Building ships automated or manual

Distant Worlds is a vast, pausable real-time, 4X space strategy game which models a "living galaxy" with incredible options for replayability and customizability. Experience the full depth and detail of large turn-based strategy games, but with the simplicity and ease of real-time, and on the scale of a massively-multiplayer online game. Now greatly enhanced with the new Universe release, which includes all four previous releases as well as the new Universe expansion!

Moderators: elliotg, Icemania

User avatar
Igard
Posts: 2282
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 2:43 am
Location: Scotland

Building ships automated or manual

Post by Igard »

One thing I still haven't got the hang of with RotS is building ships in automated or manual mode.

Before the expansion, I used to build all my fleet ships by right clicking the spaceport and selecting the ship from the build queue. This would line up a nice bunch of ships in manual mode waiting for assignment to their fleet.

If I wanted to build ships in automated mode, I opened up the construction screen for the spaceport and rattled off a bunch of escorts and frigates, then I didn't need to think about them again. They just got built and flew off on their own to save some mining stations.

So now I have to access 2 menus, click the 'newly built ships are automated' check box, then exit the 2 menus each time I want to build a patrol fleet. Sometimes I don't even know what mode I'm in!

Am I missing some new UI feature that makes this easier? It seems as though there should be a toggle somewhere on the game screen. Just a quick switch and I can build either some patrol ships or some fleet ships.

User avatar
ehsumrell1
Posts: 2529
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 7:53 am
Location: The Briar Patch Nebula
Contact:

RE: Building ships automated or manual

Post by ehsumrell1 »

Igard, what are your settings on the Policy menu set to?
Shields are useless in "The Briar Patch"...
User avatar
Igard
Posts: 2282
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 2:43 am
Location: Scotland

RE: Building ships automated or manual

Post by Igard »

Total manual control. And it's staying like that. [;)]
User avatar
the1sean
Posts: 854
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:04 pm
Location: Texas, USA

RE: Building ships automated or manual

Post by the1sean »

Hmm, you can build all the ships you need in the new "Build Orders" screen (F9), or you can do it by clicking on the spaceport and using the bottons that show up below the info pane.

The way I deal with automation is that I go into the "ships and Bases" screen and manually assign the ships to fleets, and at the same time I turn off their automation. Hope this helps [:)]
forsaken1111
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 6:30 am

RE: Building ships automated or manual

Post by forsaken1111 »

I really don't understand what the OP is asking. Do you not like toggling the automation of ships from the ships and bases screen?
User avatar
Igard
Posts: 2282
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 2:43 am
Location: Scotland

RE: Building ships automated or manual

Post by Igard »

ORIGINAL: forsaken1111

I really don't understand what the OP is asking. Do you not like toggling the automation of ships from the ships and bases screen?

Correct, I don't. I like to have my ships waiting at the spaceport for me to assign to a fleet. I've obviously got an unusual way of doing it.

The way I see it, ships are either built to be part of a fleet, or to go on pirate patrol. Ships destined to be part of a fleet should wait at the spaceport without burning any fuel.

I like the 'build order' screen for building my patrol ships. That's great, but for my fleet ships, I'd rather have them sitting idle waiting for me. Remember Cruisers and Capital ships burn more fuel. I'd like to be in control of them.

Maybe I need to change the way I play. Assiging ships on patrol to join fleets, but I don't like having cruisers and capital ships on automated. I'm strange like that.

Basically I'm wondering why an important option was buried inside 2 menus, when it could tuck away nicely in a corner of the screen somewhere. [&:]
forsaken1111
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 6:30 am

RE: Building ships automated or manual

Post by forsaken1111 »

To avoid toggling the empire-wide automation on and off you could just build ALL ships with automation off and manually toggle the few which are destined for escort duty. I agree that the option is a bit buried tho.
User avatar
Igard
Posts: 2282
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 2:43 am
Location: Scotland

RE: Building ships automated or manual

Post by Igard »

Yeah, I've already tried that. It's not possible if I'm using the build order screen, because those ships could be built anywhere in my empire. And it's not possible to select a group of ships being constructed at a space port, so I'd have to select each of them manually. In any case I prefer using the build order for patrol ships.

I'll put this on the wishlist thread. I thought maybe there was some option I was missing, but it's just my weird playing style again causing me problems. [:(]

Thanks for the help all. [:)]
forsaken1111
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 6:30 am

RE: Building ships automated or manual

Post by forsaken1111 »

ORIGINAL: Igard

Yeah, I've already tried that. It's not possible if I'm using the build order screen, because those ships could be built anywhere in my empire. And it's not possible to select a group of ships being constructed at a space port, so I'd have to select each of them manually. In any case I prefer using the build order for patrol ships.

I'll put this on the wishlist thread. I thought maybe there was some option I was missing, but it's just my weird playing style again causing me problems. [:(]

Thanks for the help all. [:)]

See I just have everything automated by default and then I use the ships and bases window to pick whichever ships I want in fleets. Once they're in a fleet I can easily turn off and on their automation.
User avatar
Igard
Posts: 2282
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 2:43 am
Location: Scotland

RE: Building ships automated or manual

Post by Igard »

I find that when I've got more than 100 ships, it gets a bit busy in the ships and bases screen. It opens a little bit slower and it's not so easy to find the ships that are just off the line.
User avatar
the1sean
Posts: 854
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:04 pm
Location: Texas, USA

RE: Building ships automated or manual

Post by the1sean »

ORIGINAL: Igard

I find that when I've got more than 100 ships, it gets a bit busy in the ships and bases screen. It opens a little bit slower and it's not so easy to find the ships that are just off the line.

