's that a modding :DDD
Post Reply

Return to “Design and Modding”