British ships

Share your gameplay tips, secret tactics and fabulous strategies with fellow gamers.

Moderators: wdolson, Don Bowen, mogami

Post Reply
canadaexile
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 8:59 pm
Location: Halifax Canada

British ships

Post by canadaexile »

I am playing the stock 15 scenario.
I am playing against the jap AI.
As I am new to the game I have left the Indian/Chinese areas in computor control.
Question
Does it automatically withdraw the british units or do I have to withdraw them myself?
User avatar
rtrapasso
Posts: 22653
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2002 4:31 am

RE: British ships

Post by rtrapasso »

ORIGINAL: canadaexile

I am playing the stock 15 scenario.
I am playing against the jap AI.
As I am new to the game I have left the Indian/Chinese areas in computor control.
Question
Does it automatically withdraw the british units or do I have to withdraw them myself?
You must withdraw them yourself... there are probably 17 gazillion threads in the War Room about this about the procedure for doing this.

EDIT:
Here's one:
fb.asp?m=1927026
canadaexile
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 8:59 pm
Location: Halifax Canada

RE: British ships

Post by canadaexile »

I agree that there are threads about how to do this, I was just wondering if the computors did it for you when you had that area under computor control.
I asked the question because when I did a search I couldn't find that particular answer.
Cheers for the reply
User avatar
rtrapasso
Posts: 22653
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2002 4:31 am

RE: British ships

Post by rtrapasso »

ORIGINAL: canadaexile

I agree that there are threads about how to do this, I was just wondering if the computors did it for you when you had that area under computor control.
I asked the question because when I did a search I couldn't find that particular answer.
Cheers for the reply
That thread isn't that great, and the search function is broken...

You must go to a port (Karachi, Bombay, San Fran) - disband - then pull up the ship, hit the "withdraw" button.

The game will ALWAYS ask for 2 DDs even if you have none (if there are any withdrawals requested)

The PP points for DDs are per ship.

EDIT: it is STRONGLY advisable to NEVER, EVER, EVER put anything under computer control, unless you like seeing your ships sunk under bizarre circumstances, and have your troops march off in random directions (anything can happen to anything on the map if you put even 1 thing under the control of the computer.)
canadaexile
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 8:59 pm
Location: Halifax Canada

RE: British ships

Post by canadaexile »

rtrapasso
Have read the link that you sent to me, cheers for that. Cleared it up nicely, now have to send my ships back to Karachi and withdraw them personally.
Thanks again
User avatar
rtrapasso
Posts: 22653
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2002 4:31 am

RE: British ships

Post by rtrapasso »

ORIGINAL: canadaexile

rtrapasso
Have read the link that you sent to me, cheers for that. Cleared it up nicely, now have to send my ships back to Karachi and withdraw them personally.
Thanks again
You might notice the beginning post complains of losing his ships because the computer kept seizing control - a common problem if you have anything (subs, autoconvoy, or any troops) under computer control.
canadaexile
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 8:59 pm
Location: Halifax Canada

RE: British ships

Post by canadaexile »

I know what you mean, some funny movements by LCU and air units. I put quite a few AK's under computor control for automatic convoys. They just sat there doing nothing apart from the one which tried to get to Perth. Got hit by japs off DEI
I revise the computor stratery tonight and take control of the northern area. Hopefully saving Burma
Post Reply

Return to “The War Room”