Yeah, I leave "build automated" on all the time. Then I sort the ships and bases screen for military and then sort by class. Usually I only use escorts and frigates for escort duty, and destroyers on up for fleets. (late game I sometimes start using destroyers for escorts, too, and then only use cruisers and capitals for fleets)

I find that this makes it extremely easy to organize the list and setup which ones go in fleets. Just my way of organizing the chaos [:)]
User avatar
Igard
Posts: 2282
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 2:43 am
Location: Scotland

RE: Building ships automated or manual

Post by Igard »

We all have our own ways of playing. That's something that I find very endearing about DW.

I like to have some frigates in amongst my fleet also as some extra fire power. I just find it makes the fleet more dynamic and stronger with smaller more manoeuvrable ships to bolset it. I won't go into all the class variants I use such as missile frigates etc.


User avatar
BigWolfChris
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 4:26 pm
Contact:

RE: Building ships automated or manual

Post by BigWolfChris »

I have mine set to manual
Don't want to risk the AI building too much lol
AMD Ryzen 7 2700X 8 Core @3.7GHz
2x16 GB Vengeance LPX 2666MHz RAM
MSI RTX 2070 Armor 8G
SSD Drive
User avatar
Igard
Posts: 2282
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 2:43 am
Location: Scotland

RE: Building ships automated or manual

Post by Igard »

ORIGINAL: BigWolf

I have mine set to manual
Don't want to risk the AI building too much lol

I don't mean that, BigWolf. I mean the option for newly constructed ships to be manual or automated. So when I build one of those giant, fuel guzzling Capital ships, I don't want it going flying off on it's own.

However, when I build a fleet of escorts and frigates, I do want them to immediately get on with business without my instructions.

A toggle on the main screen would be ideal. I'm trying to play the way the1sean and Forsaken1111 have instructed me, but I can't get used to it. [:(]
User avatar
BigWolfChris
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 4:26 pm
Contact:

RE: Building ships automated or manual

Post by BigWolfChris »

Oh sorry :oops: lol
Yeah, I have them automatically to AI control, but I will pick a couple of fleets for personal missions lol

But once you hit multiple cap ships fuel should be plentiful, I don't mind them wasting it tbh
AMD Ryzen 7 2700X 8 Core @3.7GHz
2x16 GB Vengeance LPX 2666MHz RAM
MSI RTX 2070 Armor 8G
SSD Drive
User avatar
the1sean
Posts: 854
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:04 pm
Location: Texas, USA

RE: Building ships automated or manual

Post by the1sean »

ORIGINAL: Igard

...when I build one of those giant, fuel guzzling Capital ships, I don't want it going flying off on it's own.

However, when I build a fleet of escorts and frigates, I do want them to immediately get on with business without my instructions.

A toggle on the main screen would be ideal. I'm trying to play the way the1sean and Forsaken1111 have instructed me, but I can't get used to it. [:(]

Yeah I used to use the different order methods depending on whether I wanted the ship automated or not, so my suggestions are just the way I adapted to the current game build [:)]
User avatar
moonraker65
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 3:11 pm
Location: Swindon,Wilts. UK

RE: Building ships automated or manual

Post by moonraker65 »

Slightly Noob Question - What are the advantages (Apart from the obvious) of putting ship and base design on Manual ? I've left everything on Auto more or less at the moment whilst learning to play the game. Is it better to leave things on Auto for a while or jump in to designing your own ships and bases after a while ?
User avatar
the1sean
Posts: 854
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:04 pm
Location: Texas, USA

RE: Building ships automated or manual

Post by the1sean »

ORIGINAL: moonraker

Slightly Noob Question - What are the advantages (Apart from the obvious) of putting ship and base design on Manual ? I've left everything on Auto more or less at the moment whilst learning to play the game. Is it better to leave things on Auto for a while or jump in to designing your own ships and bases after a while ?

Hey moonraker, it's all about customization. I usually leave things on auto until things get more interesting in the late game. It's all just a matter of preference.
User avatar
Data
Posts: 3909
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 4:43 pm

RE: Building ships automated or manual

Post by Data »

I for one don't like the fact that even from the get go all my ships are underpowered by desing and don't get the maximum hyperspeed. So I modify them to add another reactor, collectors to save fuel while the civ ships are idle (which they tend to do a lot), more engines to make them faster and more maneuvrable and so on....

I didn't test this properly but these two simple changes do impact greatly at the start of the game....i started one game with auto designs and caslon depletion tanked me quickly; I started the same game with these changes and I was more than ok

Note that even in this case you can still leave the designs on auto and the AI will consider your changes as well. Just one of the many great things about this fenomenal game.
...Igniting stellar cores....Recharging reactors...Recalibrating hyperdrives....
Anonymous

[Deleted]

Post by Anonymous »

[Deleted by Admins]
Post Reply

Return to “Distant Worlds 1 Series”