Patch 6 requests?

Post bug reports and ask for help with other issues here.

Moderators: wdolson, MOD_War-in-the-Pacific-Admirals-Edition

Post Reply
Flying Tiger
Posts: 496
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:45 pm
Location: ummmm... i HATE that question!

Patch 6 requests?

Post by Flying Tiger »

Is there anywhere 'official' where we are supposed to add patch requests? Or do we just keep on adding them randomly to random threads and leave the devs to comb through everything to find the good ideas amongst the.... errrr.... less good ideas??!

Anyway, my requests:

- add a hyperlink between ops report and the ship/tf/base/unit/etc in question
- fix the map scrolling when setting search arcs on the map. The map does not scroll as it is now.
- make some sense of pilot replacements. Currently when selecting 'veterans' some are added to the squadron (with a delay in days), some just dissappear. Not sure why???
- mark ships/subs that have been sighted (or have a DL above x).

thats it for now.

Thanks for your amazing support of a great game.
davbaker
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 2:54 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

RE: Patch 6 requests?

Post by davbaker »

make some sense of pilot replacements. Currently when selecting 'veterans' some are added to the squadron (with a delay in days), some just dissappear. Not sure why???

Pretty sure that if the delay for the pilot to transfer to the squadron is >7 days he will not appear on the list until its <7 days , or something like that ;)


StoneAge
Posts: 1305
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 1:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

RE: Patch 6 requests?

Post by StoneAge »

make some sense of pilot replacements. Currently when selecting 'veterans' some are added to the squadron (with a delay in days), some just dissappear. Not sure why???

I get this one too select 10 pilots from the list. 4 show up in the sentai list with delays the others just disappear. Have checked this by writing down their names and stats and then trying to find them after they disappear from the list with out any luck. If they return months later I have not found them yet.
User avatar
n01487477
Posts: 4755
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 12:00 am

RE: Patch 6 requests?

Post by n01487477 »

ORIGINAL: StoneAge
make some sense of pilot replacements. Currently when selecting 'veterans' some are added to the squadron (with a delay in days), some just dissappear. Not sure why???

I get this one too select 10 pilots from the list. 4 show up in the sentai list with delays the others just disappear. Have checked this by writing down their names and stats and then trying to find them after they disappear from the list with out any luck. If they return months later I have not found them yet.
They do return ...
Tracker has them (if you want to check)

I don't mind not being able to see the pilots (although it'd be nice to see them), but I'd like the true numbers to be reflected on the main airgroup screen as they are in the pilot(airgroup sub-screen) ... and for that matter on the airgroup list would be an added bonus ...

Thanks MichaelM for all your work.
User avatar
LoBaron
Posts: 4775
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2003 8:23 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria

RE: Patch 6 requests?

Post by LoBaron »

ORIGINAL: n01487477

ORIGINAL: StoneAge
make some sense of pilot replacements. Currently when selecting 'veterans' some are added to the squadron (with a delay in days), some just dissappear. Not sure why???

I get this one too select 10 pilots from the list. 4 show up in the sentai list with delays the others just disappear. Have checked this by writing down their names and stats and then trying to find them after they disappear from the list with out any luck. If they return months later I have not found them yet.
They do return ...
Tracker has them (if you want to check)

I don't mind not being able to see the pilots (although it'd be nice to see them), but I'd like the true numbers to be reflected on the main airgroup screen as they are in the pilot(airgroup sub-screen) ... and for that matter on the airgroup list would be an added bonus ...

Thanks MichaelM for all your work.

I think this happens when the transfer time to the squad is greater than 7(?) for whatever reason.
True, tracker has them, still I´d prefer to see them in game. Happened to me several times that I pulled a couple too many pilots from the replacent pools
because I assumed there were none on the way.
Not really a critical issue but a bit annoying.
Image
User avatar
cantona2
Posts: 3749
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 2:45 pm
Location: Gibraltar

RE: Patch 6 requests?

Post by cantona2 »

ORIGINAL: StoneAge
make some sense of pilot replacements. Currently when selecting 'veterans' some are added to the squadron (with a delay in days), some just dissappear. Not sure why???

I get this one too select 10 pilots from the list. 4 show up in the sentai list with delays the others just disappear. Have checked this by writing down their names and stats and then trying to find them after they disappear from the list with out any luck. If they return months later I have not found them yet.


As Damian says above, Tracker shows when they arrive. Its become part of my initial turn setup. I read down the Alerts list in Tracker and see to those that require attention. The message Pilot Such and Such has Arrived (Such and Such Sqn) is the message you're after.
1966 was a great year for English Football...Eric was born

mgoldstein
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 1:08 am

RE: Patch 6 requests?

Post by mgoldstein »

Getting closer with attack bombers, but...

1) Still need the ability to train bomber pilots at strafing, including dive and torpedo bombers.
2) Sending my attack bombers in at > 5000, but seeing skill increases in high-level land bombing skill. Logic bug?

And overall, I'd like to see strafing tweaked to make it a bit more potent, especially in airfield and ground strikes.

-Strafing Fanboy
---
Strafing fanboy
User avatar
n01487477
Posts: 4755
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 12:00 am

RE: Patch 6 requests?

Post by n01487477 »

ORIGINAL: mgoldstein

Getting closer with attack bombers, but...

1) Still need the ability to train bomber pilots at strafing, including dive and torpedo bombers.
2) Sending my attack bombers in at > 5000, but seeing skill increases in high-level land bombing skill. Logic bug?

And overall, I'd like to see strafing tweaked to make it a bit more potent, especially in airfield and ground strikes.

-Strafing Fanboy
MichealM said something about that in this thread ... iirc
tm.asp?m=2622637&mpage=1&key=?

