A Bit About "Medieval: Total War I"

Gamers can also use this forum to chat about any game related subject, news, rumours etc.

Moderator: maddog986

User avatar
KG Erwin
Posts: 8366
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Cross Lanes WV USA

A Bit About "Medieval: Total War I"

Post by KG Erwin »

Yeah, I still play this one, with the Viking Expansion and Viking Horde's XL Mod. Anyway, I got tired of the frontend music, so I inserted "Dracula: The Beginning", from the soundtrack to "Bram Stoker's Dracula". It sounds medieval enough, and it works well. I started a campaign as the Hungarians, who own the Carpathian region. As a matter of fact, one of the later Hungarian faction's hero units just happens to be Vlad "The Impaler" Tepes. Romania/Carpathia/Wallachia is not a playable faction.

The Hungarians in this game offer several options, and must counter threats from the petty kingdoms of Bohemia and Serbia, whilst becoming an invasion path for both the pagan eastern barbarians and the western Crusaders. There is also Byzantium, who in the 11th century was still a power to be reckoned with.

This game has worn well, as I tend to focus on the strategic/economic/diplomatic aspects and auto-resolve the tactical battles. The XL Mod offers enough differences to keep this 7-year-old game interesting.
Image
User avatar
06 Maestro
Posts: 3989
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 10:50 pm
Location: Nevada, USA

RE: A Bit About "Medieval: Total War I"

Post by 06 Maestro »

I bought MW2 a few years ago, but never played it. I gave it to my son, but intended on getting some use from it myself. It turns out the key was on the rule book which is MIA-so I can't install it. A pity as the box and CD look like brand new, and I really wanted to try the game-not gunna buy it twice though.

Another reason to buy from Matrix (and watch what you trust a kid with).
Banking establishments are more dangerous than standing armies.

Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
SS Hauptsturmfuhrer
Posts: 358
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 4:01 am

RE: A Bit About "Medieval: Total War I"

Post by SS Hauptsturmfuhrer »

ORIGINAL: 06 Maestro

I bought MW2 a few years ago, but never played it. I gave it to my son, but intended on getting some use from it myself. It turns out the key was on the rule book which is MIA-so I can't install it. A pity as the box and CD look like brand new, and I really wanted to try the game-not gunna buy it twice though.

Another reason to buy from Matrix (and watch what you trust a kid with).

How many times have you put a Matrix CD in the drive and then had to take it out again to see the serial number cause you forgot to write it down first? I guess it's no big deal unless you have a drive with a broken door that needs to be wrestled with for several minutes before it agrees to open.
User avatar
PunkReaper
Posts: 1003
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:27 pm
Location: England

RE: A Bit About "Medieval: Total War I"

Post by PunkReaper »

I always copy the serial number from my confirmation e-mail, load the game then paste it in...... no problem
User avatar
SS Hauptsturmfuhrer
Posts: 358
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 4:01 am

RE: A Bit About "Medieval: Total War I"

Post by SS Hauptsturmfuhrer »

ORIGINAL: Punk Reaper

I always copy the serial number from my confirmation e-mail, load the game then paste it in...... no problem

I was talking about the CD version.
mikul82
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 4:02 pm

RE: A Bit About "Medieval: Total War I"

Post by mikul82 »

I LOVE this game, it was the last of the TW series that had an even competent and fun AI without heavy modding.  The XL mod just made it even better.

Unfortunately, it won't work properly on newer GeForce cards, which is what I have in both my desktop and laptop now- no more MTW for me for awhile :(


killroyishere
Posts: 639
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 1:12 pm

RE: A Bit About "Medieval: Total War I"

Post by killroyishere »

What do you mean mic82? How new GeForce cards don't work?
User avatar
Southernland
Posts: 2283
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 6:51 pm

RE: A Bit About "Medieval: Total War I"

Post by Southernland »

yeah medieval got me started on the totalwar series and in many ways still has the best gameplay but you can't beat medieval kingdoms with the stainlessteel 6.1 mod for pretty pictures (and reasonable if repetitive battles)
¡¡ʎɐqǝ uo pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ɐ ʎnq oʇ ƃuıoƃ ɯɐ ı ǝɯıʇ ʇsɐן ǝɥʇ sı sıɥʇ
User avatar
Perturabo
Posts: 2447
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 5:32 pm
Contact:

RE: A Bit About "Medieval: Total War I"

Post by Perturabo »

ORIGINAL: SS Hauptsturmfuhrer

How many times have you put a Matrix CD in the drive and then had to take it out again to see the serial number cause you forgot to write it down first? I guess it's no big deal unless you have a drive with a broken door that needs to be wrestled with for several minutes before it agrees to open.
IIRC, the setup writes that the CD key is on a disc and on a CD sleeve. The problem is that no CD-sleeve is included. So, it should also be on a separate piece of paper, because putting CD-key on CD only is kinda counter-intuitive.
People shouldn't ask themselves why schools get shoot up.
They should ask themselves why people who finish schools burned out due to mobbing aren't receiving high enough compensations to not seek vengeance.
User avatar
V22 Osprey
Posts: 1593
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 2:07 pm
Location: Corona, CA

RE: A Bit About "Medieval: Total War I"

Post by V22 Osprey »

Well, I like the matrix approach.No keeping up with a million CD keys.With matrix as long as you have the CD Disc you have the CD key.

