Vista 64 Update Problem

Here is the place to get and give support to your fellow gamers. This is NOT an official game support conference but a place for general tech support. All questions are welcomed, basic, advanced, software or hardware.
Post Reply
User avatar
Charles2222
Posts: 3687
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2001 10:00 am

Vista 64 Update Problem

Post by Charles2222 »

I got one of those about a week ago. My guess is that it wrecked my sound system, as the sound was totally lost about that time. All the places I know to check the sound card show no problem. The monitor, where the sound should come from, makes a sound (a dull thud) that is common for switched off speakers (when I do so), so that definitely isn't the problem. I'm thinking of trying going to the OS version before that very recent update. Anybody know how I do that easily? I'm thinking it's one of the options off of or around the safe boot startup options. Is that correct, and do you have any other ideas, and have you had such a recent update and it did the exact same thing? I'm running off a HDTV generic monitor BTW. I think the monitor has caused some BSOD's in the past, but for the time being I'm willing to deal with that, and I haven't had any BSOD's in the time frame that the sound was lost and the update came out.
User avatar
Charles2222
Posts: 3687
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2001 10:00 am

RE: Vista 64 Update Problem

Post by Charles2222 »

Case closed.
User avatar
Charles2222
Posts: 3687
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2001 10:00 am

RE: Vista 64 Update Problem

Post by Charles2222 »

Actually not entirely closed. Here's something frustrating for those of you who ever really get a bad update of any sort. At least for Vista it is this way, but then I never had to back off an update with XP, and that is the backtracking is only good for directly after you did it. The next reboot and it will automatically reload that same update. There may be a way to turn auto-updates off, but I don't know of the way offhand. Good thing in my case though, the sound still works despite that. So probably what happened is I screwed up something else along with the update. I think I may had not fully let the first update load and didn't realize it. It can get a bit difficult to do it properly at times since it's trying to install when you're shutting down.
Anonymous

[Deleted]

Post by Anonymous »

[Deleted by Admins]
Anonymous

[Deleted]

Post by Anonymous »

[Deleted by Admins]
Anonymous

[Deleted]

Post by Anonymous »

[Deleted by Admins]
Post Reply

Return to “Unofficial Tech Support By Gamers for Gamers”