[edit] No2. might be a bug though ...
User avatar
n01487477
Posts: 4755
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 12:00 am

RE: Patch 6 requests?

Post by n01487477 »

ORIGINAL: cantona2
ORIGINAL: StoneAge
make some sense of pilot replacements. Currently when selecting 'veterans' some are added to the squadron (with a delay in days), some just dissappear. Not sure why???

I get this one too select 10 pilots from the list. 4 show up in the sentai list with delays the others just disappear. Have checked this by writing down their names and stats and then trying to find them after they disappear from the list with out any luck. If they return months later I have not found them yet.
As Damian says above, Tracker shows when they arrive. Its become part of my initial turn setup. I read down the Alerts list in Tracker and see to those that require attention. The message Pilot Such and Such has Arrived (Such and Such Sqn) is the message you're after.
Sorry for the slight derail --
Which reminds me ... I need to improve it a bit [;)] I think pilots that arrive in groups which have been delayed by the editor don't need to be activated ... or something like that.
User avatar
afspret
Posts: 851
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 9:05 pm
Location: Hanahan, SC

RE: Patch 6 requests?

Post by afspret »

Hows about addin' the Curtiss SC-1/2 Seahawk?
John E. McCallum
User avatar
jwilkerson
Posts: 7833
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2002 4:02 am
Location: Kansas
Contact:

RE: Patch 6 requests?

Post by jwilkerson »

ORIGINAL: Flying Tiger
Is there anywhere 'official' where we are supposed to add patch requests? Or do we just keep on adding them randomly to random threads and leave the devs to comb through everything to find the good ideas amongst the.... errrr.... less good ideas??!

Patch 06 is "done" except for testing ... it is 99% bug fixes ... oh ... and we never have problems finding ideas for changes - they are EVERY WHERE !!! ... so no need to worry on that score!

AE Project Lead
New Game Project Lead
User avatar
RJL5188
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 1:36 am

RE: Patch 6 requests?

Post by RJL5188 »

another idea for patch...on the guadalcanal scenario...at 1920x1080 resolution...map scrolling is a very jumpy...maybe increase the size of the map area by a few hexes...
"Remember. This is a military operation. They NEVER go according to plan." ---Gen. Beck to Col. Stauffenberg (VALKYRIE)
Image
Flying Tiger
Posts: 496
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:45 pm
Location: ummmm... i HATE that question!

RE: Patch 6 requests?

Post by Flying Tiger »

ORIGINAL: jwilkerson

ORIGINAL: Flying Tiger
Is there anywhere 'official' where we are supposed to add patch requests? Or do we just keep on adding them randomly to random threads and leave the devs to comb through everything to find the good ideas amongst the.... errrr.... less good ideas??!

Patch 06 is "done" except for testing ... it is 99% bug fixes ... oh ... and we never have problems finding ideas for changes - they are EVERY WHERE !!! ... so no need to worry on that score!



Thanks for the response! Nice to know someone 'official' does come through from time to time.

Did any of my requests get in the patch? The definition of 'bug fixes' can be rather broad sometimes....
User avatar
Reg
Posts: 2786
Joined: Fri May 26, 2000 8:00 am
Location: NSW, Australia

RE: Patch 6 requests?

Post by Reg »

ORIGINAL: rjl518

another idea for patch...on the guadalcanal scenario...at 1920x1080 resolution...map scrolling is a very jumpy...maybe increase the size of the map area by a few hexes...

Another way of approaching this problem is to set up a number of shortcuts as I have below and use the resolution just a bit smaller than the map size. Each shortcut has the appropriate command line parameters set.



Image
Attachments
AE_Shortcuts.gif
AE_Shortcuts.gif (30.92 KiB) Not viewed yet
Cheers,
Reg.

(One day I will learn to spell - or check before posting....)
Uh oh, Firefox has a spell checker!! What excuse can I use now!!!
Brock007
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 1:43 am

RE: Patch 6 requests?

Post by Brock007 »

Please, Please, Please put ALL of the scenarios on a patch so simple people like myself do not have to disturb their middle school kids and have them do it for me. My zip left me a few years back.
User avatar
dorjun driver
Posts: 641
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 2:17 am
Location: Port Townsend: hex 210,51
Contact:

RE: Patch 6 requests?

Post by dorjun driver »

ORIGINAL: rjl518

another idea for patch...on the guadalcanal scenario...at 1920x1080 resolution...map scrolling is a very jumpy...maybe increase the size of the map area by a few hexes...

Use the editor to add a hex to either end of the x axis. Save in vacant slot. Voila!
x - ARPAnaut
x - ACM
x - AES
Current - Bum

Image

The paths of glory may lead you to the grave, but the paths of duty may not get you anywhere.
JT
User avatar
Reg
Posts: 2786
Joined: Fri May 26, 2000 8:00 am
Location: NSW, Australia

RE: Patch 6 requests?

Post by Reg »


I wonder if it were to be possible to fix the Fog Of War routines so the aircraft lost totals in the information screens reflect the unconfirmed loss of carriers.

If you read several AARs, you will see players making decisions based on sudden jumps in the number of carrier planes in the "lost on ground" category despite the fate of the carrier itself being unknown.

Seems strange that the fate of a 35,000 ton aircraft carrier is unknown but the intel on the aircraft stored below its decks is accurate.

Possibly the number of aircraft on an unconfirmed loss should be subtracted from the aircraft lost total and reinstated when the carrier loss is confirmed. It would really mess with the players heads if aircraft on falsely reported carrier losses were added to the total as well (and removed later).

Cheers,
Reg.

(One day I will learn to spell - or check before posting....)
Uh oh, Firefox has a spell checker!! What excuse can I use now!!!
Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”