On topic:I've never had any of the Total War games, I would like to try Empire:Total War but I still have more games on Matrix and HPS to buy.
ImageImage
Art by rogueusmc.
User avatar
Perturabo
Posts: 2447
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 5:32 pm
Contact:

RE: A Bit About "Medieval: Total War I"

Post by Perturabo »

Well, having a CD-key on CD in case it gets lost is good. Having to write it down from CD is bad.

I have never played any of the Total War games too. I considered buying one some time ago, but it turned out that they are on DVD and I don't have a DVD-rom XD .
People shouldn't ask themselves why schools get shoot up.
They should ask themselves why people who finish schools burned out due to mobbing aren't receiving high enough compensations to not seek vengeance.
User avatar
V22 Osprey
Posts: 1593
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 2:07 pm
Location: Corona, CA

RE: A Bit About "Medieval: Total War I"

Post by V22 Osprey »

ORIGINAL: Perturabo

Well, having a CD-key on CD in case it gets lost is good. Having to write it down from CD is bad.

I have never played any of the Total War games too. I considered buying one some time ago, but it turned out that they are on DVD and I don't have a DVD-rom XD .

Whats so bad about writing it down from the CD? All you have to do is write down a few numbers. Not to sound mean but that's just pure laziness.
ImageImage
Art by rogueusmc.
User avatar
KG Erwin
Posts: 8366
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Cross Lanes WV USA

RE: A Bit About "Medieval: Total War I"

Post by KG Erwin »

Hold on. I've installed/uninstalled The Total War Battle Collection (MTW I/Viking Expansion) several times, and not once have I been asked for a CD key. Of course, it helps that I registered the game when I first installed it.
Image
User avatar
06 Maestro
Posts: 3989
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 10:50 pm
Location: Nevada, USA

RE: A Bit About "Medieval: Total War I"

Post by 06 Maestro »

ORIGINAL: KG Erwin

Hold on. I've installed/uninstalled The Total War Battle Collection (MTW I/Viking Expansion) several times, and not once have I been asked for a CD key. Of course, it helps that I registered the game when I first installed it.
Did you buy it from a retail outlet?
Banking establishments are more dangerous than standing armies.

Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
KG Erwin
Posts: 8366
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2000 8:00 am
Location: Cross Lanes WV USA

RE: A Bit About "Medieval: Total War I"

Post by KG Erwin »

Yes, It WAS bought from a retail outlet.
Image
User avatar
06 Maestro
Posts: 3989
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 10:50 pm
Location: Nevada, USA

RE: A Bit About "Medieval: Total War I"

Post by 06 Maestro »

ORIGINAL: KG Erwin

Yes, It WAS bought from a retail outlet.

Well, by golly, so was mine. I will give it a try tonight.
Banking establishments are more dangerous than standing armies.

Thomas Jefferson

sapper_astro
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 2:10 pm

RE: A Bit About "Medieval: Total War I"

Post by sapper_astro »

He is talking about number one. I believe you said you have number 2 Maestro?
User avatar
06 Maestro
Posts: 3989
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 10:50 pm
Location: Nevada, USA

RE: A Bit About "Medieval: Total War I"

Post by 06 Maestro »

ORIGINAL: sapper_astro

He is talking about number one. I believe you said you have number 2 Maestro?

Yep, I have (?) MTW 2. Hopefully they have the same install format. It looked like an interesting game, but never had a chance to play it.
Banking establishments are more dangerous than standing armies.

Thomas Jefferson

sapper_astro
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 2:10 pm

RE: A Bit About "Medieval: Total War I"

Post by sapper_astro »

2 requires the cd key as far as I remember. If you have bought the proper copy, and just lost the key, you may have to use a keygen for it.
User avatar
Perturabo
Posts: 2447
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 5:32 pm
Contact:

RE: A Bit About "Medieval: Total War I"

Post by Perturabo »

ORIGINAL: V22 Osprey

Whats so bad about writing it down from the CD? All you have to do is write down a few numbers. Not to sound mean but that's just pure laziness.
And what's the point of putting a serial number in a place where it can't be seen during the installation?
People shouldn't ask themselves why schools get shoot up.
They should ask themselves why people who finish schools burned out due to mobbing aren't receiving high enough compensations to not seek vengeance.
Post Reply

Return to “General Discussion”