cannot build lancers

This sequel to the award-winning Crown of Glory takes Napoleonic Grand Strategy to a whole new level. This represents a complete overhaul of the original release, including countless improvements and innovations ranging from detailed Naval combat and brigade-level Land combat to an improved AI, unit upgrades, a more detailed Strategic Map and a new simplified Economy option. More historical AND more fun than the original!

Moderator: MOD_WestCiv

Post Reply
smeilof
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2001 8:00 am

cannot build lancers

Post by smeilof »

The manual states that barracks level 7 is required to build lancers, playing as France i start with a level 7 barracks in Isle the France, but i cannot build lancers in that province?? am i missing something? [&:]
Kingmaker
Posts: 1678
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 7:38 pm

RE: cannot build lancers

Post by Kingmaker »

HiHi
 
?? posibly Textiles ??, I think Lancers are somewhat demanding of that resource, but thats just a guess.
 
All the Best
Peter
smeilof
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2001 8:00 am

RE: cannot build lancers

Post by smeilof »

No that's not it, units that you can build but do not have enough resources for ARE in the build list, they are just not highlighted. Lancers just do not appear in the list at all, despite having the required level 7 barracks. [:(]

Thx for you help though

Mus
Posts: 1716
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 1:23 am

RE: cannot build lancers

Post by Mus »

Im having the same situation with trying to build Turkish Artillery in one of my PBEM games.  I have the 3 factories Im supposed to need and it doesnt appear in the list.
Mindset, Tactics, Skill, Equipment
Diligentia, Vis, Celeritas
dude
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 7:16 am
Location: Fairfax Virginia

RE: cannot build lancers

Post by dude »

Regarding Lancers: Check to see if you've hit your limit... in the Master.txt file in the data folder there are some units that have a maximum number that can be built.  I'm showing 6 in that file.  So if you already have six or more then you won't be able to build more and none will show up in the build list ( I know I've hit the limit on Rif-Inf before and they don't show up.)

“Ifs defeated the Confederates…” U.S.Grant
moose1999
Posts: 781
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 12:41 pm

RE: cannot build lancers

Post by moose1999 »

I've had the same problem playing Sweden.
Couldn't build lancers although I had all the requirements.
regards,

Briny
User avatar
Mr. Z
Posts: 1047
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 5:33 pm

RE: cannot build lancers

Post by Mr. Z »

Yes, in addition to the national mobilization limits for total units, there are individual unit mobilization limits. The patch should have more complete documentation on this.
Mus
Posts: 1716
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 1:23 am

RE: cannot build lancers

Post by Mus »

ORIGINAL: Mr. Z

Yes, in addition to the national mobilization limits for total units, there are individual unit mobilization limits. The patch should have more complete documentation on this.

It doesnt sound to me like the OP has any lancers yet, I think theres something more significant going on.

PS In one of my French saves I cant build lancers where I ought to either, and I have zero lancers in that game as well.

See also: tm.asp?m=2099197 . I think there may be some unit building bugs goin on. Either that or there are some hidden requirements not discussed in the manual or appendix.

PPS I believe this might be a typo or something as in another save where I have a level 8 barracks I am able to build lancers. In the other thread, when I have a level 4 factory (3 factory dots filled in) maybe I will be able to build artillery.
Mindset, Tactics, Skill, Equipment
Diligentia, Vis, Celeritas
smeilof
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2001 8:00 am

RE: cannot build lancers

Post by smeilof »

It doesnt sound to me like the OP has any lancers yet

True i only have the one unit of lancers that france starts the 1792 scenario with, surely there is not a unit cap of one for lancers. So it has to be somekind of bug [:(]
User avatar
Hard Sarge
Posts: 22145
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2000 8:00 am
Location: garfield hts ohio usa
Contact:

RE: cannot build lancers

Post by Hard Sarge »

answer maybe simple, what is your culture level in the province you have the large barracks at ?

Lancers need a level 7 Barracks and a level 4 culture
Image
smeilof
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2001 8:00 am

RE: cannot build lancers

Post by smeilof »

Lancers need a level 7 Barracks and a level 4 culture

I looked into that and isle the france starts with level 5 culture and level 7 barracks so that should meet the requirements for the lancers.

Thanks for the tip though, i didn't know that culture was required
User avatar
Mr. Z
Posts: 1047
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 5:33 pm

RE: cannot build lancers

Post by Mr. Z »

ORIGINAL: smeilof
It doesnt sound to me like the OP has any lancers yet

True i only have the one unit of lancers that france starts the 1792 scenario with, surely there is not a unit cap of one for lancers. So it has to be somekind of bug [:(]
But are you at your mobilization limit in general?
Mus
Posts: 1716
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 1:23 am

RE: cannot build lancers

Post by Mus »

Put a screenshot of your production que like I did in the artillery thread so people can see your mob limit your development levels, etc.
Mindset, Tactics, Skill, Equipment
Diligentia, Vis, Celeritas
Post Reply

Return to “Crown of Glory: Emperor's Edition”